We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant in the heart of Zurich”

Restaurant Bar Helvetia
Ranked #60 of 2,190 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 24 - US$ 59
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Swiss, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Hotel Restaurant Helvetia - the name says it all! Nestled in the heart of Zurich, in one of the most elegant buildings in the city centre, our hotel offers its guests authentic Swiss-style hospitality. Our restaurant, awarded 14 points by the Gault-Millau gourmet guide, uses ingredients fresh from the market to delight its guests with authentic Swiss cuisine with a touch of the Mediterranean. You will love our idyllic summer terrace and our legendary Zurich bar. The boutique hotel with its 14 individually furnished rooms and two luxury business apartments is a real jewel among the city's hotels.
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Great service, food and location! The restaurant has a cozy modern style and we really like to spend our time there with our clients for nice cup of tea, lunch and dinner. Recommended to both local people and tourists. The terrace on the roof top is also a BIG plus. We always have a good time there!

Date of visit: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank mizuki_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetoFriedli, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Bar Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear mizuki_zurich

Thank you very much for your review and would be happy to welcome you soon again at the Helvetia.

Best

Reto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

Great riverside setting, fantastic restaurant and bar and elegant rooms, not the quietest street corner, but fantastic if you are visiting museums or going out in Zurich and excellent breakfast/brunch the next day.

Date of visit: January 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetoFriedli, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Bar Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Andrew B
Thank you very much for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again at the Helvetia.

Kind regards

Reto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent experience for a dinner on a warm evening in Zurich. Food was excellent (kalbschnitzel and angus beef), staff very nice explaining it would take about 25 minutes to get our meal which was very accurate. Outside terrace quiet along the Sihl was very enjoyable.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank philippebO8808IR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetoFriedli, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Bar Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Philippe B

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at the Helvetia.

Kind regards

Reto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We ordered Angus Filet. Food was ok , nothing to complain about the quality but eventually about the quantity.(see under)
small details regarding the bread, you are rationned and you need to request some more.
We requested an extra portion of potatoes and we were charged chf 9
Value for money not exceptionnal.

Date of visit: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Zurichois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetoFriedli, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Bar Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Zurichois

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. Concerning the bread we have decided to serve it in small portions as we had a lot of food waste in the past. Nevertheless our guests are most welcome to enjoy as much as bread as they wish. Furthermore you mentioned that an additional portion of potatoes was charged with CHF 9.-. Our guest have always the opportunity to re-order side dishes such as potatoes and vegetables and we do not charge them on top. Might it be that you have been at an other restaurant? If not I do apologize for the inconvenience and we would appreciate if we could welcome you an other time at the Helvetia.
Kind regards

Reto Friedli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This restaurant and bar offer something hard to find in Zürich: easy-going but chic and elegant dining at a price that means you can come back again and again. Pre-theatre or cinema dining and cocktails is our usual slot, and Helvetia delivers.

Date of visit: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Mlle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetoFriedli, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Bar Helvetia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Mile2013

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at the Helvetia.

Kind regards

Reto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Bar Helvetia also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Bar Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing