We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable Afternoon”

Hummer & Austernbar Zurich
Ranked #22 of 2,191 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Uber 75 Jahre ist es her, dass Ernst Manz im "Zunftsali" des Hotel St. Gotthard die Hummerbar ins Leben gerufen und damit eine perfekte Buhne fur prominente Leute wie Placido Domingo, Jose Carreras, Arnold Schwarzenegger und Gunther Sachs geschaffen hat. Die Hummer & Austernbar ist eines der fuhrenden Restaurants an der Bahnhofstrasse Zurich und eine sehr bekannte und beliebte Institution in kulinarischen Kreisen. Die Hummerbar wurde 1935 eroffnet und ist sehr traditionell und doch innovativ in der Zubereitung von Hummern, Austern und Meeresfruchten aller Art. Bis heute hat das Gourmet Restaurant in Zurich die Originaldekoration bewahrt. Fotos von beruhmten Filmstars und Politikern, welche bereits Gaste waren, hangen an den Wanden. Die Hummerbar bietet klassische franzosische Gourmet Kuche an, kombiniert mit einem mediterranen Akzent. Sie konnen in einem eleganten Ambiente frische Hummer oder Austern geniessen und werden stets mit abwechslungsreichen und innovativen Gerichten uberrascht.
Reviewed 3 August 2018

My wife and me had the great pleasure to visit Hummer & Austernbar Zürich on a hot summer afternoon. We have been the only guests, and enjoied this peace so much. The food (hummer with spagetti) and wine (Cabernet Sauvignon) was excellent. Especially we like to thank Mr. Mann, that payed a lot attention to us. We will certainly come back one day!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelgermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018


Dear michaelgermann

Thank you very much for visiting the Gourmet restaurant oft he Hotel St. Gotthard, known for seafood and fish since 1935. We are very pleased to know that you liked the traditional ambiance, the service and the food. With pleasure we forward your motivating words to our kitchen and service staff, specially to our chef de rang, Mr. Singh Mann.

Your recommendation to other gourmets is highly apreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi & Lobster- & Oysterbar team
General Manager, Hotel St. Gotthard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Hummer and Austerbar specialize in two things, lobster and oysters so you better choose one or both. We had a great dinner, my wife started with the lobster bisque and I the Oysters. Both starters were fantastic. For our mains, I had the surf and turf (a fillet and half lobster) my wife the lobster risotto. Both were excellent. I think another excellent choice would be the full lobster. It is quite a site.

The restaurant is small, romantic and very upscale. This is probably one of the pricier meals I’ve ever had but it was well worth it. If your in Zürich and near the main Zürich HB station, I highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank andezz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear andezz99

Thank you very much for visiting the Gourmet Restaurant of the Hotel St. Gotthard. We are very glad that you liked the ambiance of the restaurant, the service, the food and the central location. With pleasure we forward your motivating words to our kitchen & service staff. Your recommendation to other travelers is highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi & Lobster- & Oysterbar team
General Manager, Hotel St. Gotthard

Antwort von Herrn Santschi folgt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

HR. Singh Mann you are very profesional but very hansome as wellIt was a grate dinner . I ma sure that you will see me as well as my friends in your fantastic place very soon. Thank you

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Iza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Iza

Thank you very much for your visit in the Gourmet restaurant of the hotel St. Gotthard and having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked the food and the service. With pleasure we forward your motivating words to our staff, specially to the waiter Singh Mann.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Had a fantastic dinner, great atmosphere, good old songs as background music, and amazing food. (hummer)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank office788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear office788

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback about the Gourmet Restaurant of the hotel St. Gotthard. We are very glad that you liked the food and the service. We are known for fresh fish and seafood but offer also meat and vegetarian dishes. Our clients can also enjoy a drink at the bar. We are open during summer with a comfortable air conditioned ambiance.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Zurich.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

This hidden gem is a must in Zurich. Its a warm and intimate environment. The food is outstanding and the service even better. We have never experienced a higher level of service in Switzerland. Singh Mann, our waiter, was amazing!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mcateery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hummer & Austernbar Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear mcateery

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked the food and the service. With pleasure we forward your motivating words to our staff, specially to the waiter Singh Mann.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Zurich.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hummer & Austernbar Zurich also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Hummer & Austernbar Zurich? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing