We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice whatever the weather.”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Stayed 3 nights in August. Location very central, excellent clean-line modern rooms and bed, good sound-proofing and air-conditioning, helpful professional staff, wise choice for lady travellers. Spotlessly clean. Nice breakfast room with good selection of hot and cold food. Fifth floor rooms quiet, spacious and well-appointed .Hotel is set back from the street, well-lit and safe. Fellow guests polite and discreet. Nice reading area/lounge with English newspapers. Restaurant nearby "Mére Catherine" for romantic dinner in/outdoors above street level, is 5 mins away by foot (reservations necessary), delicious French Provence food at fair prices. Repeat bookings made directly with hotel can receive better rates. NB. They do not give free bottled water in the room but all tap water in Zurich is supposed to be safe.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuxurynCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Grüezi LuxurynCulture

Thank for your 3-nights stay at Hotel Helmhaus and for recognising all the little amenities and comforts we offer our guests, i.e. sound-proof windows, tastefully furnished rooms, high quality local products for our breakfast buffet.
The tap water and water from the fountains in Zurich is indeed very good drinking water. With its natural minerals the quality of the water is better than most bottled waters which have been processed. Zurich is proud of the quality of its drinking water and the easy access to it. For this and for invironment reasons we do not deem it necessary to provide plastic bottles with water in the rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travelers and us, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Very friendly efficient staff. Centrally located, close to public transport and old town. Very clean rooms with modern decor. Breakfast is simple but of good quality. Highly recommended for your stay in Zurich.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tedd1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Grüezi Tedd1466

Thank you having chosen the Hotel Helmhaus, the oldest hotel of Zurich (dating back to 1356) for your stay. The cleanliness and the friendliness of the team members are the most important points for most guests, and it is nice to read that you valued those points especially as well and we could convince you with it.
Thank you for recommending us to others, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Liked the location of this Hotel. Its a modern set up in the old town. Staff was great. I would stay here again. AC worked well on a very hot summer day. I would consider this like staying at a hilton garden inn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aaron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Grüezi aaron r

Thank you for having been guest to the boutique-style Hotel Helmhaus and for sharing your positive opinion with other travelers and us. It is a pleasure to learn that you so positively remember the helpfulness and friendliness if our team members as well as the efficiency of the air condition system which can be adjusted individually in each room by the guest to his / her liking.
And with the promotional code given upon check-out returning guests will receive an exclusive 10% discount on all rates for their next stay with us.

We wish you all the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I wish we could stay longer, for this is a great little hotel in a perfect location. We were here just one night after a Rhine cruise and before a long flight home.

So much to see and do within walking distance, but the room rates are not too much at all considering Zurich is an expense I've Place to visit.

We arrived very early in the day - 10:30 AM - and our rooms weren't ready, but we "upgraded" for only 10fr. more, so we unpacked and had the rest of the day to get acquainted with Zurich. Our room is much bigger than most European hotel rooms we are used to. The only downside is the elevator is about the size of a phone booth.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Grüezi Brian M

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel Helmhaus for your stay, the oldest hotel in Zurich, dating back to 1356. It is nice to read that you valued especially the service provided upon check-in as well as the size and comfort of the room.
We are happy to provide a lift at all in our 700 years old and protected mediavel building. We are aware that guests might expect a large and spacious lift which is not possible in our historical building. Yet if our guests like help with their luggage our team happily assists.
Maybe we can welcome you again in the future for a longer stay, and for returning guests we offer a reduction on our daily rates when they make their reservations with us directly.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

First and foremost, if you are driving, be warned, they don't have parking area or valet. To park each day cost 43 francs! Per day! And the closest parking is a short walk away.

Located in a square, this hotel was fantastic. The staff are lovely and helpful during the entire experience.

The rooms are really modern and spacious. The bed was comfy and I loved the gummybear packets on the pillows. The shower is small and oddly shaped, bit of a squeeze, but I've seen way worse.

The elevator is smaller than a phone box which we found funny.

The location is a stones throw to a lot of major attractions and the river. So so many restaurants to choose from all within walking distance.

Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GMDO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Front Office Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Grüezi GMDO1984

Thank you for your stay at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel in Zurich. It is nice to know that you especially liked our location in the city centre as well as the quality of our boutique-style rooms which all have been furnished and decorated with love and care.
Indeed our location in the Oldtown part of the city allows exploring very easily by foot.
We know that getting to our hotel and parking is not the easiest. For this we provide extensive text and picture material on our homepage with driving instructions and parking information. We hope that those information will help guests planning their car trip to our hotel well in advance.
In any case, as you mentioned correctly, our team is happy to assist with anything our guests might want to know – also before their actual stay with us.
Thank you for recommending us to other travellers. We also look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and for returning guests we offer a reduction for reservations on our homepage. The promotion code we are happy to provide upon request.

We wish you all the best, your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
844 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#16 of 138 in Zurich
415 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
866 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
#11 of 138 in Zurich
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 14,463 - ₹ 22,690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing