We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay high prices for the location, that's it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arlette Beim Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #77 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You pay high prices for the location, that's it!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The location of this hotel is few minutes walking from Zürich Main station, the Old Town, and Bahnhofstrasse, which is perfect but that's about it. The hotel is tiny, dated, small rooms, cleanliness is ok, amenities basic, breakfast you get croissants, roll, jam, packed spread cheese, and coffee. Don't expect much, it's literally a place to shower & sleep.
And for CHF 175 per night pretty steep.
To enjoy a bit more I would suggest a three star hotel that offers a bit more comfort and breakfast spread. The Old Town has quiet a few of little hotels which seemed better than this one.
I don't think we'll stay here again, rather save a bit more and stay in a nicer hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank will_travel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    84
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
70
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penn Yan, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were in the mountains, but had a flight out of Zurich. The Arlette is so close to the Zurich train station, 5 minute walk, that we stuffed our bigger bags in the lockers, took what we needed to Arlette, slept great, had a nice continental breakfast, and back to the train station for a very quick train ride to the airport. The hotel is clean, and comfortable, with helpful desk clerks, a computer and printer for boarding passes if you travel without your laptop, flat screen TV. This hotel has the tiniest little elevator, so it was a good thing we didn't have our bigger bags. The dining room at breakfast was spacious and service was very good. If you want more than a continental breakfast, it is available for a modest price. We were on the 5th floor which I guess is really the 6th floor by American standards. Anyway, we had the window open and it was quiet enough.

Room Tip: I understand there are larger rooms available, but we were satisfied with the size of ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindajackson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

2 most important things to me: Good shower head with strong flow and comfortable bed that is big enough for 2 adults to sleep in. This hotel had both (we did the twin beds pushed together). Yes, its a little outdated in decor, but who cares? You're there to explore the city, not admire the decor of your hotel room, right? It was a good price for Zurich and the location couldn't be better--very close to main train station and main bus depot. It was quiet and the desk was very helpful and friendly. The woman in charge of the breakfast was also extremely nice and helpful and would make up a nice tray for me to take coffee back to our room while we got dressed. Also very nice: refrigerator and A/C.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShimaWerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed here for one night in a single room. It's expensive for what you get, but this is Zurich and it's a pricey city. The Hotel Arlette Beim is a hop, skip and jump across a bridge and up a short flight of steps from the station (walk out the main entrance of the station, and cross the bridge on your left. Walk across the small piazza/square, up the steps and through the arch under a building to the next street. The Hotel Arlette Beim is just across the road on your left). It's about 5 min walk at most, so the location is perfect if you're arriving or leaving by train. The train between the airport and the station is very frequent and quick, so you can get from the hotel to the airport in around 30 mins by affordable public transport.

It's a good base for sightseeing. The old town, with lots of little shops, is less than five minutes walk away, just down the road on the same side of the lake. Cross the river running to the lake and you'll be in the central shopping and business area in under 10 minutes walk. Everything is close and compact in Zurich, so this is a good spot to stay if you're wanting to go sightseeing. It's around 15 minutes walk to catch ferries for sightseeing on the lake, and tour coaches also leave from very close by.

I found the hotel staff to be helpful (especially friendly Albert, the charming octogenarian who works some nights). It's an old-style European hotel, with a little lift. The staff escort you to your room and point out how everything works.

The rooms are small and have seen better days (they were probably last renovated in the 1960s-1970s, when they would have been fashionable). They have a minibar, safe, cupboard, TV, en suite, and clock radio system in a compact space. Everything in my room functioned as it should. The bed was OK, not bad, not great.

Internet access was available, but it was so expensive I decided against using it.

Breakfast was included. On offer was a variety of rolls/pastries, plus orange juice, hot chocolate, tea, coffee, and various jams and spreads. It's the typical Continental breakfast that you expect to find included in old-style European hotels of this sort, and it's adequate to start the day. One doesn't have to go far to find alternative places to eat (there's a supermarket in the arcade below the station, and various patisseries in the station and arcade, not to mention plenty of eating places in the old town).

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for a short stay. It could be too pokey if you were staying more than a night or two. It's nothing to write home about, but if you're going to spend most of your time out exploring anyway, it's likely to be all you need for a short city-break.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atheoretical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 139 in Zurich
991 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#90 of 139 in Zurich
293 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlette Beim Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlette Beim Hauptbahnhof

Property: Hotel Arlette Beim Hauptbahnhof
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 26, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,771 - ₹ 18,123
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Arlette Beim Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing