We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Location and Comfort”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The Helmhaus Hotel is a delightful small boutique style hotel. The service was excellent and friendly. When we arrived for our three-night stay, we were informed that our room had been upgraded. The room was spacious, with a sitting area and plenty of desk space. The hotel was quiet, even though it is located in the heart of Zurich. Windows are openable, but this is not required in warm weather, as the rooms are air conditioned. The location is ideal and we were able to walk to shopping, the lake, museums, restaurants and churches. The main Zurich rail station is a 15 minute walk. Doable for day trips, but you may not want to haul your luggage on foot. One plus for this hotel is they get a reduced member price from the CHECK-IN ALL WAYS airport shuttle service. This service is a good option, as you can be dropped-off and pick-up at the hotel door. This is more reasonable in cost vs. a taxi and more convenient than the trains. Finally, the breakfast buffet was a treat. It is not huge, but the quality is very high. This from a person who spent 100-125 nights on the road for 30 years and ate 400+ meals out per year, over the same time span.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lord_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Grüezi Lord_Kevin

Thank you and your partner for your recent stay with us and for sharing your postive thoughts with other travellers and us. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. Each of our guests has his / her expectations when chosing our hotel, and these are even higher when one has spent half a life on the road and in hotels.
It is nice for us to know that you appreciated what our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus has to offer, since it is our aim to deliver quality, not quantity.
With our location which you valued especially among other things our guests can easily reach the Chagall windows at the Fraumünster Church or the famous shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“.

We wish you both all the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 564 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is one of the gems in Zurich - the proces are good and the decor is always clean and tidy. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are a real highlight for the price you pay! I am never disappointed in this place as the standard is always high as is the service.

Room Tip: As high as possible for even better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ManuelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Grüezi ManuelLove

We are delighted to see that we have made your stays in the past comfortable and relaxing, and want to thank you for sharing your positive thoughts about it with other travellers and us. We look forward to making you ‘’feel home away from home’’ in the future as well.
All the best and kind regards.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Helmhaus has a prime location in Zurich, right next to the river but far enough from the street(s) to be a quiet hotel. The hotel is just three stops on the tram from the train station and within walking distance to all sights.

The hotel is rather like a boutique hotel. Attention to detail is important to them. Reception staff were extremely helpful. The rooms are modern. Plenty of towels, mini bar at reasonable prices for Zurich and wide choice of television channels and excellent wifi internet. The breakfast buffet was perfect and served between 7.00 - 10.00. (8.00 - 11.00 on a sunday)

Would certainly return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Grüezi Ros718

Thank you very much for having been our guest recently and for sharing your opinion with other travellers and us. What better advertisement could we get than your positive description of the service and quality we try as best as possible to provide. Like you, many of our guests value our efforts.

It would be nice to see you again at one of the most historical hotels of Zurich, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is my second stay in this hotel, the location is perfect and central to all things in this wonderful city. Stylish modern rooms which are clean and comfortable. Service is excellent and always friendly. My choice of were to stay in Zurich

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrcraigmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Grüezi mrcraigmcg

It is nice to see that we could welcome you a second time to our Hotel Helmhaus. This shows us that we have done very well during your first stay, and your consideration of being with us at other times gives us the confidence that by delivering quality, not quantity we are on the right way.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you many more times.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Location is perfect for women travelling alone. Nice mix of business people, couples and solo travelers. Located near all the stores, churches, markets and restaurants. One Christmas market was within easy walking distance as were the boutiques of the old town. We were greeted warmly and offered a hot cider on a cold snowy day. The staff, without exception, was welcoming, helpful, and eager to exceed our needs. Delicious breakfast. Room was very large by European standards, nicely decorated and spotless. Suggest taking the bus from airport. It will drop you right at the door. The tram to the train or bus station is close. You can purchase tram tickets at the hotel desk, also day bus tours around Zurich.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londonvisitor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Grüezi londonvisitor81

Thank you your recent visit and your stay with our little Hotel Helmhaus. What more is there to say than ‘’thank you’’ for your appreciation of what we offer and deliver: the best quality and the best service possible. The location of our 14th century building in the heart of Oldtown Zurich gives a special charme, and the high quality of our newly renovated rooms and our Swiss products mixes with the personal and individual service provided by our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our historical yet modern hotel.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
494 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
868 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#16 of 138 in Zurich
415 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
#11 of 138 in Zurich
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 14,550 - ₹ 22,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing