We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small business hotel in Zurich”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was my second stay; perfect location, squeaky clean, comfy bed, no noise, great full English breakfast buffet. Rooms are a reasonable size, and a compact hotel has many advantages. Also free Wi-fi, TV with CNBC & Bloomberg. Why spend three times as much for less? I have stayed at all the luxury hotel in Zurich at some point or another but will stay at Helmhaus from now on. The ony downside is lack of room service, but Kronenhalle is a few minutes' away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatureBusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Grüezi MatureBusinessTravel
Nice to know that we could convince you during your first stay with our service and that we could welcome you a second time. Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts, it shows us that with our newly refurbished facilities and our promise of „Quality, not Quantity“ we can reach business guests and private travellers alike.

It would be nice to welcome you back in the future to our small and traditional hotel, and we wish you all the best!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 634 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Helmhaus. The location was perfect, literally a few paces away from a tram stop and to the river with great views of the city. Rooms were spotless and the people were top notch, very welcoming and friendly. Thanks to Andre, Anja, Bakusa, Mario for the tips and the nice birthday treat! We would definitely be looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Grüezi chris_explorer

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is nice to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. „Feeling home away from home“ is what we want to achieve for our guests.

All the best for you and your wife, and we look foward to see you again at one of the oldest and most traditional hotels in Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Visited again after 1 year and this hotel was even better. Excellent room, really good service, friendly staff and a great visit from start to finish. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Grüezi sunny126

It is nice to read that you stayed with us again after one year and that you enjoyed your time even more – thank you very much for both.
At the end of February we have just finished the last step of the extensive renovation works which we have conducted between 2010 and 2012.
Our guests appreciating our efforts and welcoming them back are the best compliments we could get.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel was in easy access to the public transportation system. The hotel staff was just wonderful! Very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, and the bathroom was probably the best I've seen in a hotel. The staff was very kind to let us keep our luggage stored past checkout. Great location, close to everything. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Grüezi b p

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
After extensive renovations in January and February 2012 you were the first ones to enjoy the newly done bathroom in your room. Your positive opinion about it shows us that our efforts have paid off and that we have met our credo of „Quality, not Quantity“.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you again to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here last winter during a 3 day break with my wife. The staff are very friendly and helpful, as they are all over the city, and the location is superb for sightseeing and for evening entertainment. However, the room was very small and we paid A LOT of money for the privilege. Having said that, we didn't have any major complaints and loved our trip despite almost breaking the bank in the process!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rorski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Grüezi Rorski1

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Our Hotel Helmhaus is a small boutique hotel in the oldtown of Zurich with its small medieval houses and guildhalls. Having a hotel in one of those wonderful, traditional and historic buildings puts restrictions on the size of the rooms. But we encourage every guest to visit our homepage or to contact the hotel directly to inform themselves about our rooms.

We wish you all the best for the new year.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 137 in Zurich
843 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#16 of 137 in Zurich
414 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
862 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 14,398 - ₹ 22,353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing