We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel by the Lake”
Review of Hotel Opera Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Opera Zurich
Ranked #57 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small Hotel by the Lake”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

A small hotel in a quiet road a few steps from the lakeside promenade of Lake Zurich. 10 minutes walk to Banhoffstrausse and also the two historical churches. Not too many activities in the immediate vicinity.
I had a single room which was clean and small but acceptable for a city like Zurich. Breakfast spread was limited. Will stay again if on leisure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Opera. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our location next to the lake and just a 10 minutes walk away from the Bahnhofstrasse and other sites. Thank you also for the comment concerning the single room. We do have different single room types and on our homepage you can easily find the right room depending on your taste and needs.

It would be great to welcome you once again in our Hotel.

Best regards

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    128
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
92
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Located just off the lake in the centre of Zurich, this hotel is next to Bellevue so a great location for transport links and things to do. Friendly reception staff. The room I had was well appointed but tiny, and a single bed next to a wall so I woke up in the night having rolled into the wall, added to the feeling of being crammed into a small space. Limited room service menu. This is a standard business hotel with nothing remarkable about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malefacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this comment about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the friendliness of our employees and with the location of our hotel in the city centre with easy access to puplic transportation. Thank you for your important comment regarding our room service menu. I will discuss with our chef to extend the offer. It is also possible to ask for menus which are not on the menu card. Our chef is always delighted to prepare the dishes for you. We would like to apologize that you were not satisfied with the size of the room. We offer different room categories from single rooms with 1 single bed or single room superior with french bed (1.4m mattress) to king or twin beds. Our reception will be delighted to assist you to find the suitable room category for you by your next booking. It would be a great honor for us if you would give us a second chance to welcome you back in our Hotel Opera to show you that we have the "certain something" which makes us more than a standard business hotel.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have traveled internationally to Zurich 3 times for work over the past year and stayed at the Opera . At the end of my second visit I left my curling iron in the room. While I didn't contact them to tell them of my loss, I just assumed that they would throw it away. Little did I know that they kept it and assumed I would be back. Just last week I returned to Zurich and on the evening of my first night visit, there in my room was the curling iron that I had left over 6 months ago. I was surprised that they kept it and also remembered me as I had not stated a single word of my loss. I appreciate the great customer service and the attention to detail this hotel affords. I'll come back time and time again, not just for the customer service but for the great location --close to the water and close to tram!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danyel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you very much for your really nice review about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted to hear that you appreciate our customer service and that you are happy that you got your curling iron back. Thank you also for mentioning our location only a few steps from the lake and 200m away from the train station Stadelhofen with direct link to the airport and all business districts. We are very much looking forward to your next visit in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is the best location for tourists. You can walk anywhere or take the tram . If you go to the right you will find old town Zurich and if you go left you will find the lake front and parks. Our room was number 31 and had an excellent view of the Opera House (back) and down to the lake. I found the room quite large by European standards and although the balcony was small it would have been a very nice place to sit if the weather had been more co-operative. The staff is excellent and we were very appreciative that they let us in early after out long plane trip. I really enjoyed having an excellent shower. Although breakfast is not included it is only 28 francs and has a wonderful variety, but be aware some of the hot dishes are only warm.
This is a business hotel but as a tourist I have some recommendations. Take the city trolley ride (two and a half hours) and well worth it. Don't forget to go to the left for an excellent walk along the lakefront and to see the parks, museums and enjoy the outside cafes. I know this is not part of the hotel review but if you get a chance eat at Restaurant Zeughauskeller. It is an old armeray servisce. The food is fabulous and the service fast and friendly. You will need to go early or make a reservation as it fills up fast with both locals and tourists.I

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia181741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you very much for your really nice comment about our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you were satisfied with our location in the city centre, with the size of the room and its view, and our employees. Thank you also for mentioning the value for money and the variety of our breakfast. Your tourist recommendations and especially your tip about the walk along the lakefront are very helpful to other travellers, many thanks! We would be delighted to welcome you once back with us and hope that the weather will be better at your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at Opera from 2nd to 6th April while I was in Zurich on a business visit. I had requested an early check-in and was glad that I was given one! The proximity of Stadlehofen station was a plus for me as I took S16, direct train, from Flughafen. It is closer to Bellevue so getting into any part of Zurich was easily possible.
I was given a double bed room, which was neatly decorated. The television set was a wide screened and had a nice user interface for the tv entertainment options. The room had a stand-in balcony with two chairs.There was a complementary water bottle, but unfortunately it was the fizzy/sparkling water and they didn't have the regular distilled water.
The Coop store, Globus are nearby. There are some good restaurants in the vicinity too.
The Zurich lakeside was at walkable distance...
Overall it was a pleasant stay...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doshakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Hotel Opera Zurich, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your very nice and detailed comment about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted to hear that you liked our location in the city centre next to Bellevue Place, a few steps away from the lake and only 16 minutes away from the airport with the direct train S16. Further on we are happy to read that you were pleased with the accommodation of the room as well as our new large flat screen TV's and the new multi-media TV-system including free LAN and WiFi access. Concerning your comment about the sparkling water we can let you know that the tap water in Switzerland is of very high quality and is commonly being used as drinking water. We would be delighted to welcome you once back in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards from the heart of Zurich

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#19 of 139 in Zurich
362 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
846 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#58 of 139 in Zurich
621 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 139 in Zurich
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Zurich? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Zurich

Property: Hotel Opera Zurich
Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,990 - ₹ 24,382
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opera Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing