We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Ranked #52 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Location and Charm”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

As a frequent visitor to Zurich I want a great room, good location and a relaxed atmosphere for a reasonable price. Seems simple but it's really not. Townhouse has these qualities and more.

First booking. Try contacting the hotel directly for a good rate. Give them a chance to beat the booking sites as they did in our case. They will usually give you an upgrade too. Our room was on the reception floor and was quiet and private. Room 52 has a washstand in the room and a shower and toilet in the bath which turns into an efficient use of space. The bed was comfy.

Reception is open from 7:00 am to 11:00pm with slightly shorter hours on the weekends. The reception area is actually a nicely outfitted living room with a couch and a couple of chairs, newspapers and around the corner a free internet computer and a sink and fridge area. They put out an assortment of breads and food along with drinks and wine. Just write down what you use and it will be added to your bill.

Using the hot water kettle we made coffee in the morning using VIA from Starbucks that we brought with us. Stocker Zurich, a famous Zurich bakery has a shop in the Zurich HB which was much better than what they had available. We brought it back to the living room and talked with other guests as we ate.

We really enjoyed our two stays and look forward to staying here on our next trip. The wall coverings appear garish in the site's pictures but are just accent walls and not too much. You can access the reception after it closes by using your room key to open the door. You can set up wireless access in your room for CHF 10 if you need to work. It's a well thought out system just like you would expect from the Swiss.

Room Tip: Calling the hotel directly was the suggestion from the front desk.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hammersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    174
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
168
34
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We keep going back to this great hotel in such a fab location.

Lovely staff, and gorgeous rooms - a real treat!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristol9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We needed a place close to the station for a quick in and out visit to Zurich and somewhere convenient to town. This was great value (for Switzerland) at CHF 175, stylish, with friendly service.

If it took more than three minutes to walk from the station, it was only because we had to look both ways when crossing the road!

Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Modern, stylish hotel that is situated in the heart of Zurich. Good value for a great location. In the bath they offer "Molton Brown" beauty treatment. Can advise for a couple.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlesiaDenisova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We only needed one night in Zurich and as usual Tripadvisor did not disappoint. Ranked #2 in Zurich it really deserves it. The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. The room was spacious (by European inner city standards) and the bed a welcoming soft cloud after a 24hour flight. The bathroom was modern and well appointed with Molten Brown toiletries. Perhaps the bathtowels could have been a bit larger but if that is the only -ve observation I'm probably being picky. The location is perfect for access to the train but not in the sort of down market area you often find next to major stations. All in all a great little hotel. I would stay again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: We we told our "courtyard" room was quiet - as it was, but seemed to face the street so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
925 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#49 of 139 in Zurich
519 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 139 in Zurich
289 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Boutique Hotel

Property: Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Address: Schuetzengasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,781 - ₹ 18,766
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse is a small boutique hotel with 23 rooms and 2 spacious junior suites. It is located in the very heart of Zurich, a block away from the main train station where direct services take you to Zurich airport in less than 15 minutes. Upon arrival, you will already notice the difference. Check-in takes place in our living room on the 5th floor. This is also the place where you can relax in comfortable couches, browse through the latest magazines, or help yourself to a drink from our honesty bar. The refrigerator is stocked with healthy snacks and you can make yourself a tasty Italian espresso at the coffee machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Townhouse Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing