We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
8
14
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
14
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butcher shop shared bathroom single room hauptbahnhof city tram
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Delicious and substantial breakfast for our travels. There are three "breakfast plate" options and this photo is the middle size. I ordered the larger size Bircher muesli which was a good portion. Service was very friendly and attentive.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank loumlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Kafischnaps provided clean rooms, and cosy rooms. That part was good.
However, the insulation between our room and the toilet as well as the other rooms was rather terrible. We could literally hear how many draws were made from the toilet roll. Also how other guests would talk and walk between rooms, bathroom and toilet. Additionally 5 bedrooms shared the same shower and toilet. It got too busy in the morning. It is a pity, because with better insulation and one extra bathroom this place would have been much better.

Room Tip: The rooms appear similar
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This is a great little place to stay in Zürich. Maybe the owner wants to keep it a secret. It is affordable, tucked away in a residential area, but still close enough to the main train station.
We were very heartily welcomed at about 09:00 pm by the man behind the bar, who was so enthusiastic, that though we were tired of swimming in the Limmat and lazying in the sun, we got a boost of energy.
We rented the Williams room, which was fine, but if you have trouble with traffic noises, better book one of the other rooms. The room is lovely and has a beautiful wooden floor, good beds, blankets and head pillows. Everything was clean and neat, not a spec of dust. Bathroom and WC were very clean (it is shared with the other rooms). Again everywhere fresh white, clean and soft towels.

We drunk something in the café on the ground floor, which has a great vibe. It is a bit of a hipster place at night (read: guys with knots in their hair), but great to sit and watch people stop by.
Breakfast is not included in the price, but I would really advise you to eat breakfast here in the morning. The public is very diverse during the morning, fathers having their father day, constructions workers eating their gipfeli and having their coffee, old ladies having contact with the younger crowd and friends meeting up.
We had the Kafi riche breakfast, which consisted of 3 slices of bread and one slice of special bread, that is a bit sweet; marmelade, different cheeses, and charcuterie; salmon; a cooked egg; butter; birgermuesli; nuts; some grapes and coffee/tea. It was more than we could muster and that is saying something.

In short this is a great place and I would recommend this to anybody going to Zürich. Go there and enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room on the back of Kafischnaps has the least traffic noise, called Quitte.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MSKAkkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First of all, people complaining about the noise coming from the restaurant are kinda funny: you should know that if you are staying in a room over a pub, you should expect some noise. Although, it really wasn't that bad. The place is super charming and comfy. They clean the whole place every morning. You get a nice bathroom with shower + bath to yourself (wich is pretty nice if you're coming from hostels!). Good windows so you don't hear the noise coming from the street. And the restaurant downstairs is actually very cool. The location isn't ideal (30 min walk from the city center) but there is a bunch of bus/trams that you can take. We took the bus 32 right in front to go hiking the Uetliberg and we were there in 20 minutes. They also have parking (15chf/day), but it's pretty frustrating to get you car in it (one ways, can't turn left, etc... so if you don't know the area it can be a pain). This city can be really confusing by car. But I would probably go back there if I return to Zürich.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great little place. It's in a quiet residential area, a few minutes from the main train station and easily accessible from several tram routes. Very clean (I checked everywhere) and cute room. The noise from the pub wasn't too bad, and I travel with ear plugs regardless. The staff/owners are very friendlyand helped me with a few things to do in the area and seeking out vegetarian restaurants. I would definitely stay here again. The breakfasts in the pub/coffee shop downstairs are great!

Room Tip: choose from the photos online ...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadaleineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews