We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think of the Greulich as a tall, cool glass of water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Ranked #31 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Think of the Greulich as a tall, cool glass of water”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

After the over designed, and over stuffed atmosphere of many North American hotels I found the Greulich to be a refreshing change. Yes, when I first arrived, with the usual fuzzies from jetlag, I was a unsure as to whether I liked it or not. But after a brief wander around and working out how my suite's windows opened, climate controls and shower worked I realised how intrigued and impressed by the place. Take your time to discover the Greulich, from the light filled inner courtyard area with its birch trees, singing birds and overall sense of peace and calm, to the relaxing suites and rooms with their comfortable beds and linens to the energy and atmosphere of the streetside tables of the restaurant

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkeenaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    71
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
86
23
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Superb intimate hotel that with all the latest high tech gadgetry. Neet almost Bauhaus design and very clean. Loved the shower / bathroom layout and the anemities.

My 17 year old daughter loved it. Reminded her a bit of Hollywood W, but on a much smaller scale.

Thumbs up all the way.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Great bed, good soaps and shampoos that relax and smell great, ipod connection, free broadband, ticket for public transport and/or free urban bike, great coffee and healthy breakfast with the essential choices all delivered with a smile and professionalism.

The restaurant is an additional plus for people who love great food.

The location is not super-central but works great for me. Access to nearby park (Baeckereianlage) with a nice biergarden on a nice summer evening is an additional plus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pingo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I normally stay at the Park Hyatt but this time it was going to be CHF1500/nt so I tried the Greulich. Must say I loved it and will come back. I disagree with the other comments on here about it being 'cold'--the staff were as warm and friendly as one could want; I arrived after 11pm when the kitchen had closed and they still made me a sandwich and desert. The room was very comfortable, bathtub lovely, internet connection worked *perfectly* and they don't charge extra--what more could you want? I am a light sleeper and there was no noise to keep me up during the night. Breakfast was lovely and staff very helpful pointing me in the right direction for my meeting. I even liked the location; it's nice to get slightly outside of central Zurich and I was at Paradeplatz in a 5 minute tram ride from the Gruelich.

My only complaint? No separate shampoo & conditioner in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Just came home after a short stay at the Greulich. All in all, a pleasant experience and good value for money.
The hotel is not very central but a short bus ride (8-10 minutes) on bus 31 from the main station or tram ride on tramway 8 from Parade Platz. The surrounding area is rather quiet and uninteresting.
The hotel is situated only on the ground floor of the building, the rest are luxurious furnished and serviced flats for rent. It has 19 rooms and some mini suites.
The "design" concept has pluses and minuses. Can feel a little cold, certainly not cozy.
The bed is good and comfortable. The tv set is very small and only CNN in english!
The shower gets messy with water and the toilet is separated from the room by some glass panes which do not offer much privacy. Toiletries too basic.

The public spaces are very warm and inspiring, in contrast to the rooms.
Good, free hi speed wifi all over the hotel.

Breakfast is rather basic for 28 swiss francs, not much variety.

Staff very friendly and cheerful.

Might stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#27 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#7 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel

Property: Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Address: Herman-Greulich-Strasse 56, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Greulich)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#42 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,982 - ₹ 20,447
Hotel Class:4 star — Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Zurich’s vibrant District 4 is the Design & Lifestyle Hotel Greulich with 28 rooms, a cafe, a summer boulevard as well as a bar and a cigar lounge. At Greulich meets a homely atmosphere purist design, and vibrant city life meets pure relaxation in the tranquil birch grove. The rooms are spread over the main house and the courtyard next to the birch grove. Herman's Wohnzimmer is the urban cafe with a bar and boulevar. It is your place to have breakfast, lunch, to work on your laptop or to read. Enjoy freshly prepared snacks and drinks around the clock, including a take-away offer and a library. Herman's yoga studio offers an array of yoga classes for participants of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Booking.com so you can book your Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greulich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing