We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel :)”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel :)”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Coronado Hotel is a very nice hotel; clean, and on the tram line-great for travel ease! Our room did not have air conditioning, but my brother's room across the hall did-strange!! Our room did have a nice floor fan and that was wonderful-didn't miss the a.c.!! Our room was very nice and the bed, very comfortable! The hotel staff is kind and helpful! We enjoyed the lemonade and coffee provided in the lobby! The outside doesn't reflect the inside so don't worry when you first see the hotel front-not that it is bad, but it could use a little freshening up!!!! Stay here, you won't be disappointed and the price pretty good for Zurich!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJMBtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your rating and your nice comment. Referring the a/c irritation unfortunately we need to renovate some of the a/c's in the rooms normally and latest for your next stay, all rooms are well equipped with airconditioning.
Thank you for your inputs and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Coronado.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    161
    48
    7
    5
See reviews for
90
143
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is at the Milchbuck tram interchange, meaning you can get from the airport to here, directly in 20 min; and the same line gets you directly to downtown in 10 min. The University is a 10 min walk through a delightful park. So the location is ideal.
The reception were pleasant and efficient, and our room was modern, clean and delightful. We found ourselves happy to come back and relax, which is a good sign.
Breakfast is fine, though we found ourselves eating at nearby cafe Kern, or the University Mensa, for better value. They don't do dinner, but there are nice cafes nearby.
Wifi Internet is free.
We would certainly come back here if we were in Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your comment and your rating. Your hints and tips are pretty useful for prospective guests, thank you.
I hope you had a relaxing stay and a quiet continuation of the journey afterwards as well!
Thanky for the recommendation, see you back soon when your are in Zurich.
Kind regards,
Your Coroando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Dont get me wrong on this but we have been to numerous 5 star hotels and this one was by far our best !! as we entered the hotel a wonderful guy greeted us (im very sorry cant remeber his name Lets hope he remebers me we were the two ladies from Oman) anyways i cant help but to mention that he was very friendly and had great sense of humar ! he did make fun of me in a nice way i almost felt i knew this guy for a long time which made our stay at this hotel ! and there was a friendly egyption guy who was helpful too, The rooms are cozy and very comfy small well this is europe but clean and nice ! we even have recommended it to friends who are currently visiting zurich unfortunatly the hotel was fully booked throught august. People in Zurich are very friendly very helpful words cant justify thier kindness enough go and check for you'r self.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear ladies!
Thank you very much for your nice comment and the outstanding rating. Thanks a lot for the kudo, we are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and the staff is happy if you are! Just drop in when you next time travel trough Europe, you always are warmly welcome at Hotel Coronado!
We are lookimg forward to welcoming you back soon, it is our pleasure.
Kind regards,
You Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Another good hotel that is rated at only 3 star, don't understand why; they are much better than that. From check in to room nothing was a problem. The receptionish assisted with a travel ticket and perfect directions into Zurich. The room was well presented, clean and typically functional. WiFi was offered during check-in and worked well. Car parking at the front door.
Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your nice words and your rating. Nice to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the time in Zurich. Your tips are very useful for future guests, thank you for that.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Coronado.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - in contrast to the hilariously rambling saga of the cat lady a few posts below, I felt welcome as a single traveller. Good value for Switzerland, especially considering the location just over the road from the tram stop. Room was very clean, and had the usual facilities - desk, minibar, air conditioning, etc. Despite the fact my room was on the first floor facing the main road, very little noise filtered through (and I write this as a very light sleeper). The staff were very helpful and polite, particularly the gentlemen on duty during the evenings. Exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bach1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest, I am glad to hear that you had a memorable stay and no pet was lost. Especially, you had a nice sleep, you are right, the hotel is situated next to a road. But the hotel is therefore in the city quiet central and there are very good windows as you mentioned.
See you back soon, it would be a pleasure! Thank you for the kudos, the staff smile suddenly a little more :)
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
590 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#29 of 139 in Zurich
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
777 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 139 in Zurich
990 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 139 in Zurich
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Property: Coronado Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,383 - ₹ 14,381
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing