We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“greatest windows!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster)

Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 88.43*
and up
Electric Tuk Tuk Scavenger Hunt in Zurich
Ranked #13 of 207 things to do in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This prominent 13th-century Gothic cathedral is perhaps best known for one of its more recent additions, stained-glass windows designed by Marc Chagall in the 1970s.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“greatest windows!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

every time i visit the city a go to see Marc Chagals Windows i am never tired of them.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hilda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    441
    144
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Must See in Zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have visited Zurich many times on business and each time I carve out time to go this church to see the Marc Chagall windows. I am a tree hugger but the artistry of these windows is amazing. You will have a very difficult time deciding which window color theme is your favorite. Don't rush your visit, sit and admire each window in turn and let their play of color and shape take you to different place.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank djhkswis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zurich - fraumunster church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Free entry. Lovely lakeside location. Church has pretty tower.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
190 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice, but the kitsch factor detracts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

A pleasant enough church architecturally, but much detracted from by the inexplicable decision to use Marc Chagall (as the New York Times describes him, a "much-mocked promulgator of ethnic kitsch") as the chief church-window artist. Ghastly. Like being force-fed with cream donuts while an upside down violin player plays taunting ear-worms at you. One window in the north transept by Giacometti goes some way towards artistic redemption; be sure to make your way to the Kunsthaus to see more of Giacometti's work!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brühl, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take time to stop in, our kids loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stopped in the Fraumunster while visiting the old town. It is worth stopping in, and taking a moment to study the stained glass. We brought our two children in (ages 5 and 8) who loved it. They have visited a lot of churches and cathedrals in Europe. We sat with them and talked quietly about the art work, how stain glass is made but also how the stories are told through the mosaics. These pieces stand apart from the normal stain glass seen in many churches, as they are monochromatic (shades of red, blue, green, yellow etc) and done in vivid bright colors, with a sunny day the church was bright and colorful on the inside. The kids sat and stared at each one for some time talking with us about the things they saw and the stories that they could find.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster) also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Church of Our Lady (Fraumunster)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing