We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Au Lac
Ranked #32 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is a great old hotel directly on the lake. Our room had a balcony overlooking the water and was very nice. The service level was simply perfect. Example, being jet lagged, I went to the lobby at 4:30am and the security guard opened the bar area for me so i could read my boom and he proceeded to bring me several pots of coffee. Every person I've dealt with has been outstanding. Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaWahoowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    66
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
88
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Lovely hotel, room 306 splendid, huge bathroom, room lovely decoration and furnishings.
Perfect for walking on the edge of the lake (but watch out for bicycles). All staff bar non were friendly. efficient. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridleydidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night on business, for a rate of CHF350, so far so good, except despite prior telephone assurances by reception that it is a double bed in the single room (ie double for single use), it was no such thing! When after evening check in I have asked reception staff as to this anomaly, they said it was late, they were booked out, there "was no note", and there is absolutely nothing they can do about the issue. Yes, the price corresponds to what you get: a rather tiny room with single bed (probabbly 120cm, old and soft as anything, sleep quality as a result rubbish) one side of it pushed against the wall, decor something from early 1980s - dusty pinks and muted baby blue - yeek - the whole thing looked tired and definitely not SLH quality.

My aircon didnt really work, the room was drab. They did relocate me to another single room on the opposite end of the corridor facing away from the main road (I note that such room was their original answer to my "quiet room" request ) and it was slightly fresher (perhaps mid 1990s decor, much more cosy with botanical sort of prints, and blinds in bathroom) and defnitely quieter.

Breakfast in very brightly lit up breakfast/restaurant room (half the light would make it just so much more cosy!) was CHF40, not worth it, and when you think CHF390 is what you pay for small dated single room, before you actually pay for the internet - in my view, it is not good value for money overall. Perhaps their double rooms offer better experience of the hotel, but then the prices correspond accordingly and for that price you are so much more better off staying elsewhere (I did after this experience!).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

On each trip my wife and I make, we splurge at one hotel. We made the right choice at the Eden Au Lac in Zurich. The location across from the lake was perfect. As for the room, it was comfortable, well decorated and the bathroom was superb. The best part was the restaurant. We expressed an interest at having beef Stroganoff, a local specialty. The chef prepared it for us even though it wasn’t on the menu. It turned out being more than just a meal, it turned out to be a lasting memory. One of the best we ever had. Now, Switzerland is not cheap and neither is the Eden Au Lac. Considering the economy there, we felt it was money well spent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitears64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

* Room smelt like dog
* No in room iron or 24 hour ironing service
* Limited selection at breakfast buffet
* Room key too big
* Room décor was a tribute to the year 1974
* Expensive

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Baur au Lac
#4 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Au Lac

Property: Eden Au Lac
Address: Utoquai 45, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,756 - ₹ 37,242
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eden Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Au Lac Hotel
Eden Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing