We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant evening”

Carlton Restaurants & Bar
Ranked #25 of 2,195 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 79
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Our dinner was a mixture of business/pleasure and the Carlton was the perfect venue. We were very impressed by the extensive wine list. Service was quite good, but the waiter had a little trouble translating the daily menu items into English. We loved the atmosphere, choosing to dine inside to evade the copious smoke from diners' cigarettes in the outside dining areas. Our food was expertly prepared.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

If something is hard to be found in Zurich it’s a good value for money. This restaurant does!
The interior is rather stylish, the tables are not too close to each other and the service is superior. However, the best thing is the menu: not too many dishes but each and every of outstanding quality.
Expect something around CHF 60-70 per person for a decent lunch/dinner.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

The Afternoon Tea at Carlton was delightful.
What a fun, elegant experience in a gorgeous Restaurant!
We enjoyed everything. The tea was great! The scones were heavenly. The small sandwiches and desserts provided a range of flavors, each paired wonderfully with the tea. We were about 40 people and the service was very attentive!
It's fun to dress up and enjoy some time with your friends and family! We highly recommend it!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodandFriends_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

good place do have a casual dinner or drinks with friends while you are in the center of the city.. gets a bit loud at times

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank tammo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Thus establishment oozes class and sophistication with prices to match. Four of us enjoyed the ambience of the Art Deco dining room. The wait staff were attentive but a little lacking sense of humour, except for the waiter who came from Austria!
We declined entrees but we were given a starter each from the kitchen as well as really good bread with options of butter, oil and a cottage cheese with pomegranate. Our mains included beef Wellington, duck breast and ravioli. Each was voted a winner. Not large serves, but sufficient.
We decided to return to the 70s and go for crepe Suzette, prepared at the table, for desert. A reminder of younger days.
The wine list is lengthy and contains selectors from many areas, mainly however France and Italy. We selected a nice Vino Nobile from Montepulciano.
This is a great place for a splurge if you are visiting Zurich. The bill was close to CHF 385.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Johns1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carlton Restaurants & Bar also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Carlton Restaurants & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing