We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room service ever - bucket list”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savoy Baur En Ville
Ranked #97 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Before you die, check in go to the room eat the room service and say life does not get better. Every hotel has its special feature. I give every excuse in the world to my colleagues so I can stay in. The silver service room service is out of this world. The food is delicious. See the picture. Oh I nearly forgot the location is brilliant. The rooms are on the small side and a little dated - but who cares - if I had paid more the room would be bigger. So I blame myself. The location is amazing and the famous sprungli chocolate shop is just across the way. The staff look old world and crusty but friendly and ready to help. I stay here at least once a year and look forward to the benchmark room service food and then my chocolates thank g-d I don't live here I'd look like he Michelin man.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I stayed recently at the Savoy Baur En Ville in Zurich and found the hotel to be a worthy Grand Hotel. The facade is well and truly Belle Epoque befitting a hotel that has been in existence since 1838. Internally, however, while wonderful, it is lacking the "wow" factor that most old Belle Epoque Grand Hotels possess. Having said that, the hotel is excellent and we were lucky enough to meet the venerable Manfred Hörger, owner of the establishment and found him to be a jolly chap. The piano lounge was a brilliant experience as the Bulgarian pianist of Macedonian ancestry was simply fantastic and the bar staff whip up the finest pina colada that you will ever experience! The room we had was lovely and clean, though with a curious Ancient Greece theme that was somewhat puzzling. The rates are on the expensive side, but this is Switzerland, so no great surprise. All up an excellent hotel close to all attractions that Zurich has to offer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed at the Savoy Baur En Ville for one night on business. The location is perfect. The check in was smooth, fast, friendly and efficient. The rooms are luxurious. I had a room with balcony overlooking the Paradeplatz. The rooms are perfectly clean and spacious, and I had one of the best sleeps ever as the mattress is very comfortable. Drinks in the bar is an experience. The bar manager was friendly and very knowledgeable about all the cocktails. Had lunch in the Italian Restaurant "Ristorante Orsini". What an amazing experience. The food and service was fantastic. The staff are discreet and exceptionally friendly. Breakfast is only a la carte and offers a wide choice of breakfast items. All staff is the hotel are at your service and keep a distance and are discreet giving you the feel of warm service. This is one of the world's top luxury hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyperson058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The location is just great. You are in the downtown but putting asidethe location and grandiose look I had mixed feeling while staying there.
Tiny rooms, elevators from the 80-s with scratched keypads. Forget about pastic key cards - they have keys of steel with big brass fobs. They do have a gym but it is located just accross the street. As I stayed there in January this was clearly not an option for me.
Well, probably they have thier target audience among affluent people of older generation and most likely they serve it well..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have been going to this Hotel over 20 years. Never has the Hotel disappointed nor gone down in standard. Staring with the concierge the room service the grill restaurant ( which I think is the best restaurant in Zurich) the housekeeping well equipped rooms etc I cannot fault it. I admit it is very expensive but you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concordia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 137 in Zurich
503 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#7 of 137 in Zurich
944 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 137 in Zurich
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 137 in Zurich
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Baur En Ville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Baur En Ville

Address: Am Paradeplatz Poststrasse 12 | Poststr 12, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Business Hotel in Zurich
#52 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 19,936 - ₹ 44,955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Baur En Ville 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Savoy Baur En Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Baur En Ville Hotel
Savoy Baur En Ville zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing