We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay”
Review of Hotel Seehof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seehof
Ranked #62 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from the 11th to 14th May booked online, got 3 nights for the cost of 2 night, great deal,originally we requested a room at the back away from the constructions of the bank at the front,didn't realise that there wouldn't be any work on the site over the weekend, unfortunately we had some noise from the resturants that back onto the rear courtyard,so made opening the window not an option, oh, well, thats what happens.
The stay, in particular the front desk was extremely helpful with transport timetables, etc, and most spoke english as well.The room was clean, well maintained and comfortable.
Yes, Zurich is very expensive in comparison to elsewhere in Europe, but there are some good deals to be found.
For instance, around the corner from the hotel near the tram stop in Seefeldstrasse is a place called " Tidbits ", great food and great value, also if you go to any of the large Dept. Stores in the centre of Zurich, usually they have a food hall on the top floor, excellent food and value.
The tram system is great, a no: 4 or no: 11 tram from the stop in Seefeldstrasse will take you to the Train Station in 10 mins or to Bahnofstrasse the main shopping precint.
Overall we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin M, Manager at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Bruce and Joane

Thank you very much for your excellent comment on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Sometimes the guests can be a little bit loud on our terrace, but we very much appreciate to offer a garden to our clients, therefore they can enjoy the shade in the summertime. We have noted on your file that you request a room facing the front during summertime for your next stay.

We were also very pleased that you were delighted about our Front Office staff and the maintenance of our rooms.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Zurich!

Best regards

Your Seehof-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

I booked this hotel through Expedia and was delighted. It is well located, right next the the old town (although a 20 minute walk from the train station). The staff at the reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The included breakfast was delicious, with a lot of variety and again a friendly staff. Rooms are small and very basic, but clean, with everything I needed. There is free wi-fi access, although recepetion was a bit patchy in the first room I stayed in. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Zurich is very expensive. I needed a room for a night, in a quiet and safe location, near the city center, and affordable. I booked a single at Seehof Hotel at the Internet rate of CHF 180.-/night and requested a quiet room where I could open the window. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient, immediately upgraded me to a double, facing the courtyard. The room and bathroom were small but did not lack anything: soap, shower gel, shampoo, Kleenex box, stuff to clean your shoes, hairblower, socket to pluck in razor or other electric appliances, even a pair of bathroom slippers. There is no A/C in the room but you can open the window. Mattress was good. Small and outdated TV in a corner opposite the bed (should be replaced with bigger flatscreen). It was spotlessly clean and very quiet since the hotel is located behind the Opera (safe area). Breakfast buffet was plentiful, green tea was excellent, service very pleasant and efficient. I also had dinner there. While the restaurant is small and decoration a bit "cold", food was Japanese-inspired (excellent seaweed salad and very good big bowl of soup with veggies, Shiitake and rice-noodles). Glass of nice Montepulciano d'Abbruzzo was free of charge (as was mineral water in the minibar). I especially appreciated that they cooked a vegetarian meal on my simple request, without making a fuss about it. Service was efficient and very friendly. The place has everything a business traveller requires. It's a 3* so don't expect 5* decoration, room size and ambiance. I believe it's excellent value for money and shall return during my next trip to ZH.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed one night at Seehof hotel as we had to be in Zurich for a concert. It is a clean and modern hotel with friendly staff, speaking good English. The hotel itself is very centrally located and well connected to the station and other parts of town with public transport. We especially appreciate the fact that it was on a side street and therefore rather quiet. The room was not big (typical size for a city hotel) but clean. It had all basic facilities (but not more). The hotel served its purpose for us adequately with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eserdaroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We travelled to Zurich as part of a European tour with our 2 children, aged 11 and 13. We were very happy with the family room we booked. It wasn't anything fancy, but it was clean, modern, and big enough for the 4 of us. We also appreciated having this option, as booking 2 rooms would have cost literally twice as much!
I was also very happy with Denise, the receptionist. When I'd booked the room, it was advertised as a "triple" so I requested an extra bed. She wrote to say that it was in fact a "quadruple" (fold-out sofa for the kids), so we wouldn't need the extra bed (thus saving us $). I don't know if this error is one of the hotel's or of the booking site (I think I used Booking.com for it), but I was pleased that she'd picked up on it.
Denise was also great in making us feel welcome and helping us with whatever we needed (e.g. maps and brochures, booking us tour tickets, providing day tram passes, etc.).
We were also very happy with the location. There are lots of shops and restaurants right around the corner and as has already been mentioned, Lake Zurich is also close by.
We were happy to have parking provided as well, even if it was for a fee (which is standard at most hotels).
Finally, if you're expecting a 5-star hotel, you'll be disappointed because it's not. But it is a very nice, affordable hotel in a good location (same location as 4-5 star hotels, incidentally) with very good service. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehren, Reception at Hotel Seehof, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear guest!

We thank you very much for your good comment on tripadvisor! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and will let Denise know that you liked her service! If would be a pleasure to welcoming you back another time. Best regards your Seehof-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Rossli
#42 of 137 in Zurich
324 reviews
Seefeld
Hotel Seegarten
Hotel Seegarten
#65 of 137 in Zurich
228 reviews
Hotel Opera Zurich
#31 of 137 in Zurich
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Hotel NI-MO
Hotel NI-MO
#54 of 137 in Zurich
137 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#39 of 137 in Zurich
379 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof

Address: Seehofstrasse 11 | 8008 Zurich, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 12,294 - ₹ 19,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seehof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prime example of slick modernity, Hotel Seehof is only a few minutes' walk from Zurich's historical old town, the famous Bahnhofstrasse and the eye-popping Opera. Visitors are instantly put at ease by the composed atmosphere of simple elegance and warm functionality. The 20 guestrooms are elegantly thought-through and aim to provide guests with a cool, clear environment in which they can fully unwind. Both leisure and business travellers feel perfectly at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Seehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing