We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great location, large rooms. Not cheap, but ok value.”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #11 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A great little city hotel. A warm welcome, and coffee whilst checking in. Clean, large, and pleasant rooms. Maybe a little plain in design, but that's no bad thing when it's done a well as this. Breakfast was very decent, and again, friendly and efficient staff. I think it's a hotel to take pride working in.

Just on the edge of the old town, just near the cathedral, a few minutes walk for the lake or the main shopping areas of Zurich. Location really is ideal.

Would stay there again very happily.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Simon_Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Grüezi Simon-Guernsey

Thank you for having been our guests. It is nice to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you liked our hotel, its facilities and simple elegance as well as the friendliness of our team members.

We would be happy to welcome you again in the future to our Hotel Helmhaus Zürich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 608 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

The room I was located in was small but cozy enough for a 1 day stay. Breakfast was typical good. Friendly and helfull staff right on arrival. I asked on advance for an early check in (8:00am) and they did manage to give me a room allthough they were as they said fully booked the day before. Also on check out I managed to postpone it for 2hrs. Use the hotel shuttle bus to pick you from the airport and drop you right in front of the hotel entrance (cost 32CHF for 1 person) travel duration 30min depending on traffic which might be very heavy on certain hours, in that case may take about an hour. You can also arrange for the shuttle bus to collect you from the hotel to the airport but you'll have to let them know at least an hour before departure. 5min walking distance to Bahnhoffstrasse where all the major banks and all the expensive brand stores are locatred. 5min walking from Central station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scandic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Grüezi Scandic77

Thank you for having stayed with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. It is nice to read that you valued our hotel’s location and the early check in and late departure we could extend to you during your recent stay. If our availibility allows we are always happy to assist with an earlier check in or a later departure.
The shuttle transfer between the airport and the city centre is convenient since guests are dropped and picked up in front of the hotel, and the fare of CHF 32.00 for one person is a flat rate, no matter the transfer takes 30 minutes or 1 hour. It is a very good alternative to a taxi.

Dear Scandic77, it would be nice to welcome you back in the future to our little historical Hotel Helmhaus, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Centrally located. Large rooms with comfortable beds and good value for money. Excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRockDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Grüezi TheRockDonkey

Thank you very much for having been our guest. It is nice to know that you had a comfortable stay with us in the heart of Oldtown and enjoyed our hearty Swiss breakfast.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Nice quiet hotel. Modern and clean rooms. Good/diverse breakfast included with the room. Location was excellent. Staff was courteous but not well informed of local sights and attractrions.

We drove into Zurich and this hotel sits off the main street on a pedestrian street rendering our GPS useless. Mind you, I am no noobie when it comes to driving in Europe but after driving around the block (because of our GPS we had a general idea where it MIGHT be) for 45 minutes through Zurich traffic we called the hotel in desperation. A staff member (Mario) then walked out to meet us where we had pulled off the street and parked (illegally I might add). Mario was a great guy.We never would have found the place without him as there are no signs for directions to the hotel from the main street.

Btw. . .parking (as is everything else) in this town is incredibly expensive. We parked at a park platz nearby and it cost 76 SF for 2 days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Grüezi Ralph C

Thank you for having been our guest and for sharing your feedback. It is nice to read that you valued the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our team members.

Although you appreciated the hotel being in the heart of Oldtown we do understand that getting to the hotel is not always as easy - due to its location in the medieval city centre with its narrow lanes and one way streets. We encourage our guests to visit our website which contains driving instructions to and from the hotel, and to contact us directly in order to get full information.

Switzerland is an expensive country but it also delivers high quality and service.

Dear Ralph C, we would look forward to welcome you again in the future to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star Hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I tried a few hotels when I arrived in Zurich and settled at Helmhaus, small and perfectly formed - I’ve been staying there for 8 months so there’s an endorsement.

The staff are great, friendly, efficient and helpful - They really make guests feel at home.

Breakfast always has fresh fruit salad & birchermüesli made that morning, a wide selection of breads, quality cheeses & meat, really good scrambled eggs (the real thing unlike many chain hotels) and a wide variety of leaf teas.

Location is perfect and it’s very quiet, not immediately by tram/road but 50m to the tram and 3 minutes walk to the lake and Bahnhofstrasse (main shopping district).

There's no gym or on-site restaurant for lunch/dinner but given the plethora of restaurants nearby, don't let that put you off.

The WiFi is free – well it’s like water to many of us these days!

If you go to the Helmhaus, enjoy your stay and tell them Mr James sent you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citywurzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Grüezi Citywurzel

Thank you very much for making our little hotel Helmhaus your second home away from home. It is our great pleasure to have you staying with us for such a long time!

Like you many of our guests appreciate the location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich and the free WiFi internet access.

Especially since the last step of the renovation was completed in February 2012 our rooms deliver even more comfort and quietness. With this we live up to our credo „Quality, not quantity“ even better than before.

Dear Citywurzel, thank you for your time of sharing your opinion with us, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
804 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 137 in Zurich
469 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#16 of 137 in Zurich
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 14,754 - ₹ 24,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing