We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
EMA House Hotel Suites
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for the family!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at the EMA house. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff. Check-in was a breeze and the receptionist led us to our room. They upgraded us from a junior suite to an executive suite. We had a view of the river from our living room. The main train station is also just a 10 min walk away. I do my morning runs along the river and it is beautiful. The tram stops are right outside the hotel. Very convenient. Breakfast was served in our room. They gave us a lot of food (yogurt, breads, cereal, juice, coffee/tea/hot chocolate, cheeses and cured meats). We are gluten free and they provided us with gluten free bread and a toaster. The room was immaculate. Kudos to the cleaning staff. They have paid wifi which worked okay. It was 15francs / week. Chocolate on our beds every night. They have computers and printers as well for printing out boarding passes in their computer room. The room is a bit expensive (so is everything in Switzerland), but this is excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaanjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    124
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
224
137
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My friend and I stayed in this Hotel - 27-29 Apr and 18-19 May - and we must admit that this is was the best value for money we paid and even more! To start with we were upgraded on our first stay up to Family Suite, got handwritten welcoming message, sweet touch of Swiss chololate on our beds :)

Positive points:

- in spite of not very central location I wouldnt consider it inconvenient at all, everything was so close that we even prefered to walk to/from trainstation along with our luggage!
- they have their own garage
- good b/f directly into your room!!
- new bath amenities/renovated bathroom; you even have slippers and bathrobes!
- lots of good channels in english;
- due to a good entrance door - you wont hear anything from the corridor;
- spare ambrella in the room;
- you will be provided even with weather forecast.

Drawbacks:

- obsolete a/c, though for 3 star its presence is already a big plus;
- not enough power sockets in the room (family suite living room, near the working desk - no one free! Though in Junior Suite I didnt notice that);
- no wifi in the room;
- noisy - windows dont provide a room (even sleeping area) with a good soundproof from street noise;
- no additional blanket in the room;
- some might find "limited working hours of the reception" (6.45 am - 9pm) - a bit uncomfortable, but we did not.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negril, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ema House for one night in May of 2012 at a cost of over $200 total. The room was designed like an apartment with a bedroom and a living room. The rooms were clean and relatively well maintained, albeit the floorboards were unfinished, which gave the room disheveled look. The hotel is one of the most secure I’ve ever stayed in with vault style locks that are used for entry into the hotel and the room. The hotel location seems safe, so I’m not sure why the excessive security measures are placed upon guests. The security is not a inconvenience, it just seems a bit out of place. Our complimentary breakfast was brought to our room (room service style), so that made for a fun morning experience.

Room Tip: The tourist area of Zurich has limited shopping on Sundays, so you can expect to lots of people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfColdWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Be careful when booking this hotel. It should be called the "bait and switch" hotel. It seems to be an apartment but when you arrive you find out that the kitchen is not included. There are also many extra charges. Know what you are booking with this hotel.
The beds are very uncomfortable. The breakfast is good.
It is in a convenient location, near the train station. The tram is close by.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nytrip80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emahouse, General Manager at EMA House Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
We very much regret that this guest was not totallly satisfied with his stay at EMA house - The Zurich All Suite Hotel. Apparently the traveller booked a Junior Suite (46 sqm or larger) which - as per it's definition and as per our room description - comes without a kitchen. This was the reason why the kitchen in the Suite was not accessible. We propose that guests requiring a kitchen during their stay book one of our many different Residential Suite types which all include access to the kitchen.

Our published rates do include a rich room service breakfast as well as VAT and service. Like in all the Zurich hotels, the official Zurich city tax of CHF2.50 per person/night is however not included in our published rates.

We try hard to avoid misleading or intransparent descriptions of our offer. It is however not always in our own hands, how our product appears in the many different distribution channels availble these days. Any feed-backs from our guests to this respect is of course very much appreciated.

Urs Schaerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very nice peaceful hotel. Very clean,spacious bathroom and room.. Breakfast every morning, but it was always the same food. Close to the tram stop and not far from the train station. Price is very reasonable considering the costs in Switzerland. Bedding is comfortable and generally had a very pleasant stay before heading to Basel.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet even tough we were on the street side. As I said for 3 people it was very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
778 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 138 in Zurich
799 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#5 of 138 in Zurich
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
873 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EMA House Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EMA House Hotel Suites

Property: EMA House Hotel Suites
Address: Nordstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#43 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,415 - ₹ 30,718
Hotel Class:4 star — EMA House Hotel Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers opting for a hotel stay have a choice between a spacious studio-type Junior Suite or a luxurious 1-bedroom Executive Suite. All suites are completely renovated and refurbished with exclusive materials and fittings. Hotel stays are accompanied by our full, first-class Hotel Service, which includes daily maid service, a delicious, freshly prepared breakfast in the room, minibar, free internet and free access to the guest laundry. Guests planning a stay lasting longer than just a day choose our extended stay option. Extended stay packages are available for 1- and 2-bedroom Executive Residential Suites with full amenities. Both types come with a fully equipped kitchen with a private washer/dryer and include our exclusive Apart Service Gold package, with an optional breakfast and daily suite attendance by the maid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your EMA House Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ema House - The Zurich All Hotel
Ema Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing