We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, clean and modern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel
Ranked #70 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here with a friend in late April 2012. Two nights. The room was pleasant and very clean and modern. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. My only criticism is that the free wifi signal in the lobby was too weak.
This hotel isn't cheap but nothing is in Zurich. All in all, I would say it was reasonable value for Switzerland as the room was comfortable and nice. We paid about 550CHF for the two nights for the two of us.
We didn't have the expensive breakfast at the hotel, we went instead to the wonderful Sprungli cafe on the main street, 10 minutes walk away. Sprungli is expensive too, but it's an absolutely beautiful place. You go in through the main door and upstairs to the cafe. I go there every time I'm in Zurich.
If you're coming from the main station, you can get to the hotel on trams 6, 7 or 13, get off at Stockerstrasse and you're five minutes walk from the hotel.
I did a LOT of research on this website and lastminute.com before making my choice. I'm happy with the result.

Room Tip: Use the hotel's own website to book your room, you have more choice and it doesn't seem to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronaldgangfuss, General Manager at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre gute Bewertung auf Tripadvisor. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie mit Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns im Sheraton Zürich Neues Schloss Hotel so zufrieden waren und würden uns freuen, Sie recht bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Selbstverständlich werden wir die drahtlose Internetverbindung im Lobby-Bereich überprüfen, um eine stabile und schnelle Verbindung sicher zu stellen.

Mit besten Grüssen,
Ronald Gangfuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    165
    82
    12
    13
See reviews for
52
142
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The pictures don't do the hotel justice. It is near the lake and the street that it's located on is a mix of residential (beautiful architecture) and business (modern Swiss architecture). The rooms are very spacious, clean and the balcony is a huge plus.

I think the pictures really don't do this place justice, I found this comparable in comfort to the Widder (where Is stayed for one night). This place is 260CHF CHEAPER than the Widder, so I'd rate this as a higher value.

Room Tip: SPG - you'll get upgraded to a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSYWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronaldgangfuss, General Manager at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Google Translation
Wow - vielen Dank für das Kompliment! Seit der Renovierung von 2009, strahlt das Sheraton Zürich Neues Schloss Hotel tatsächlich als Boutique Hotel in perfekter Lage in neuem Glanz. Preis/Leistung ist uns wichtig und es ist unser Ziel, ein herausragendes Produkt zu einem fairen Preis anzubieten.

Nochmals vielen Dank und freundliche Grüsse,

Ronald Gangfuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have stayed at thie hotel a few times. In fact I travel to Zurich evry week, so I know how expensive hotels are and I also know about the lamentable service that is offered in some of these places.
The Sheraton is convieniently located at Stockerstrasse, near the hip shops, bars and restaurants. It even overlook the Hyatt (before you ask, the Hyatt is 850CHF per night and at that price, you must be insane!). Set back from the main drag, it is quiet. FOr soem bizarre reason, they have decided to take that tranquility all the way through the hotel. So much so in fact that it feels like the waiting room in an Amish funeral parlour. The reception....DEAD; The bar...DEAD; the restaurant...DEAD - Completely surreal! it lcks life, imagination, most of all, it lacks class. I have stayed in a few SHeratons in my time and this is by far the most disappointing.
The rooms are (as you can probably guess) average. I dont really have any complaints. Good nights sleep and all that! But my two gripes are 1). The price: They have this riduculous policy wherein they change their prices depending on how busy they are, so for the same room, one week it costs £40CHF and the following week it costs 500CHF!! If there was a modicum of life in the place I could understand, but SERIOUSLY???
2) The check out is absurd. Its like a scene from Fawlty Towers. Their anitquate credit card macchine goes over an analogue line, so an breaks int he line means that you could be standing there for 10 minutes trying to pay to leave the asylum. People stare at oyu as if "Oh oh, he cant pay hims bill.......until its their turn and they face the same humiliation!)

There is also no gym or spa facilities. Ho can this place really call itself a 45 star hotel when frankly it is nothing more that a glorified hostel?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. For the money, belive me, you will hate this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronaldgangfuss, Director of Sales at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear ATraveller01,

thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay for the majority of your criteria selected. We are afraid that there were certain aspects of your expectations which we could not fulfill. We will review them in our next team meeting and thank you for your input.

Kind regards,
Christina Roesle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel is fine, but it is the sort of hotel that could be anywhere. Generic decor, boring lobby. The restaurant was fine for breakfast. The concierge/desk clerk only had one restaurant recomendation, and that was the Movenpick around the corner. And the desk clerk ("The only inefficient person in Switzerland") misdirected us to the Alte Stadt, was constantly confused about the status of our lost luggage.

Clean and central.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreektravelHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina R, Director of Sales at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear GreektravelHalifax

Thank you for this review on trip advisor! I am sorry to read that you were not entirely happy with us. I have taken note of your comments and will bring them up in order to ensure consistency and accuracy in the services and knowledge within the team.

Kind regards,
Christina Roesle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have stayed here numerous times of the last couple of years. The Hotel has undergone a needed refurbishment in 2009 and has turned out rather nice, with warm, nutral colours and up to date furnishings. I stayed in an Executive Room which was very comfortable, good size with a very nice modern bathroom. I am not a big fan of the option of "shower in bath" but for a short stay it was ok, as always when you shower the floor gets flooded. The restaurant was closed on a Sunday night, unless you want to sit in the lobby to eat or in your room, you have to go out.
I opted to dine out. The hotel seems to be staffed to absolute minimum, at least on a Sunday evening, with the Barman functioning as well as Room Service and serving the food in the bar - at times he seemed rushed of his feet, however always remaining energetic, very friendly and professional, I was very impressed by this young guy, but thought it was not appropriate of the hotel to be so short staffed. Guest in the lobby complained about the wait for the food, apparently due to only one Chef in the kitchen.
Breakfast was very nice with a good buffet and an area specially set aside for SPG Platinum guests. They include the breakfast for Platinum Guests for free which is fantastic.
One big shortcoming is that you have to pay for Wifi in the room, even as a Platinum guest and free Wifi is only provided in the lobby which I can not understand in the year 2012 - this certainly should be improved.
Overall a good stay and I would come back, however the issue around the free Wifi in the room would need to be addressed. Thats Starwood minimum standard.

Room Tip: Executive Corner rooms are very nice and have a nice size balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina R, Director of Sales at Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear STEPDI

thank you for this nice and honest review! And yes, you are right, it happens that with such a small hotel, there might sometimes not be enough staff. It happens quickly: if a colleague is ill, the team immediately is too small.
Yes, since our internet provider is an external company, we have to pay them for the large amounts of data which gets transferred. As more and more travelers have more devices and download more data, we have not been able so far to offer internet entirely for free. We are working on that and hope that during your next stay, we will have solved this.

Kind regards,
Christina Roesle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Ascot
#83 of 134 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#18 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#22 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel

Property: Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel
Address: Stockerstrasse 17, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Zurich
#42 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#45 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#65 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,456 - ₹ 36,398
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel is idyllically situated in the heart of Zurich. With its 60 rooms and suites the boutique hotel offers the perfect ambiance for a sightseeing weekend in the lively metropolis. Only a few steps from the Opera, the famous Bahnhofstrasse or the Old town, the Hotel is a place of wellbeing and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Zurich Neues Schloss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton zürich
Sheraton Zurich
zürich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing