We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Very clean! Friendly staff!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #84 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Lausanne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location! Very clean! Friendly staff!”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The staff was friendly and both the check-in and check-out were easy. I loved the theme of the hotel... very cute. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the breakfast in the morning was very good. The location was great, I just wish parking was a bit easier. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    106
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
72
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We were only in Zurich for 2 days so we picked the Hotel California for location and then the price.

We were quite shocked at the prices of hotels in Zurich, so this hotel could be considered 'budget' compared to others, though still not a cheap hotel!

The hotel is in a great location in the old town, close to everything you need, including lots of restaurants and cafes.

Check-in was quick and easy at a small desk, the girl also turned out to be the cleaner, waitress, and tourist information help. If the desk is empty just call on the phone and she comes straight away.

The hotel was covered in American / Eagles graphics at every opportunity, so fun rather than classy!

Rooms were spacious, modern, with great bathroom, comfy beds, but very floppy pillows.

Internet access was fast and free which was very handy.

We asked for a room on the top (4th) floor, and glad we did, as the hotel is above a restaurant and can be a bit noisy. However most of the noise came from people meeting and chatting in the pedestrianised streets late at night, so i think most of the (more expensive) hotels in this area would have a similiar problem on the weekend.

Breakfast was included and was great, there were the normal range of continental selections, as well as anything warm and cooked off the menu.

Overall we would definutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — saturday night noise, but wasn't too bad
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Different type of place... staff available and helpful! Excellent location except the bar downstairs when they continue to live it up and we had a room above the bar one night. Ear plugs took care of that nicely. Otherwise their room Euro sized smalling area was fine and we enjoyed Zurich and the surroundings. Plenty of restos and cafes around, the tram is right in front and bus terminal for outer tours is nearby. Good place to stay for the money, hard to beat in Zurich. Can't be the location for the price and service a very polite and speedy, helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — The location... and the price
  • Disliked — Rooms were better than internet but a touch small... and some noise from the bar downstairs
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

This hotel is excellent. The location is great, close to all of the tourist attraction, less than 5 minutes walk from the Bellevue tram stations, basically one block away from the riverside. The hotel is owned by the famous Papa Joe's restaurant, so you can have direct access from your room's floor to the restaurant. Staffs are friendly and fun, but the most important thing is the room. The room is simple, but at least you got what you need the most - TV, hair dryer, mini bar, and above all...it is very CLEAN.

  • Liked — Cleaness and great location
  • Disliked — The steps from the main enterance of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orangelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2006

Hotel is located above PapaJoe’s restaurant. The staff at the reception was friendly and spoke English. The hotel has a modern lift, accessed through the restaurant. It is not run down.
Our 2-bed room was medium sized and clean. It was not noisy even though we were above the restaurant. It was equipped with mini-bar, safe and TV with CNN.
The attached toilet was medium sized, clean and hot water worked efficiently.
The beds were comfortable and firm.
Breakfast buffet: Coffee/Tea, hard rolls, cereal, jams.
View: Our room faced other buildings.
Surrounding: 5-minute walk to supermarket/departmental store. 10-minute walk to covered car park up a gentle slope. Restaurants and shops at door step. The main churches (Grossmunster, Fraumunster, St Peter’s Church) and Zurich Lake all within 6 – 12 minutes walk.
Limitation: hotel is not near train station. It also does not have its own car park. You will need to park your car at Hohe Promenade car park and drag your luggage to the hotel (gentle slope and half the journey on cobble stone streets). The parking charges is steep at CHF40 per 24-hours.

Helpful?
6 Thank mrsflorencegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
842 reviews
Hotel Rossli
#53 of 139 in Zurich
294 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#95 of 139 in Zurich
88 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#79 of 139 in Zurich
201 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#51 of 139 in Zurich
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Schifflaende 18, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Zurich
#48 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,562 - ₹ 18,021
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing