We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service”
Review of Hotel Splendid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I booked this hotel for my parents as I couldn't find anything in Geneva at the last minute. (The entire city was booked-out for the Geneva Auto Show). Had initially booked them in Lausanne, but changed it to Montreux only because of this hotel. It cost just as much as the one in Lausanne, had much better reviews, and a far superior location. And it was just an additional 10-min train ride from Lausanne.

About the hotel: (This, from what my parents told me after their stay for 4N and 5D)

Excellent staff. The owner and the manager were friendly and courteous, in person and on e-mail. Full marks.

Great location. Very close to Montreux station. Barely 200 meters, i.e. a 5 min walk. Makes for a great place to base your trip out of, since Montreux connects well with nearly all Swiss destinations. Right on the edge of Lake Geneva. Well-located if you like long walks along the lake. The 4th floor room overlooked the lake. (And they have an elevator, so the fourth floor was not a problem). Made for a lovely stay.

Room. Not too large, but certainly very comfortable and more than adequate for two people. I am told the bathrooms are a bit of a squeeze. Extremely compact, but clean and functional.

Overall: Very good experience. Montreux itself is a very good place to be in. Nice, scenic, with quite a few day-journeys you can do. In town, this hotel is definitely a good place to stay and one that won't pinch your pocket.

Room Tip: You might stay on the higher floors if you want to avoid the mild drone of traffic during the day. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salil_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent in Montreux one night and we chose to stay at the hotel Splendid after having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. Honestly, all absolutely deserved! Great location and big comfortable room. Amazing lake view from the window, sunset included. The breakfast hall was under renovation and it was served in the bar at ground floor directly at the table. No parking was available right in the hotel, but the underground parking of the Market is 100 m away and not particularly expensive compared to other Swiss "deluxe" parking (about CHF per day). The hotel location is great, both for visiting the centre and the park on the lake. Overall, one of the best 3-star hotels we've ever visited, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed in Hotel Splendid for 3 nights. The hotel's location is great, approximately 5 minutes from the train station. Guests heading there for the first time should take note of the need to take the flight of stairs towards the main street. The gentlemen at the reception was helpful and provided me with advice whether it's on sightseeing or meals. However, the bathroom was slightly small even for a person of a small build. Overall, it is 1 good hotel to stay with great location to sightsee.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louiskoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The views from your balcony of the lake and mountains beyond are unbelievable. Very romantic setting. The staff and owners are very attentive and no request was denied. They bendover backwards to treat their customers like family. A definite keeper, will return to this hotel on our next visit. The owner even gave us a ride to a recommended restaurant in his personal vehicle after learning my wife had strained her knee.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wanderlust_FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Last Saturday night, on our way through to Megeve, we decided we'd break the trip to spend a night in Montreux, a place neither of us had been. Montreux is the home of the amazing Jazz Festival which will be held from 29th June - 14 July this year.

We used the fabulous Trip Advisor to find ourselves a hotel and, after a bit of research, decided on Hotel Splendid which reviewed well as a middle of the road (read "not too extortionately priced" - it is in Switzerland after all!) and comfortable.

It's one street back from the waterfront, but there is a large park in front of it, so you have uninterrupted views of the water and the Alps beyond - the view is quite breathtaking. There is no parking at the hotel, but there is parking directly out the front, and 200m further on there is an underground carpark for several hundred cars where we slotted our car in.

Check in is on the first floor and there is a lift or stairs for access. The gentleman working Reception was friendly and spoke English. After registration we were given the key for room 51 and headed up in the lift to the 3rd floor.

This is where we discovered the faded glory of the Hotel Splendid. It was obviously a very luxurious hotel back in the day and now it's looking a bit aged, and worn around the edges. The hallways are very grand, but there is random old furniture along them - we had a baby cot outside our door and there was a gorgeous, but very battered and bald sofa next to our door. The doors from the lift area into the hallways are huge, madly ornate and very gorgeous.

We used our large old fashioned key (on a big key fob, no electronic entry here) to open the door to our room and it was just what we needed. Large, king sized bed, glassed in balcony with two chairs and a small table looking out onto the lake (the windows opened which made it feel very open and airy). The beds are new, and have controllers which make the head and feet ends go up and down, and they have single duvets (one for each person) which is normal in Europe.

The bathroom had been done up and it seems that they'd had a discussion that must have gone something like this:-

"Do you think we should put shower heads at head height, or put them at knee height and make the shower head change colour all the time, so it's like a disco shower for dwarves? I'm not really sure, but let's go with knee height and those pretty lights!"

You might have guessed from the above, that it's not really fabulous for washing your hair unless you want to sit down in the tub ...

We had made a dinner reservation for dinner at La Rouvenaz which is just down the street, and it was great but you have to be aware that in Switzerland nothing is cheap.

Breakfast was included in the room rate at Hotel Splendid and we enjoyed a continental buffet on Sunday morning, with good coffee and friendly staff.

Whilst we were only in Montreux for a short time, it's breathtakingly beautiful and we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had room 51 and it was great. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank livingitlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.3 km away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#4 of 17 in Montreux
804 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
693 reviews
0.8 km away
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
Golf-Hotel Rene Capt
#7 of 17 in Montreux
598 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Grand-Rue 52, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Montreux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: ₹ 7,785 - ₹ 16,413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical, family-run Splendid hotel in Montreux was built in 1904 and offers panoramic views over Lake Geneva and free Wi-Fi in all of the spacious rooms. The lakeside rooms have their own terrace or balcony. Delicious Swiss and international cuisine is served in the restaurant and the café is a cosy place to relax.The Splendid hotel is Montreux's only 3-star hotel on the lakeside. The conference centre and the train station are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Montreux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing