We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera Hotel, Zurich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Opera Hotel, Zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I was on a business trip, and my wife joined me for the 3 nights we were there in late December. So this was part business part social.

I have stayed at the Opera about 5 times this year and have enjoyed every stay. The hotel is effectively a boutique hotel, although it does have a restaurant in it's partner hotel across the street.

What I like about this place, and why I bother ti write a review, is that the staff are so very friendly, so helpful, and make you feel so at home. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and the constant supply of tea in the lounge a great touch. It makes me smile to walk through the door knowing I will be staying there for a few days.

The rooms are not the biggest in the world, but are well equipped, the bathrooms are great, the beds comfortable, and despite being a city centre location, the rooms are very quiet due to excellent double glazing.

Wifi is not free, but a cable connection in the room is, and works well.

It is a few minutes, literally, walk from tram, train, lake, shops, bars, restaurants, and of course the opera house. No need for cabs at all, which are crazy prices in this city.

I like this place, and highly recommend it, but it is quiet, if you want a lively bar and night club, please look elsewhere. But it suits me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you very much that you took the time to write this very nice comment about our Hotel Opera. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you feel at home with us and that you really appreciate the friendliness ouf our staff. We are delighted to inform you that since January 1st 2012 we offer free Wifi in the entire hotel. We would like to thank you for your comment about our location in the city centre and are already looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    120
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
80
33
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is always my preferred hotel when staying in Zürich. The hotel is very conveniently located in walking distance of Bellevue tram hub and Bahnhof Stadelhofen as well as many good restaurants and bars; it is also 5 minutes from the lake, a great place for an early morning run or to sit and people watch in the evenings especially in the summer. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the rooms are generally in good order and always clean and tidy. Some of the rooms are a little on the small side with only a single bed but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are okay for one; some of the larger rooms also have a bath which is a bonus!

There is free Internet access but only through a network cable, which is provided, and there is also access to a PC and printer near the lounge area; wifi in the rooms would be my only ask. There is a mini bar in each room and often complimentary fruit, and whilst there is no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms there is down in the lounge area and in some ways I prefer that as it forces me to leave my room! Breakfast, whilst not cheap (but no more expensive than other Zürich hotels) is always excellent with a good buffet selection of cereal, fruit, bread, cheese, meats etc there is even a hot selection, which you don’t always get in other Zürich hotels in the same category.

All in all I am happy to keep going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foybes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you so much for your really nice comment about our Hotel Opera. We are happy to hear that our hotel is your favourite one when you are visiting Zurich. We are delighted to inform you, that starting on January 1st 2012 we can even satisfy your only important request as we will offer free Wifi and free broadband cable internet in all of our rooms and the hotel lobby. Thank you also for your comment that you liked our breakfast with its seasonal buffet selection. We are already looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed here for two nights on business with a colleague. The hotel is very clean and elegantly decorated. Our rooms were both very small, but neatly done. A good hairdryer was provided but no coffee and tea in the room and no iron. There was a minibar. Breakfast was good. The main drawback of this hotel is that the restaurant (for dinner) and the bar are across the road. There is a lounge area where they will bring you a drink and tea is free all the time, but its very quiet. There is free internet via a cable in the room but I had to pay for wireless on a card/voucher/password system which is an extra expense and a faff. Dinner in restaurant across the road was very nice but seemed pricey.

Whoever decorated this hotel has a good eye: the display of a couple of beautiful silver urns which keep water very hot for non-stop free tea, and the display of glass-type teacups, was most appealing. It is nice to see organisations giving tea the ritual and attention that has been paid to coffee.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for writing this comment about our hotel Opera. We are delighted to hear that you liked the cleanliness and the decoration of the rooms and the hotel. We are sorry that you were missing coffee and tea in the room but would be delighted to provide you with a coffee/tea kettle for your next stay.
Since our Hotel Opera and our Hotel Ambassador are smaller houses and are managed together there is only one restaurant which is just across a small one way street. We are sorry that our Restaurant Opera seemed pricey to you but hope that you were satisfied with your dining experience. We are happy to be able to inform you that starting 01.01.2012 there will be free Wifi in all of our rooms. It would be great to welcome you once back with us!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Business travel for one week.
The room is small compare to US standard, but very nicely done, very modern and extremely clean. The mattress was great and I had a quilt, which added to the Swiss charm. Breakfast was a bit pricey 26 CHF (but well you are in Switzerland) but very good. There is no wireless but you can get wired internet.
All in all, very good for business travel and steps from downtown
PS: Check the Jumbo Jumbo Jumbo cordon Bleu with a big Beer at the Rheinfelder Bierhalle... this goes with the Ambiance...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtof44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Opera. We are pleased to hear that you liked the furnishing and the cleanliness of our rooms. Concerning your comment about the price of our breakfast we would like to let you know that we also offer express day starters for CHF 8.50 where you get a coffee, an orange juice and a croissant, or you can choose from our à la carte breakfast menu. We are delighted to inform you that starting on January 1st 2012, we offer free Wifi and broadband internet in all of our rooms.
P.S. The Rheinfelder Bierhalle is very well known for their jumbo Cordon Bleus and definitely a good tip to go. Our Restaurant Opera on the other hand is famous in the city for the mediterranean fish dishes and the beautiful paintings on the walls and the ceiling. Maybe we can convince you to try a delicious fish dish in our restaurant at your next visit?

We would be delighted to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My stay at this hotel was pleasant and I would recommend it. The hotel is conveniently located, although Zurich is a small town and you can walk most places if you have time. Reception was helpful in locating some of the offices I needed to get to. My room was small and on the expensive side, but the decoration was a little different to most hotels, which after years of travelling is a nice change. The room opened up to a small balcony and it was a great change to be able to have fresh air in the room rather than rely on air conditioning (which was on the noisy side here). There was a glimpse of the lake from my room, but nothing to get excited about. The only downsides were the breakfast area was limited in what it offered and the hotel lift was small, as is sometimes the case in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for taking time to write your opinion about our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and that you liked the decoration of your room as well as the professionalism of our front office employees which helped you to find your way around Zurich. We are sorry that you did not feel comfortable in our breakfast area and that your room was a little bit too small. Our house is an individual boutique hotel and there are different room categories. We would be delighted to offer you a room in a bigger category for your next visit. Since our hotel is a historical building the elevator is unfortunately smaller than usually. We would like to apologize for this circumstance. We hope to have the chance to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,745 - ₹ 21,049
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing