We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
673
245
42
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
245
42
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationsmall hotelwithin walking distancehardwood floorswelcome drinktram stopeach morningbreakfast roomfront desk staffcentral locationhighly recommend this hotelcorner roomrooms are moderndefinitely stay here againlimmat riveryogurt
Filter
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Helmhaus. The location was perfect, literally a few paces away from a tram stop and to the river with great views of the city. Rooms were spotless and the people were top notch, very welcoming and friendly. Thanks to Andre, Anja, Bakusa, Mario for the tips and the nice birthday treat! We would definitely be looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Grüezi chris_explorer

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is nice to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. „Feeling home away from home“ is what we want to achieve for our guests.

All the best for you and your wife, and we look foward to see you again at one of the oldest and most traditional hotels in Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Visited again after 1 year and this hotel was even better. Excellent room, really good service, friendly staff and a great visit from start to finish. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Grüezi sunny126

It is nice to read that you stayed with us again after one year and that you enjoyed your time even more – thank you very much for both.
At the end of February we have just finished the last step of the extensive renovation works which we have conducted between 2010 and 2012.
Our guests appreciating our efforts and welcoming them back are the best compliments we could get.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel was in easy access to the public transportation system. The hotel staff was just wonderful! Very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, and the bathroom was probably the best I've seen in a hotel. The staff was very kind to let us keep our luggage stored past checkout. Great location, close to everything. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Grüezi b p

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
After extensive renovations in January and February 2012 you were the first ones to enjoy the newly done bathroom in your room. Your positive opinion about it shows us that our efforts have paid off and that we have met our credo of „Quality, not Quantity“.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you again to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here last winter during a 3 day break with my wife. The staff are very friendly and helpful, as they are all over the city, and the location is superb for sightseeing and for evening entertainment. However, the room was very small and we paid A LOT of money for the privilege. Having said that, we didn't have any major complaints and loved our trip despite almost breaking the bank in the process!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rorski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Grüezi Rorski1

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Our Hotel Helmhaus is a small boutique hotel in the oldtown of Zurich with its small medieval houses and guildhalls. Having a hotel in one of those wonderful, traditional and historic buildings puts restrictions on the size of the rooms. But we encourage every guest to visit our homepage or to contact the hotel directly to inform themselves about our rooms.

We wish you all the best for the new year.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

These are the outstanding qualities of this hotel, which is a tiny hotel extremely well located, at walking distance from almost any touristic location in Zurich. We never walked more than 20 minutes (how good is Zurich to walk when you can not do it in your own home town). The hotel is basically a place to sleep,and to have breakfast before heading out, but it has this nice feeling of welcomeness as you get in.The rooms are tiny, as well as the bathroom, but very clean. The breakfast (included in my case) was a very assorted buffet with mainly healthy food (of course you will find scrambled eggs and bacons), but fruits, yogurts and cereals are there waiting for you. Just in front of the hotel there is a small boulevard which is your starting point to either start walking Zurich, or if you prefer, take the tram. The public transportation in Switzerland is outstanding, and in my opinion you don't even need to take a taxi to move around (in fact we did not take one single cab)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OscarRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Grüezi Oscar Rojas

Thank you for having been our guests, it is nice to know that you had a good time in Zurich, and that it was even more enjoyable by staying in our little Hotel Helmhaus. Lots of our guests value the location and the closeness to the most major sights.
Even if one spends only the night and breakfast time in a hotel, this attributes a lot to the comfort of a guest's stay. We are glad that we have achieved this for you.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future to one of the most historic and traditional hotels in Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews