We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
35
64
24
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
64
24
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the train station separate building one night zurich hb station luggage room early train city tour coffee machine cold cuts fantastic stay top floor old town no air conditioning central location next morning stayed nights breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

After a previous booking in Zurich fell through, a last minute reservation in Walhalla Guesthouse was perfect for our stay. It is right by the train station. It was a good value stay, the breakfast was good, the room was clean and stylish (although the bathroom was a little pod in the room which was unusual but certainly didn't put us off). They offered a deal to get 10% off a nearby restaurant if you didn't have your room cleaned for a day which we made use off. Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreiaGuerreiro, Manager at Walhalla Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your excellent review.

It's great you chose us for your stay in Zurich and liked it so much. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction from the room to the breakfast buffet. Our team does their best to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Like you mentioned, Walhalla Guest House is right in the center of Zurich, easily accessible by public transport. At the same time, it is located on a quiet street, so our guests have a good night's sleep. For those who come by car, we can offer a parking possibility at a reduced cost.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Zurich again.

Kind regards,
Andreia Guerreiro, Hotel Manager
Walhalla Hotel & Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I have read quite a few reviews that complain about how expensive Walhalla Guest House is. Yes..it is expensive by Australian standards..but, for Zürich it is actually very good value. We researched quite a bit before booking here, and were not disappointed. Perfect location in the centre of the city, only 3 mins walk from Zurich HB (main) railway station. Also convenient to trams and local trains. The rooms are a decent size (particularly for Euroope) are clean and quiet, and have private shower and toilet facilities. Breakfast is included in the price. Good value for Zurich. I would certainly stay here again if I ever visited Zurich.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MCW-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreiaGuerreiro, Manager at Walhalla Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear MCW-WA,

Thank you so much for staying at Walhalla Guest House and your excellent review.

We are glad to hear back from you, your feedback is very important to us. It's good to hear that you had a great stay and everything was to your liking. We do our best to provide our guests with everything they need to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Our central location makes us easy to find and a perfect option for travelers who come to Zurich for business or leisure.

We'd be happy to welcome you back when you return to Zurich. Our team will work hard once again to earn your endorsement.

Kind regards,
Andreia Guerreiro, Hotel Manager
Walhalla Hotel & Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Room was clean and modern with internet included. 2 minute walk from the central train station and equal distance to the main bus port. 5 minute walk through the undergound staion to the heart of Zurich. Brilliantly placed for sightseeing. No coffee/tea making facilities but a starbucks cafe just outside.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank gypsyjo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreiaGuerreiro, Manager at Walhalla Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers.

We are glad you had such a good stay at Walhalla Guest House and you found your room comfortable. Indeed, we are very well located. Although our Guest House is directly at the main train station, sound-proofed windows make sure you have peace and quiet at night.

By the way, on the top floor, we have iMotion rooms which are equipped with PS4 Pro with virtual reality headset. At the reception we have also a Nespresso coffee machine and a snack station free of charge for all our guests. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back when you are in Zurich.

Kind regards,
Andreia Guerreiro, Hotel Manager
Walhalla Hotel & Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

The Guest House is just a short walk to the main Walhalla Hotel and the Zurich HB station. If you want to eat, there are coffee shops nearby. Go grocery shopping? There are 2 Coop stores to choose from. Need to travel/ the Zurich HB station is just a few steps away.

The Guest House is close to shopping areas as well (Bahnhofstrasse) and the Landes Museum. I think it's the perfect place to stay while in Zurich!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FManiquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The room is basic, but it had everything we needed except a minifridge for our medicine. The desk clerk in the other building obliged us by putting it in his refrigerator. It was very clean. We were on the 3rd floor, which is as high as the elevator goes. The elevator is very small, but functional. It's rated for 4 people, but that's without luggage. The Guest House is a separate building but is part of the Walhalla Hotel, and the hotel office is in the other building. To enter the Guest House, you push a button to alert the office and they unlock the door remotely. The Guest House is quite close to the train station and also to the Shlquai bus parking lot where the tour buses assemble (across the street from the Walhalla Hotel, which is around the corner from the Guest House). We were on the side of the building away from the train station, and we were up early, so the construction near the train station didn't bother us. There were three of us, and the extra bed in the room worked out perfectly. The internet worked fine and the breakfast at the Walhalla Hotel was varied and substantial. We walked past the Zurich LandsMuseum on our way to the hotel, which is where the construction is taking place. There is an entrance to the train station at the end of the street that the hotel is on.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vroecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalhallaAdmin, Manager at Walhalla Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear vroecker

Thank you very much for choosing our guest house for your stay and the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We are very happy to read, that you had such a good time and could benefit from our central location.

Indeed, we are conveniently located to either explore Zurich by foot or use the nearby access to the public transport system to visit other parts of Switzerland.

It would be great to be your choice of hotel again when you return to Zurich - until then we wish you the best regards.

Andreia Guerreiro, Hotel Manager
Walhalla Hotel & Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews