We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views, 1970s decor, service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great location and views, 1970s decor, service lacking”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A lake view room here has spectacular views, and the hotel is next door to the Montreux Convention Centre. But the whole hotel needs a refurb it is out of date. The rooms are functional and have some nice features like block out shutters and retractable awnings. But the pillows are some of the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered.
There is a pool hidden away inside the spa, hard to find and small.
The service was pretty average all round.
I have stayed here twice, a year apart, and my experiences have been very consistent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    233
    166
    91
    43
See reviews for
113
326
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has excellent views of Lake Geneva (if you get a room on the lake side) Rooms are large and bright with a balcony.
The hotel is almost next door to the main exhibition/conference venue in Montreux the 2M2C. It is a 5 minute (or less) walk from your room to the conference hall and about 15 minutes walk into the center of Montreux. Harry's bar at the Fairmont is about 10 minutes away.
I didn't eat in the hotel so can not comment on the restaurants.

Room Tip: make sure you specify a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while on business.

Hotel has a superb view of the lake from main lobby and I was fortunate to also have a semi lake view from room balcony. Room was clean and large, for 5 stars the interior in the room is in need of an update, but everything was functional just a little dated, and not what I would consider luxury.

One complaint was that my room was not made up on the first day, I think partly because my "please clean room" sign had fallen off and no one had bothered to check with me. This was rectified the following day however.

The walls were also a little thin, so be prepared for noise if you are unfortunate to have noisy neighbours.

Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: even numbers = lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Good location next to the lake and some great views, but is let down by ageing interior and fairly poor service. For example, I was there for a 3 day conference and they couldn't lend me an iron once as they didn't have enough. They didn't offer any solution or alternatives.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are amazing, but slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bairdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreux hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel professes to be 5 star but its really only 4 star. Nice people on front desk who were helpful sorting out a new room when my room was not ready for checkin. however i got a dud room next to service elevator (very noisy with staff coming in and out) and the cupboard door in the room was stuck closed. There were no irons available either. Everyhting al ittle bit shabby and needs a facelift. Breakfast was good 7-10 and quite a nice varied buffet. Would not rate this as 5 star.
Great location if you need to be next to the concert hall and hotel is right on lake

Room Tip: not next to service elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwwpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.5 km away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
721 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.4 km away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#12 of 17 in Montreux
662 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.8 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#5 of 17 in Montreux
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux

Property: Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
Address: avenue Claude Nobs 7, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,842 - ₹ 38,019
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing