We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,297)
Filter reviews
2,297 results
Traveller rating
928
966
299
63
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
966
299
63
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple juicem galleryold towntrain stationswiss chaletminute walkmain stationsuperior roomcomfortable bedan upgradeexcellent hotelbuffet breakfastsingle roomthe air conditioningnespresso machinecentral locationzurich hb
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 2,297 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Prior to our departure to Zurich ,the front office staffs gave us an email with a complete direction on how to get to the hotel from the time we cleared the immigration , by using their local tram service . We arrived at Zurich International airport at 6 AM after 14 hours of long haul flight..Feeling apprehensive because in years of our traveling ,we have never taken a tram to a hotel before .Believe me the direction given by the front office staffs were so accurate, clear and precise that we arrived at the hotel without any hiccups after 20 minutes .The hotel has given us a good start and eased our anxiety...This hotel is right across of Stampfenbachplatz tram stop ..so convenient and only takes 10 minutes walk to get to the main bus & rail terminal. 5 minutes walk to the National Museum .The interior of the hotel is modern , room at we stayed was clean and decent and their breakfast spread is good.Especially enjoyed their honey comb.Their coffee is one of the best coffee that we had in Zurich .We stayed there for 3 nights and all the days the breakfast was almost the same .. Other than that everything else about the hotel was to our satisfaction.. Please do not miss out on their Apple juice at the reception area . Very refreshing and sweet ..The staffs are really helpful and polite. Please do not take cab to the hotel , it's expensive . Get direction from the front office before arriving at Zurich . We would stay in this hotel again .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 945daphned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

After a bad experience at the Mercure Kensington in London, we were a bit apprehensive about this hotel, but were instantly charmed by the efficient, friendly and very helpful reception staff. We were equally charmed by the big barrel of absolutely delicious courtesy apple juice and basket of crunchy apples. I'm ashamed to say that we over-indulged of both over our stay.
The hotel is very well located, within easy walking distance of he station, the river and the town center, but in a very quiet street, with several nice little restaurants and an excellent bakery within a 2 minute walk. Our room (an upgrade) was large and comfortable, but a bit dated with truly hideous art-work, not at all in keeping with the Swiss feel of the decoration. The bathroom was large and airy with great water pressure. We loved the cookies and the chocolates and all the other goodies, had one very abundant and delicious breakfast, and all in all were exteremely happy with our stay. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Look, this hotel had a beautiful lobby and the service was amazing. The cake upon arrival was a nice touch and the staff really adhere to every request, they're very kind. However, the rooms just were not to my taste. I didn't like the bathroom it was very old school and the whole decor felt like my grandmother's house. They let us check out late which was kind - again great service. But their rooms need an upgrade and the air con system was very archaic. We obtained the room on a sale deal - I would never pay full price. And the breakfast was about $40 extra per head - I know it's switzerland but we paid much much less elsewhere for better quality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGContinentalZRH, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Natalie P

Thank you for your kind compliments to our staff and your honest feedback.

We try our best to let our guests feel properly welcomed and are therefore really pleased that you were satisfied with our service. We will happily pass on your compliments to all our staff.

It is true, that our hotel is a bit old school. It is, however, soon to be completely refurbished and we would be very happy to welcome you back as soon as all the work is completed.

Kind regards

Nina Wenzler
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Hotel is not far from the train station. The staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel itself looks quaint and cute. The rooms need some updating. The carpet, chair and drapes appeared to be worn. The room is very small. I booked a deluxe room and it was quite small. The a/c seemed to struggle to cool the room, but luckily it was cool out. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet. I slept well which is important.
Overall, I had a nice stay. I was a little surprised that the rooms were dated since it was not inexpensive. Room came without breakfast included.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGContinentalZRH, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear movedsouth

Thank you for your kind compliments to our staff and your honest feedback.

We are glad to hear, that you had a good nights sleep in our comfy beds. We know, that our rooms are a bit dated. Our hotel is soon to be completely refurbished and we would be very happy to welcome you back as soon as all the work is completed.

Kind regards

Nina Wenzler
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews