We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning and no fan provided”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #46 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We were two couples in two double rooms for two nights. We were given rooms in the top floor (5th). As soon as we left the elavator and entered the landing of the 5th floor it felt like an oven.
The rooms were very very hot, and we were told that they had no fans available. The fans were all given to other rooms or broken. They had no other rooms to move to. We had a horrible night, very uncomfortable. It was so hot that we could not sleep.
We requested to be moved to a lower floor for the second night, as the lower floors are much cooler. We were given rooms in the 1st floor and were also given a fan. This was a very different scenario. The rooms were fresher and we were happy.
I find it very difficult to understand why the hotel management does not provide a fan to each room in the 5th floor to help to cope with the unbearable temperature of those rooms on the 5th floor. We stayed in one other hotel in Interlaken that had no air conditioning, but it had a fan in the room permanently, available for guests to use, if required.
It is very uncaring to tell guests that the website of the hotel does not include air conditioning, and no to provide fans to 5th floor rooms when they must know what is like up there in summer.
Otherwise, the location is very good, good breakfast, clean, with parking spaces available, and very good price.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in lower floors. Rooms in 5th floor were very hot and no fan provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ECONC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel Montana and your kind message.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and Services from the second day. We truly regret that your experience at the first was not what you had expected.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

Zurich's an expensive city. This hotel charged me about half of what other comparable hotels charged for a solo traveler. I think that's the key -that, and diligently searching multiple sites for deals.

In the end, it was a good room at a great price in a brilliant location.

Bed- comfortable
Pillows -feathered
Shades -blackout
Breakfast -great. Real bacon some days, lots of choice and enough to fill you up till dinner.
WiFi -strong and free
Location -couldn't be better. The train station is literally 5 minutes away. It's in the back of the train station, but note, you don't have to go to the front of the train station unless you actually need to buy a ticket. If you have a pass already, just go through one of the back entrances.

The only drawback -no air conditioning. The average temperature in Zurich even in the summer is such that I decided to chance it. But I got caught in a heat wave and it wasn't particularly pleasant. Wasn't too bad though. I didn't plan to spend much time in the hotel anyway except late at night to sleep, by which time you got some relief from the heat.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel Montana and your kind message.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Booked this hotel for a scientific conference in Zurich with three other members of my lab. The hotel cancelled our reservation without warning one week before the conference. Because the hotel had already taken other reservations one day later, we were forced to book a different hotel, leading to additional costs of around 1400€ (about one third of the original amount). I cannot recommend this hotel, and frankly, I wonder how anyone would want make reservations with this kind of uncertainty.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear value Guest
Thank you very much for your useful feedback.
We truly regret that your experience with us and the overall performance of the hotel Montana was not what you had expected.
Nevertheless, the booking was made with an insufficiently covered credit card, whereupon the booker was contacted by us. According to this letter, you had 24 hours to submit new credit card details in order to keep your booking. After we had not received some new credit details, we were forced to cancel the reservations.
We fully understand your inconvenience experience, but we also have to stick to the basic conditions.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We picked this hotel because of its awesome location a few minute walk from Zurich HB (main train station) at a reasonable price (as Zurich is VERY expensive). It could have been a nice place to stay. But we encountered too many negatives to stay here again. Many of the rooms were refurbished but we got stuck in a dingy, old room. It was HOT in July and room was stifling. Even with a fan in the room and window open, it was barely tolerable. Although we pre-paid 4 nights, we left a day early to move to a hotel with A/C.

NEGATIVES
NO air conditioning, maybe OK before June or after September
Bottle breaking parties outside on Friday night (unable to close window due to heat)
Horrible pillow, one I would not even donate to charity
Bed uncomfortable
Old, dark room with very old carpet
Bathroom was nice enough, but no ventilation so made stifling room worse

POSITIVES
Location, Location, Location
Staff was quite friendly
Breakfast was decent and bread was baked fresh on the premises
Large in-room safe
In-room coffee, though did not use because it was so hot already
Good free decent Wi-Fi

Room Tip: MUST get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear value Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel Montana and your useful feedback.
We truly regret that your experience with us and the overall performance of the hotel Montana was not what you had expected. In fact, it can get louder on the streets in the evening, but we can not influence such noise emissions. We appreciate your value feedback and work hard to meet and exceed our guests expectitions.

Yours sincerely

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

The Montana is conveniently located - just behind the main railway station - but without the eye-watering price tag of many other city centre hotels. You can easily walk from the railway station (5 mins) or park your car in the hotel's underground car park for 20 SFr.

The rooms are smallish but very modern and clean. The biggest issue is the lack of air conditioning, and it does get fairly hot in Zurich in summer. The only solution is to open the window, but then you probably won't be able to sleep for noisy passers by or cars blaring music.

The staff were very friendly - not Swiss - and were unfailingly helpful and polite. The single most impressive part of staying here is the extensive hotel buffet. It's amongst the best I've had in a hotel of this class, and if you went into town to buy it yourself, it would easily set you back 30 SFr.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gayterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services. It is true that we have no air conditioning. However, we can provide our guests with a fan.
We eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,049 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
862 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sorell Hotel Rex
#39 of 137 in Zurich
380 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#35 of 137 in Zurich
648 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#28 of 137 in Zurich
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 7,758 - ₹ 13,872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing