We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
673
245
42
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
245
42
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationsmall hotelwithin walking distancehardwood floorswelcome drinktram stopeach morningbreakfast roomfront desk staffcentral locationhighly recommend this hotelcorner roomrooms are moderndefinitely stay here againlimmat riveryogurt
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Very friendly efficient staff. Centrally located, close to public transport and old town. Very clean rooms with modern decor. Breakfast is simple but of good quality. Highly recommended for your stay in Zurich.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tedd1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Grüezi Tedd1466

Thank you having chosen the Hotel Helmhaus, the oldest hotel of Zurich (dating back to 1356) for your stay. The cleanliness and the friendliness of the team members are the most important points for most guests, and it is nice to read that you valued those points especially as well and we could convince you with it.
Thank you for recommending us to others, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Liked the location of this Hotel. Its a modern set up in the old town. Staff was great. I would stay here again. AC worked well on a very hot summer day. I would consider this like staying at a hilton garden inn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aaron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Grüezi aaron r

Thank you for having been guest to the boutique-style Hotel Helmhaus and for sharing your positive opinion with other travelers and us. It is a pleasure to learn that you so positively remember the helpfulness and friendliness if our team members as well as the efficiency of the air condition system which can be adjusted individually in each room by the guest to his / her liking.
And with the promotional code given upon check-out returning guests will receive an exclusive 10% discount on all rates for their next stay with us.

We wish you all the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I wish we could stay longer, for this is a great little hotel in a perfect location. We were here just one night after a Rhine cruise and before a long flight home.

So much to see and do within walking distance, but the room rates are not too much at all considering Zurich is an expense I've Place to visit.

We arrived very early in the day - 10:30 AM - and our rooms weren't ready, but we "upgraded" for only 10fr. more, so we unpacked and had the rest of the day to get acquainted with Zurich. Our room is much bigger than most European hotel rooms we are used to. The only downside is the elevator is about the size of a phone booth.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Grüezi Brian M

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel Helmhaus for your stay, the oldest hotel in Zurich, dating back to 1356. It is nice to read that you valued especially the service provided upon check-in as well as the size and comfort of the room.
We are happy to provide a lift at all in our 700 years old and protected mediavel building. We are aware that guests might expect a large and spacious lift which is not possible in our historical building. Yet if our guests like help with their luggage our team happily assists.
Maybe we can welcome you again in the future for a longer stay, and for returning guests we offer a reduction on our daily rates when they make their reservations with us directly.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

First and foremost, if you are driving, be warned, they don't have parking area or valet. To park each day cost 43 francs! Per day! And the closest parking is a short walk away.

Located in a square, this hotel was fantastic. The staff are lovely and helpful during the entire experience.

The rooms are really modern and spacious. The bed was comfy and I loved the gummybear packets on the pillows. The shower is small and oddly shaped, bit of a squeeze, but I've seen way worse.

The elevator is smaller than a phone box which we found funny.

The location is a stones throw to a lot of major attractions and the river. So so many restaurants to choose from all within walking distance.

Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GMDO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Front Office Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Grüezi GMDO1984

Thank you for your stay at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel in Zurich. It is nice to know that you especially liked our location in the city centre as well as the quality of our boutique-style rooms which all have been furnished and decorated with love and care.
Indeed our location in the Oldtown part of the city allows exploring very easily by foot.
We know that getting to our hotel and parking is not the easiest. For this we provide extensive text and picture material on our homepage with driving instructions and parking information. We hope that those information will help guests planning their car trip to our hotel well in advance.
In any case, as you mentioned correctly, our team is happy to assist with anything our guests might want to know – also before their actual stay with us.
Thank you for recommending us to other travellers. We also look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and for returning guests we offer a reduction for reservations on our homepage. The promotion code we are happy to provide upon request.

We wish you all the best, your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I had stayed in a lovely newly renovated room in this delightful boutique hotel. The staff were always friendly, chatty and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The room price included a simple but delicious breakfast with high quality options.
The hotel is very well located, close to public transport, dining options and local areas of Zurich.
I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoMoCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, Front Office Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Grüezi MoMoCow

Thank you for having chosen our little boutique hotel for your stay in Zurich. It is a pleasure to know that you had such a comfortable stay at our little historical, yet modern hotel, located within nearly 700-years-old walls, and that you appreciated everything our hotel and team members had to offer in facilitiy and service.

Thank you for recommending us to others. By booking directly with us guests can make sure to get the best rooms at the best rates. And returning guests will also receive a special discount when using the promotional code given upon check-out.

We wish you all the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews