We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Internet”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hotel was decent enough and the breakfast was good. But the internet was awful. It disconnected every 2 mins. My wife and i both have iphones so we were disappointed. Good wifi is more important to me than good breakfast so that's why I dinged the rating of the hotel. Overall my experience wasn't bad. If wifi worked, easily a 4.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DLTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our internet connection but we were aware of that problem and changed our provider. We are happy to tell you and all other future customers that our new provider is working properly and is even faster as the old one was. So you are very welcome to come back and check it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

I checked in a single room. I was expecting it to be really small, but it was spacious enough. The bedroom, linen and bathroom were immaculate. A good diverse breakfast buffet, included in the single room price. It is only 10mn nice walk to downtown but if you feel lazy, you can always take the tram, which stop is like 200 meters distance. My only 2 negative comments are: the way my room was organized was very weird. When you opened the door you ended up in the bathroom (sink first, then shower and the toilet) and after that you could access the bedroom, but I know that other single rooms are not set up like that. So maybe you can double-check with reception before getting the room. Second negative comment is that the walls are paper-thin, so if your neighbor's tv is on, or he is walking with his shoes, you can hear that. This being said, I really recommend this place, as the price is pretty low for a city like Zurich and it is much more comfortable than a hostel (and some hostels in Zurich are more expensive).

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that do not open on the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grungeful_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your positive comment about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you would recommend the REX.
Regarding the type of room you are right; we only have 3 single rooms which are set up like this so usually it is no problem to request another type of room before checking-in but nevertheless the standard is the same in all our rooms: shower, toilet, minibar, TV, radio, free wifi connection, minibar and coffee- and teamaking facilities.
We hope to welcome you another time in Zurich soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very good value, slightly outside the center of Zurich, but still very central. Well run, tasteful place. Would come back when in Zurich.

Location: not in the center, but still very central in a residential neighborhood. Abt 15 min walk to the city center. Connected by 2 trams lines which go to the 2 locations ones generally wants to go:. One goes to the train station and down Bahnhofstrasse, the other straight to the lake.

Rooms: Medium sized rooms, nicely furnished. Tea/coffee making facility, nice bathroom w good towels, very good lightening in rooms ad free wifi.

Service: very nice Swiss style breakfast, breakfast room very tasteful and light, staff very helpful and hotel sells daily tram tickets, some free parking spaces

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for your good review, we always love to hear comments from satisfied guests. We are happy to welcome you or friends and family of yours in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank huanhsu k
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The location is great, the staff is helpful, the breakfast is fine, and the rooms are nice. But we got a room on the front side. I just could not get asleep because of the noise from the trams running by. The airco didn't work so it was also too hot.
All in all, it was not a pleasant stay for me. But perhaps if you have a room on the other side of the building it is much better.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the street side. Even though the view may be nice there is a lot of noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annelies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for your review.
Due to the complaints (about the noise) we received in the past we just changed all windows which face the street side. Which means that our guests can enjoy a nice view and quiet rooms.
We always do our best to make a stay at the Rex as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 137 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Hotel Montana
#48 of 137 in Zurich
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 137 in Zurich
427 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
823 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 137 in Zurich
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Family Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 9,708 - ₹ 16,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing