We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Dapur Indonesia

Dapur Indonesia
Ranked #88 of 1,957 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Authentic Indonesian food. Friendly staff and beautiful ambience. Located 5 minutes walk from Oerlikon train station.
Lugano
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We went to Dapur following to the reviews in trip. It was our first Indonesian experience and we were extremely happy with the quality and taste of all the dishes that we ordered. We had 4 different main courses and they were all excellent.
Not easy to spot the restaurant from the street as it is rather dark inside and it has a small sign, but we did find it. The decor is nice and service quite attentive. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    66
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty fusion food”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Having read the tripadvisor reviews and being from Zürich I was curious about the high overall rating of this place. So I took my partner there for dinner.

Overall the food was tasty, but having been to Indonesia a couple of times and knowing most of the culinary culture there, I would consider the food at Dapur as rather cosmopolitan/westerner asian food or what I call FUSION. This, however, doesn't mean that we didn't enjoy the two dishes, they were great.

Atmosphere: Nice. The tables are bit close though and we couldn't speak in absolute privacy as our neighbours were about 30cm beside us.

Location: Average. Its not in Zürich but in one of the suburbs. If that's not an issue for you its good.

Service: We were served by a nice French lady. Occationally 2 Asian ladies came to ask how the dinner was, etc. All in all again a fusion between different cultures but very friendly.

Prices: We paid about CHF140 for the two of us. I didn't think it was particularly cheap but expensive neither...average I would say.

Verdict: I would recommend it if you are looking for something a bit out of town. The food is definitely tasty.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mastapieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, good food and great staff”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Having Dutch/Indonesian roots, we were keen to try out this acclaimed Indonesian restaurant in Zürich, We ordered the 11-course 'Rijsttafel' to be able to taste everything, and although we really liked the food, we didn't think it was THAT special. The restaurant was quite busy and despite pre-ordering it took long before we were served.

However as the evening progressed, it got quieter the staff had more time to interact with the guests. We had a chat with the cook, and liked the fact that she asked for proper feedback, and was very open to suggestions and ideas. She also informed us that they can make almost any Indonesian dish as long as you order it in advance.

Other Swiss restaurants should take a leaf our of Dapur's book, the level of service makes Dapur stand out of the crowd. We will definately come back & recommend it to our friends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dingdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service, highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Being true fans of the Indonesian cuisine, we were excited when we found out that finally an Indonesian restaurant had opened in Zurich. We ordered the "Reistafel", which is a wide selection of dishes. The food was amazing, the portions were exactly right and the friendly and engaged staff is a shining example to many other restaurants in Switzerland. The owner/chef of the restaurant took the time to make a chat with her guests, and we were pleasantly surprised to find out that other dishes which do not appear on the menu (e.g. gado-gado or lapis-legit), can always be prepared if you ask ahead and might even make it to the menu! In short: great food, excellent staff. We will certainly come again!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My first visit and not my last .

Excellent food and a nice menu providing choice but not overwhelming you with page after page of dishes.

The service, is wonderful they are more than happy to explain dishes or suggest choices.
Chef came to each table to check on the diners which is a nice touch.

Good value for money by Zurich standards with a nice friendly atmosphere .

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissheidi2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dapur Indonesia also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Dapur Indonesia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing