We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kafischnaps
Nearby Hotels
US$ 434
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Hirschen(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Zurich Airport Messe(Opfikon)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 421
US$ 265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 438
US$ 327
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 111
US$ 104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Glaernischhof(Zurich)
US$ 269
US$ 248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Storchen Zurich(Zurich)
US$ 617
US$ 490
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
US$ 159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baur au Lac(Zurich)
US$ 810
US$ 693
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
5
13
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
13
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutcher shopshared bathroomsingle roomhauptbahnhofcitytram
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We were looking for a basic, inexpensive place for a quick one-night stay in Zurich, and this suited us very well. It was a bit of a hike from the train station - maybe 15 or 20 minutes - but that allowed us to see a little more of the city. The room was small but attractively decorated, clean, and very comfortable. We arrived late after a long, long flight and with a pile of jet lag, and they were kind and got us into our room quickly and warmly. We were facing the street and got some noise, but not too much. Shared bathroom was large and well equipped. Breakfast not included, but the cafe below serves a WONDERFUL breakfast! I'd go back just for the breakfast!

Room Tip: The room facing the street gets some street noise, but this part of Zurich apparently quiets down early in the evening.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alpwalker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Nice single room, average bed and blankets, clean, well-painted, big windows and fresh air. Shared bathroom was always clean, I didn't have trouble with waiting, though I don't think the place was full. The only reason I give this place 4-stars instead of 5 is because the shower in the bathroom was a little janky -- the valve was loose and shaky, so you would either get water too hot or too cold, it was hard to adjust. Super nice to have quality breakfast and cafe downstairs. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Easy access to public transportation. And the price was unbeatable. On a weekend you might hear noise from the bar below; I had to use earplugs one or two nights to fall asleep, though after the close its quiet as a mouse.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dorian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Delicious and substantial breakfast for our travels. There are three "breakfast plate" options and this photo is the middle size. I ordered the larger size Bircher muesli which was a good portion. Service was very friendly and attentive.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank loumlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Kafischnaps provided clean rooms, and cosy rooms. That part was good.
However, the insulation between our room and the toilet as well as the other rooms was rather terrible. We could literally hear how many draws were made from the toilet roll. Also how other guests would talk and walk between rooms, bathroom and toilet. Additionally 5 bedrooms shared the same shower and toilet. It got too busy in the morning. It is a pity, because with better insulation and one extra bathroom this place would have been much better.

Room Tip: The rooms appear similar
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This is a great little place to stay in Zürich. Maybe the owner wants to keep it a secret. It is affordable, tucked away in a residential area, but still close enough to the main train station.
We were very heartily welcomed at about 09:00 pm by the man behind the bar, who was so enthusiastic, that though we were tired of swimming in the Limmat and lazying in the sun, we got a boost of energy.
We rented the Williams room, which was fine, but if you have trouble with traffic noises, better book one of the other rooms. The room is lovely and has a beautiful wooden floor, good beds, blankets and head pillows. Everything was clean and neat, not a spec of dust. Bathroom and WC were very clean (it is shared with the other rooms). Again everywhere fresh white, clean and soft towels.

We drunk something in the café on the ground floor, which has a great vibe. It is a bit of a hipster place at night (read: guys with knots in their hair), but great to sit and watch people stop by.
Breakfast is not included in the price, but I would really advise you to eat breakfast here in the morning. The public is very diverse during the morning, fathers having their father day, constructions workers eating their gipfeli and having their coffee, old ladies having contact with the younger crowd and friends meeting up.
We had the Kafi riche breakfast, which consisted of 3 slices of bread and one slice of special bread, that is a bit sweet; marmelade, different cheeses, and charcuterie; salmon; a cooked egg; butter; birgermuesli; nuts; some grapes and coffee/tea. It was more than we could muster and that is saying something.

In short this is a great place and I would recommend this to anybody going to Zürich. Go there and enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room on the back of Kafischnaps has the least traffic noise, called Quitte.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MSKAkkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews