We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly hotel in a convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #47 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in a convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for four nights in August 2011 while in Zurich for business. Hotel is a notch or two above basic tourist grade. Friendly staff and a good location. Would probably stay here again if I am back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfwmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your comment about our hotel Opera. We are very much delighted about your comment regarding the friendliness of our staff and our location and also that you would choose our hotel again when you travel to Zurich. We hope to be able to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    112
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
75
31
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I do not know how they award this hotel with 4*. It is standard 3* hotel. Looks as it was partially renovated few years ago. Location is good. You can be surprised by breakfast that will cost you 25F and not much to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conrad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your comment about our hotel Opera. Please note that we have just been rated as a 4* Hotel two months ago from an independent committee of the Swiss Hotel Association.

We would like to apologize that you were not satisfied with our Swiss Breakfast Buffet that includes a variety of fresh bread, scrambled eggs and bacon, prosecco, seasonal fruits and cereal mills to mix your own favourite muesli. You can also order from our breakfast menu card where we have a wide range of breakfast menus or order an express day starter for CHF 8.50. Further more we are pleased to inform you, that we renovate our hotel on yearly bases. The next refurbishment will start this December and will cover again 38 rooms.

We truly hope that you will give us a second chance and would be very much delighted to welcome you once back in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayedat the hotel for four nights on the first part of our honeymoon. The hotel recognised this and left champagne in the room...nice touch. Breakfast was excellent although be sure and book with b'fast included. The hotel is situated on a quiet street with classy bar's and cafe's within a few metres. The lake is again only metres away. The hotel restaurant is across the street attached to the ambassador hotel, food is ok but a little pricey and service on our visit started off poorly before a very attentive waiter rescued the situation. Zurich generally was very pretty albeit very expensive. Whether exchange rate or just general cost, I struggle with 30 chf for two bacardi's and coke! Anywhere you go, wine is also incredibly expensive whilst in a restaurant. Overall hotel Opera was very good, free Internet and tea/coffee available complimentary in the lounge. A very well run, very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandGilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you so much for taking time to write this comment. It is an honor for us that you have chosen our hotel Opera for your honeymoon. It is great to hear that our breakfast was excellent, that you enjoyed our location next to the lake in a quiet street with cafes and restaurants and that you liked our free tea and internet service.

I am very sorry to hear that the service in our restaurant started off poorly. This is of course not our standard and I have contacted our restaurant manager to train our restaurant employees in a more attentive way of service.

We are glad to hear that you had a very pleasant overall stay at our hotel Opera and would be delighted to welcome you once back.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Had a bit of a problem on check in since the hotel across the street (ambassador) had told us that the opera had a room ready for us to move to at noon (we could not extend another night at ambassador). The front desk clerk was nice and tried to be accomodating though I was rightfully annoyed that no room was available - even though it was not her fault but that of the clerk at ambassador. Within minutes the manager came to us, apologized and gave us a very nice room with no wait. Perfect customer service. We also loved the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonwolf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Many thanks for taking your time to write this comment about our Hotel.
We hardly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at your stay in our Hotel Ambassador on Check in. I am sorry that there was no more room available for extending your stay. However we would like to thank you for your nice comment that you experienced perfect customer service and that you loved our hotel Opera.
It would be great to welcome you once back either in our Hotel Ambassador or in our Hotel Opera Zurich.

Best regards

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new city, new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from Zurich. We stayed at the Opera Hotel after reading reviews. I was a little nervous since it is not considered a top tier hotel, but the hotels in Zurich are so expensive, we tried to find one that was reasonable and that was the Opera. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The hotel is in a great location. We used public transportation and we walked to all the areas we wanted to explore. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff was attentive, professional and lovely. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but did have dinner at their restaurant. It was very good. Zurich is a very expensive city, so in terms of value, everything is relative. We spent more than we wanted to, but as far as costs in Zurich, this hotel was great. The rooms are clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern. It is not opulent as many of the larger hotels are. I would stay there again if we return to Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnNewCity_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador-Zuerich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this comment about our Hotel.
It was a pleasure for us to read that you decided to stay in our Hotel and that it turned out to be an excellent choice for you. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and that you appreciated the large, comfortable and clean rooms. Thank you also for the nice comment, that our employees were attentive, professional and lovely.
It would be great to welcome you once again in our Hotel.

Best regards from Zurich

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#12 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#22 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,868 - ₹ 21,362
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing