We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Dolder Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Dolder Grand
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

If you ever have a chance to stay here, do it! This really is a special place. Everything is perfect from the rooms, the food, the service to the views!

I was so impressed with this hotel in every way. Do check out the works of art everywhere. This place oozes richness and quality. Such high standards in every aspect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the valley and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and your pleasant feedback.

It makes us proud to hear, that we could meet all your expectations such as architecture, interior design, service quality and surrounding area.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    108
    39
    14
    15
See reviews for
132
398
56
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

On the positive side – The Dolder Grand is a luxurious hotel in a beautiful setting, with stunning views. Friendly staff provide a reasonable but not exceptional level of service. The hotel is mostly contemporary throughout, with the exception of the lobby which is blended with more traditional decoration. It is maintained to an exceptionally high standard – If you didn't know better you’d think it had just this week reopened (even the inside of the glass lift well in one of the new wings was spotless). That said, some issues were experienced during the stay...

Arrival & Room
Front Desk staff were unfamiliar on the benefits of their own hotel chain’s ‘Leaders Club’, initially advising incorrectly on a number of the benefits. The Double Room Deluxe was quite small, but well appointed with a balcony with a great view (see photos). Certainly one of the more technologically advanced rooms I’ve stayed – with an integrated Bang & Olufsen remote allowing control of most of your room from the bed.
The bed, whilst comfortable, was not in-fact a King mattress but two Single mattresses pushed together. The turndown service was average, e.g. no complementary water placed at the bedside, no weather report for the following day. Pillow preferences, advised prior, were not fulfilled.

Restaurant
Dining in the Garden Restaurant, the starter and dessert were good, however the main (Risotto) lacked flare and was very salty. Choice of wine by the glass was limited (including only one dessert wine on offer). In all, disappointing.
Of particular note, the hotel’s pet friendly policy is not merely limited to the public areas and guest rooms – it also extends to the restaurants. Whilst I have no issues with pet friendly hotels, I was disappointed to find the hotel management allow the pets in the dining rooms – and indeed had no issue in the owners occasionally passing the dog food (albeit discretely). Having discussed this post-dining with management, there was no apology and I was merely advised this is the policy – and if I wanted the Concierge to recommend an in-town restaurant which does not permit pets they could oblige?? Disappointing attitude.

Spa
Beautifully appointed – however the treatment was average. Whilst it has, apparently, won a European spa award I certainly do not believe it was on a par with some of Europe’s other leading hotels (such as Hotel Le Bristol in Paris).

Transport Tip, instead of opting for the Dolder Grand Mercedes S-Class transfer to the airport, ask the Concierge to order a taxi. In my case the taxi offering was an S-Class and a mere 80 CHF (100 CHF less).

Room Tip: Accommodation Tip, as the hotel is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World it’s worth considerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your recent stay at the Dolder Grand and for sharing your thoughts with us. We apologize, not having been able to meet all your wishes and expectations.

Your detailed feedback helps us to improve our service. We will emphasise on the given subjects in our trainings. It is certainly our goal to evoke positive reactions among our guests on the product and especially on our services.

We truly hope to welcome you back at the Dolder Grand and to be given the opportunity to demonstrate our dedication to detail and fulfilment of all your wishes and benefits as entitled through your Leaders Club membership.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Fabulous hotel, great service and a simply wonderful experience. You get what you pay for and we all know how expensive switzerland is, however you never feel ripped off as everything really works well and is of the highest quality.

Room Tip: Ask for the best they will make sure you get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackLondon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Jack London 35

What a pleasure to read you comment. Thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are happy that we could meet all your expectations such as hotel architecture and our service quality.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

We have treated ourselves for one night at the Dolder Grand. We arrived by car and were immediately greeted by very welcoming voituriers who took us to the reception where we were efficiently checked into our deluxe room in the spa wing. After explaining to us the quite complex remote, the receptionist asked whether we would like to have a coffee which I misunderstood as a welcome drink. It wasn't, we had to pay for it. I would also have expected for this kind of hotel to have Nespresso machines or similar in the room and possibly complimentary non-alcoholic minibar, but other than the water and some fruit, all items had a price ticket. The room as such was beautiful, huge windows, lovely king bed and plenty of space. the bathroom was sensational, beautiful stand alone tub, separate shower with numerous functions.
The spa is one of the highlights of the Dolder and rightly so, it is a fantastic design with great features and top service. Unfortunately, the high end restaurant was closed but the garden restaurant turned out to be a great alternative, their set dinner menu was even great value and the service was impeccable.
All in all, we had a great stay at the Dolder Grand but you also pay for it, unfortunately also for the details which are more annoying than if they were priced into the overall room charge (also parking at 35 CHF quite steep) which already is hefty, even for Zurich.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Mr Gemsstock
Thank you for staying at the Dolder Grand and for your positive remarks.

We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the Dolder Grand. We appreciate your useful comments regarding the “welcome drink” and the pricing. It’s our goal to continuously improve the quality, the service and also the variety of products. Therefore we need advises like yours.

We would love to see you again at the Dolder Grand.
Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in Dolder with my wife and we can only say it was the best hotel ever. From the breakfast through out the spa all the way to the evening party in the hotel, everything was fabulous. We love the big bed and the decor of the new rooms. Make sure to visit the outside Jacuzzi with exceptional view of Zurich.

Room Tip: Do not miss the spa, it is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing_DirectorTDR, Manager at The Dolder Grand, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Mr ZBratislava

We enjoyed reading your comment. Thank you very much for your feedback. It makes us proud to hear, that we could meet your expectations from the beginning to the end of your stay.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards

Thomas Schmid
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
650 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
739 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 139 in Zurich
713 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#8 of 139 in Zurich
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolder Grand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolder Grand

Property: The Dolder Grand
Address: Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zurich
#2 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#6 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 35,707 - ₹ 69,415
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dolder Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolder Grand is the perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation: 175 luxurious rooms and suites, exquisite cuisine, a spa covering 4,000 square metres, generous banqueting and seminar facilities and a remarkable art collection. The original "Curhaus" dating from 1899 presents itself as the luxury-class City Resort. The hotel's elevated location, between the pulsating life of the city and a refreshingly natural green zone, provides a magnificent view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. Due to annual maintenance work, partial areas of the Spa will be closed from 6th to 16th March 2017. Treatments are bookable at anytime. Winter break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 19 February to 6 March 2017. Summer break The Restaurant 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 23 July to 14 August 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dolder Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolder Grand Hotel
Hotel Dolder Grand
Dolder Grand Hotel
Dolder Grand zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing