We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant in a great classic Zurich hotel”

Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #8 of 2,180 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 95
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Swiss, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The ‘Differente’ restaurant and bar uses only high-quality, seasonal and local produce for its dishes. We pride ourselves on our Mediterranean dishes and Swiss specialities. Our unique tartare creations are also very popular. We take pleasure in providing perfect service. This is one of our top priorities. Food that is flambéed, filleted and carved at the table will make your meal a memorable occasion. The ‘Differente’ restaurant invites you to lunch or dinner in a stylish and friendly ambience. Our menus range from classic Mediterranean dishes to Swiss specialities and also include our renowned and popular tartare creations. Our seasonal specialities leave nothing to be desired. We have refined vegetarian dishes on the menu too. Hot meals are also served in the afternoon and evening until 23.00.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

I tried the "Differente" many times in the last 6 weeks and i can tell: Top Quality - top service - perhaps the staff behaves a be a bit "naughty" sometimes, but these people are on the right track. Tasty and high quality food - you do not wait too long: for either your seat or your food. Not the cheapest, but worth every "Rappen". All dishes taste great, the "chief" of the kitchen knows how to pleasure restaurant guests.
This place is one of my strongest recommendations for Zurich City - make sure you get a seat! - usually pretty much booked out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Fat_Frankfurter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to see that we managed to convince you of our product. Regards to your feedback about the staff's "naughtyness" I would want to have more specific information. All our staff is well trained and know usually how to behave, there is no room for such behaviour - I do want to appologize for the above mentioned and please rest ensured that we will absolutely not accept this.
Please feel free to contact me directly in order to provide more information (goll@hotel-krone.ch). Thank you very much for your effort.

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedircetor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Visited during “TATARWOCHEN” (Tatar Week) which goes from May through mid July. They have 14 different variations including Veal not Wheel. It took a few minutes to sort that one out with the language barrier (: Salmon, Buffalo, Beef, Oriental (which is a vegetarian Tatar) among others. If you can’t decide on just one, there is a sample plate with 6 preselected tartars that gives a nice variety to taste.

The Buffalo Mozzarella appetizer is delicious! And definitely save room for one or several of their dessert options. The white coffee mousse is silky smooth with a mild sweet cream flavor.

The staff is extremely attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is elegant but it feels very relaxed. It is was a great find to enjoy a nice dinner whether with colleagues or on a date. There is seating outside to enjoy the weather in nice days.

Thank Bryman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

What a wonderful feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to wow you with our Tartar menu! I am pleased to inform you that we do offer Tartar throughout the year however with a smaller selection.

Please come by again - there is much more on the menu to discover.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

When to this restaurant for dinner with 11 people. Restaurant is his and cosy and clean. The staff could be nicer and more helpful.

It took long time to get the food. Lot off us order tartar. I like strong/hot taste, but we order medium stron/hot tartar. it vas very hot. I don't think a will eat tartar again. 4 peaople order another food, they think it was very good . So then I think the kitchen is a good kitchen.

I think a can go back to the restaurant another time. Just for check the service and eat another plate instead of tartar.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

First and foremost we would like to thank you for the time you have dedicated to rate us here on Trripadvisor. Regards to your comments I would like to highlight that it is the customers choice to choose the spice level.

I am not too sure what excactly went wrong with your order, maybe you just don't like Tartar in generell? I am sorry to hear that we were not able to convince you of our customer service, this is certainly not up to our standard and please rest assured that we will look into the mentioned matter.

We would be happy to welcome you again in order to convince you that we can provide a much better service than you experienced.

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We chose this restaurant based on positive TripAdvisor reviews, and it did not disappoint. The service was good, and the food was amazing. Prices were reasonable. We called ahead and made a reservation to ensure we got a table. I am glad we did as all tables (except our reserved table) were full when we arrived.

Thank MCW-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

What a wonderful feedback here on Tripadvisor, we are more than pleased to see that we convinced you of our product. We would be happy to welcome you again and wish you in the meantime all the very best.

Kind regards

Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Definitely recommend this restaurant!!! Good service and very delicious food. A must go to place in Zurich.

Thank María E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
differente, Manager at Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear guest

"Greetings from differente"

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other foodlovers here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that we managed to convince you of our product and services.
A MUST GO Place sounds wonderful, thank you so much for this lovely compliment!

We do hope to see you soon again and wish you in the meantime all the very best.

Kind regards
Sarah Goll, Vicedirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing