We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable modern rooms at a good price for zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Ranked #76 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable modern rooms at a good price for zurich”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and enjoyed our stay very much.

The room we stayed in (228) was modern and very spacious. We had booked a standard room but may have been upgraded as the room was quite large. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. There was no noise whatsoever as the windows were very good quality. The air conditioning, which comes through tiny pores in the ceiling, was very quiet and easy to operate (more important during summer of course). The flat screen television was large and had a huge variety of channels including english speaking. We also saw room 215 which was equally nice.

The bathroom, although not large, didn't need to be, as it was very well laid out. The shower was large and powerful.

The service was pleasant and not invasive at all. Everything in the hotel was very clean.

The location is not perfect for visiting central zurich (we were visiting relatives nearby), but it is easy to get into the main shopping road and the old town in about 15 minutes using the ever reliable trams. A direct tram to the centre runs from around the corner.

The food was very good. A varied breakfast buffet had everything we needed. We ate once in the hotel restaurant for lunch and the food was excellent.

It is not cheap, but then again not much is in switzerland with current exchange rates, and I feel that this is a reasonable price for a 4* hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for a city trip.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engimatt, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Engimatt City-Gardenhotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We apologize that the response to your review comes so late. Nevertheless we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel.
Room 228 is a comfort room indeed and therefor bigger than a standard room: when we are not fully booked we try to give our guests an upgrade.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Engimatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    122
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
68
18
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Had a project in Zurich and really enjoyed our stay at the Engimatt! The Hotel puts value on traditional values without being old fashioned.
The area around Enge was very quiet and still very close to the main business area and also a big shopping center just around the corner (Sihlcity) with cinema restaurants (Vapiano and Asian Combination were both good).
Definitely try the Hotels restaurant Orangerie: we had a delish business dinner there at quite good value for Zürich!
Overall Peaceful, Well Located and Friendly

Room Tip: Get a room viewing the front of the hotel: the sunlight is great all day there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0KT0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I spent 3 nights at the hotel. My room was located on the 2nd floor, the first thing I noticed was the size, it was very small with very little space to move around. The bed was also very tiny, I believe a single bed. The only upside was the decent wireless internet and the fact that they had ITV3 and ITV4. The TV is unfortunately rather small and hidden at the corner. This is one of the few hotels where breakfast is inclusive, although I didn't get the chance to take breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwes_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed there several times during the summer and loved the hotel. The hotel is near the city center and very close to the lake (both walking distance). Each room has a balcony - which is nice during the summer months, a nespresso coffee machine and an extensive range of tv programs e.g. almost all UK channels. The room rate includes breakfast (which is not typical in Zurich) - other hotels charge usually up to CHF 32 per breakfast. The restaurant has an outdoor dining area and the food is excellent. In addition there is a tennis court, sauna and a cigar smoking room (cigars can be purchased in the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Glen1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spent just one night in this hotel. The (luxury) room on the first floor was of good size. The bathroom was very very small.
But the worst item is the furniture, which is outdated and especially our beds were in very bad shape.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Ascot
#82 of 139 in Zurich
278 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#53 of 139 in Zurich
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#30 of 139 in Zurich
452 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
711 reviews
Langstrasse
Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engimatt City-Gardenhotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engimatt City-Gardenhotel

Property: Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
Address: Engimattstrasse 14, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Zurich
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Business Hotel in Zurich
#43 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#46 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,864 - ₹ 26,181
Hotel Class:4 star — Engimatt City-Gardenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Oasis with stars Standard, Deluxe or one of our suites for a special occasion? No matter what you decide, you can expect something very special. Located in the quiet neighbourhood "Enge", our hotel is surrounded by a green Oasis of peace and aesthetics. Nevertheless most sights are near: only a few minutes walking distance and you are at the well known "Bahnhofstrasse", the historic old town and the idyllic Zurich Lake. The museum "Rietberg" with the appending park and its own fascinating history is located very near as well. Only a two minutes walk away is Sihlcity, a shopping mall with 80 shops, a cinema complex with 10 theatres and the Asia Spa. When you have finished exploring the city our hotel awaits you with a small discovery: all our bedrooms are individually designed and each of the rooms is it's own bright and peaceful jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Engimatt City-Gardenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engimatt Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing