We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Terrace of the Rive Gauce”
Review of Rive Gauche

Rive Gauche
Ranked #44 of 2,189 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 48 - US$ 96
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: «Fine casual dining» in the Rive Gauche restaurant: A sparkling blend of chic restaurant and bar, the Rive Gauche gives straight onto the city center – the ideal place for hotel guests to mingle with Zurich’s youthful, engaging society. Olivier Rais and his kitchen team apply themselves with typical creativity and devotion to delivering both exquisite meat and fish dishes and accommodating the rising trend toward vegetarian and vegan diets – in keeping with the motto «Meat our Veggies».
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The place is beautiful with a nice garden right downtown Zurich, all is made of great quality.

Service is friendly and quite fast.

The menu is not the most elaborate, but the dishes are fair sized and relatively simple, by no means was the food bad, it was very decent, but for a place like this and for the prices they charge you should get exceptional, not just decent.

I ordered the grilled salmon that was well done, accompanied by some tasty spinach, as stated it was good, but I could not help but feel that this was a superior variety of salmon but more like a relatively normal cut bought in the supermarket and served in a fancy restaurant with a huge markup.

We also ordered the grilled tuna which was the same, good but not phenomenal.

Drinks list is interesting and wine list was quite good.

But again the markup is insulting, I suppose that is Zurich dining, but I just can't seem to get over it. The same prosecco we ordered costs under 15 CHF for a bottle retail, yet the glass was close to CHF20 and a bottle was close of 100 CHF.

Overall a nice experience to sit outside, but too pricey for what you get.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRock1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear JRock 1980,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your experience at the restaurant Rive Gauche.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time on our wonderful terrace. As well we would like to thank you for your feedback regarding our food and beverage offer. The food concept on our terrace strives to create light and mediterranean dishes out of high quality products. We certainly strive to achieve a guest experience that is second to none. Please rest assured that your feedback is taken very seriously and is reviewed to improve our performance, to meet or if possible exceed our guest expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on our Rive Gauche Terrasse very soon.

Kind regards,

Sonia Masiello
Manager Rive Gauche Terrasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

My daughter and I enjoyed a lovely meal at Rive Gauche our last evening in Switzerland.
The attention to detail during the service was "spot-on," while the food was just as superb. We each had a pasta dish, ravioli and trofie, and both outstanding. The atmosphere is elegant, yet relaxing. A delightful experience!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Autumnglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Autumnglory,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your experience at the restaurant Rive Gauche.
We are delighted to read that you have had a wonderful last evening in Switzerland with us. Your feedback regarding the service quality, the food and the atmosphere are much appreciated.

With pleasure will we share your kind review with the entire staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Panagiotis Kissas
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I came here two times during our trip. First time for our two year wedding anniversary and the second because it was so good the first time. The first time we sat at the bar on the Terrasse first for some drinks before dinner with Andrea (the bartender) who made drinks with a skill that matched the New York style I am use to. He was very professional but made us laugh the whole time. The bar manager, Alberto, was just as professional and was very polite. Both nights we were served by Paloma, who was very sweet and gave great suggestions for dinner and dessert. Not to mention was amazing with wine pairings. On our second visit to the Terrasse bar, Max served us and was equally as welcoming and amazing at crafting cocktails. The entire staff both in restaurant and Terrasse were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. They made us feel at home and like we were family. I would highly recommend this Rive Gauche Restaurant / Terrasse when they visit because I know my wife and I will be when we return to Zurich.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank travissass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear travissass18,

Thank you very much for having your wedding anniversary dinner at the Rive Gauche and for having taken the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We feel flattered by the words you find about the Rive Gauche and are very pleased to read that the food was delicious and thank you as well for your wonderful compliments regarding the welcoming and kind service. We invest a lot in training our staff, therefor it makes us even happier to read that we were able to meet your expectations.

With pleasure we will forward your feedback to the entire team and our chef de cuisine Olivier Rais.

It would be an honor for us to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Panagiotis Kissas
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We chose this restaurant to take family to, and were impressed by the setting, cuisine, and service. Rive Gauche has an elegant indoor dining room and also a beautiful outdoor veranda across the street on the banks of Lake Zurich. The weather was perfect the day we dined there, so we opted for outdoor seating. The spacious veranda was shaded with white awnings and had beautiful views of the lake. It was also great for people watching!

Service was very attentive and friendly. Do make reservations, as this popular spot gets crowded. The menu offered Swiss classics, prepared in a Continental style. Both the presentation and flavors were excellent. The menu is in German, so English-speakers should ask the wait staff for help. The wine list is extensive and impressive.

The prices are on the high side, but not outrageous. Our lunch for five- with entrees, desserts, and wine for two of us, came in just over $300 Swiss Francs. Very reasonable for a fine dining establishment in Zurich. Highly recommend for a business, family or romantic lunch!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mariagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear mariagloria,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read, that you have enjoyed your family meal on our Rive Gauche Terrasse. With pleasure we will share your review with the entire staff.

It would be a great pleasure welcoming you in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Panagiotis Kissas
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Warning. This restaurant might make you visit Switzerland again and again and again!
Why? Simply because they :
1) Know about food
2) Lead quality to new heights
3) Hire the best people, who transform the normal experience
4) Portions are normal (fine dining/gourmet is not about small portions!!!!)
5) Are super super friendly and make you feel welcome
6) Understand that you are there because you want to have an amazing night. and they make sure you do.

Super big thanks to Mr Karagiannis (this guy is sharp and talented), Clara (who is born for the hospitality business) and Vasilis(for making us feel at home) for transforming our night.

Tip: Go for the rib eye. You can thank me later :)
Drink? Ask the Greek and you will not be disappointed.

Thank you for the Swiss experience

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CYG_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear CYG_K,

Thank you very much for your visit and for having taken the time to share your impressions here on TripAdvisor.

We are very flattered by your kind words and that we have been able to match your expectations in every way.
With pleasure will we forward your comment to Mr. Karagiannis, Clara, Vasilis and the entire service and kitchen team. We all hope to welcoming you back again in the near future.

In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Warm regards,

Panagiotis Kissas
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rive Gauche also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing