We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel helpful staff but some things to consider if you are tall or wide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #31 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This hotel has a lot going for it. The staff are excellent - friendly, very helpful, very professional. The location is terrific - a short easy stroll into old town and across the river to high end shopping on Bahnhofstraße. A range of restaurants are around the hotel, which is good because the room service menu is limited to pretty much only hamburgers. Very good hamburgers, but if you want something else, you’ll need to go out. I had a premium room with a view on to the street below. The room is large, a lot of space, however the bed is rather low. Given the size of the room, the bathroom is very small. It’s ok, but as a 6’1” male with broad shoulders, the shower is somewhat of an issue. The shower rose is over a bathtub, the width of which is slightly bigger than my shoulders. It makes things awkward to shower, so if you are looking for a good long shower after a hard day, this won’t do it. A smaller person would have no problem. There are no USB power points, and my older European power converter did not fit the oddly shaped, deep Swiss power points, so you’ll need a multi converter or at least a new European converter with long prongs. Bottled water is also sparse. I’ve been told water from the tap is ok, but after a horror experience in Italy, i now only drink bottled when travelling. The one complimentary bottle was sparkling (which I hate because I think it tastes like aspirin), but still is available if you ask. After a long day/flight, I just wish I didn’t have to ask. Overall a very good hotel, just needs some small attention to details to make it excellent...and a big person shower.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have a lot of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Prior to our departure to Zurich ,the front office staffs gave us an email with a complete direction on how to get to the hotel from the time we cleared the immigration , by using their local tram service . We arrived at Zurich International airport at 6 AM after 14 hours of long haul flight..Feeling apprehensive because in years of our traveling ,we have never taken a tram to a hotel before .Believe me the direction given by the front office staffs were so accurate, clear and precise that we arrived at the hotel without any hiccups after 20 minutes .The hotel has given us a good start and eased our anxiety...This hotel is right across of Stampfenbachplatz tram stop ..so convenient and only takes 10 minutes walk to get to the main bus & rail terminal. 5 minutes walk to the National Museum .The interior of the hotel is modern , room at we stayed was clean and decent and their breakfast spread is good.Especially enjoyed their honey comb.Their coffee is one of the best coffee that we had in Zurich .We stayed there for 3 nights and all the days the breakfast was almost the same .. Other than that everything else about the hotel was to our satisfaction.. Please do not miss out on their Apple juice at the reception area . Very refreshing and sweet ..The staffs are really helpful and polite. Please do not take cab to the hotel , it's expensive . Get direction from the front office before arriving at Zurich . We would stay in this hotel again .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 945daphned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

After a bad experience at the Mercure Kensington in London, we were a bit apprehensive about this hotel, but were instantly charmed by the efficient, friendly and very helpful reception staff. We were equally charmed by the big barrel of absolutely delicious courtesy apple juice and basket of crunchy apples. I'm ashamed to say that we over-indulged of both over our stay.
The hotel is very well located, within easy walking distance of he station, the river and the town center, but in a very quiet street, with several nice little restaurants and an excellent bakery within a 2 minute walk. Our room (an upgrade) was large and comfortable, but a bit dated with truly hideous art-work, not at all in keeping with the Swiss feel of the decoration. The bathroom was large and airy with great water pressure. We loved the cookies and the chocolates and all the other goodies, had one very abundant and delicious breakfast, and all in all were exteremely happy with our stay. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Look, this hotel had a beautiful lobby and the service was amazing. The cake upon arrival was a nice touch and the staff really adhere to every request, they're very kind. However, the rooms just were not to my taste. I didn't like the bathroom it was very old school and the whole decor felt like my grandmother's house. They let us check out late which was kind - again great service. But their rooms need an upgrade and the air con system was very archaic. We obtained the room on a sale deal - I would never pay full price. And the breakfast was about $40 extra per head - I know it's switzerland but we paid much much less elsewhere for better quality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGContinentalZRH, Front Desk Supervisor at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Natalie P

Thank you for your kind compliments to our staff and your honest feedback.

We try our best to let our guests feel properly welcomed and are therefore really pleased that you were satisfied with our service. We will happily pass on your compliments to all our staff.

It is true, that our hotel is a bit old school. It is, however, soon to be completely refurbished and we would be very happy to welcome you back as soon as all the work is completed.

Kind regards

Nina Wenzler
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 137 in Zurich
1,008 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#20 of 137 in Zurich
876 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
898 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
831 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 137 in Zurich
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 10,607 - ₹ 17,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing