We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best dining experience in Zurich!”
Review of Drei Stuben

Drei Stuben
Ranked #46 of 2,124 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We arrived jet lagged from Miami and we're almost ready to cancel our reservation. Thank goodness we didn't ! The entire meal was a delight . The atmosphere was so relaxed, non pretentious and welcoming. Our waitress was so friendly, professional and helped us select our meals and accompanying wine. I ordered the filet of beef with foie gras and summer truffles. It was perfection on a plate. My husband's veal course was also perfectly cooked and attractively plated. We had such a delightful experience that we returned on the last night of our Zurich stay and once again had a memorable evening. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank elleng8255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Drei Stuben, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Thank you very much for your nice and positive comment.

We really appreciate if our guests feel that comfortable in our restaurant. It is the biggest compliment we could get.

We do hope a lot that we will have you as our guests again very soon.

Your Drei Stuben Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Highly recommended, I was expecting pure Swiss culinary tradtion,,but NO! The chef is playful--TOO playful!..My so-called Scallop Cerviche turned out to infact be a circle of avocado mousse with the slices of ONE scallop on top+ artful garnish. CHF 19 50!!
My monster veal chop was indeed delicious..but a tad overcooked to my specifications & as the most expensive dish on the menu (a breathtaking CHF59) it wasn't worth it..a lunatic serving of some mad mash 'thing' in an vastly overbaked bread casing 'teamed' with tasteless Summer Truffles I suppose is the excuse for the huge price....one companion thought he was getting a traditional Cordon Bleu...but instead a weirdly-shaped deep-fried mini-football sitting on a salad arrived..& inside it was dry.CHF 56!!!! The other chum suffered a mediocre penne pasta which came in at an astounding CHF 42!!!!...friendly service & a leafty courtyard on the last day of Summer soothed the wound of a bleeding wallet...Far too expensive & the chef should stick to ESSENTIAL SWISS styles & do those well. None of the experiments were any good at all. Give it a miss.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Drei Stuben, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Dear Guest

First we would like to thank you for your honest opinion. It is really important for us to get constructive criticism.
Of course after this comment the management had a conversation with the whole team and tried to find out what went wrong at that evening.
We got told that there were no complaints at that evening even after our service staff asked if everything was well at the moment they cleared the table.
The satisfaction of our guests are very important to us but it isn’t quite easy if we don’t get a feedback at the same time you are at the restaurant. It would be much easier for us to apologize directly on-the-spot by offering you another dish for example. Despite everything we really hope that you will give us and especially our kitchen another chance. A lot of guests are just coming because of the delicious food and we can say proudly that we have an awesome chef.

Your Drei Stuben Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Go here if you want some great Swiss food (traditional recipes with a modern twist) and good attentive service, in a lovely chalet-style environment. I always bring relatives and friends who are new to Zurich to this spot.

Thank chicago_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Drei Stuben, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you very much for this positive comment.

Its really nice to read that you feel comfortable all around in our restaurant again and again. We appreciate your rating a lot and we hope that we can welcome you and your guests again soon.

Your Drei Stuben Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Drie Stuben means 3 rooms, and we had a table in the outside room as it was a hot summers night. They have fresh herb pots on each table as they grow their own kitchen herbs. Extremely friendly and helpful waiter...but meal certainly the most expensive we have come across in our travels. That being said it was also the most delicious we have tasted in a while, and they served a tiny scallop plate appetiser for free. Bit expensive for our family but would be great for couples. Loved the food!

Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Drei Stuben, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

We would like to thank you for this lovely comment which we appreciate a lot.

We are happy you had such a good experience with our restaurant and staff. Its nice to read that you felt comfortable all around which is really important for us.

It would be an absolute pleasure for us to welcome you and your family again soon. We got some special offers for lunch with a good price as well ;)

Your Drei Stuben Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

The restaurant has a nice outdoor sitting space which is perfect for the hot summer days. That said, the food is absolutely over-priced and the service does not live up to the standards that they try to justify.
Service was very slow, we had to wait 45 minutes between starters and main course, and it was difficult to catch the waiter's attention to ask for another bottle of water.
The price is really not justified for what you get.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Drei Stuben, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are really thankfull for the honest opinion of our guests to learn out of mistakes and get better every day.

We are very sorry that you havent made a very good experience with our staff.
I can tell that they work very hard every day and they always give their best but under the current circumstances, this heat we have at the moment, especially in the kitchen and in the garden, it is really hard for them.

It would be a pleasure for us if you would give us a second chance that we can prove you how important your satisfaction is to us.
We hope that we can welcome you and your guests again soon in our restaurant.

Your Drei Stuben Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drei Stuben also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Drei Stuben? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing