We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveller rating
1,304
296
95
60
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,304
296
95
60
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews montreux palace lake geneva willow spa jazz cafe outdoor pool lake view beautiful hotel spa facilities turn down service montreux jazz old world five star hotel junior suite french alps train station christmas market concierge
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Beautiful hotel with stunning surrounding. We had a lovely romantic break and enjoyed the delicious lunch on the terrace and the pool area for relaxing. We were kindly upgraded and enjoyed the lovely attention from the staff.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank liz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Directeur général at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Many thanks for having taken the time to express your feelings following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I have shared your kind words with all staff members. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back to Montreux in the not too distant future. Kind regards Michael Smithuis General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

This is a place you need to stay or have drink if you pass by Montreux. Amazing palace hotel, view is breathtaking and the staff is impecable.
Had a drink in the "funky claud" jazz bar with great live music. proper relaxed evening.
The food is very good but some dish are too expensive for what it is.
I'll definitely be back there

Room tip: the lake view rooms are the best but comes with a higher fee. worth the try
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Jerriaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Directeur général at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Many thanks for having taken the time to express your feelings following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss Riviera soon.

Best regards
Michael Smithuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Sorry, but when you go to Montreux, it's hard not to have "Smoke on the Water" run on a loop in your head.

We are top tier Fairmont Platinum members and typically find that the Fairmonts in Canada outdo the service in other countries...but the Palace is an exception. The service is simply the definition of professionalism and courtesy. But, as you can read from other reviews, the hotel, itself, steals the show. We used an upgrade to stay in a Junior Suite and I strongly suggest you do the same, or splurge to do so. The room featured two windows with a sweeping lake view and small balconies so you can actually stand outside to take in an even more sweeping view. The room was an incredible place to come back to after full days of exploring the area. Montreux is a gem of a city (town) and this hotel seems like the center of it all. Just steps away from the lakeside walkway on which you can walk for miles to take in the sights. If you are there for a few days, look into renting a car and head for the hills. The Palace should be on the top of your list here. Let's just hope they never have a 'stupid with a flare gun' stay there. Sorry - couldn't resist.

Room tip: Lake view is a must - higher the better to lessen street noise.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SeattleMears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Directeur général at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Many thanks for having taken the time to express your feelings following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I have shared your kind words with all staff members.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back to Montreux in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Michael Smithuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The Fairmont le Montreux Palace offers the most opulent accommodations in one of the most beautiful of settings in the world accompanied by a staff that is friendly, responsive, helpful and down-to-earth. We were fortunate to be staying here as a gift from someone who had purchased this experience through a charity auction and due to our trip being in the off-season the front desk team (Julie, Julia and team) took the initiative to upgrade our room to an amazing suite overlooking the lake. We were astounded at the accommodations. The maid service was friendly, attentive but never invasive -- the first evening we came back to folded clothes, tv on, beds turned down, drapes pulled and this continued each night of our stay. The breakfast is amazing -- anything you'd ever want and your seated in an atrium terrace overlooking the Mts/lake. Being there for a week, the breakfast staff began to recognize us each morning. If I came to breakfast without my partner they'd ask after her and when she'd arrive they'd direct her to where I was sitting. Every staff member did this! Their thoughtfulness, demeanor and personability was truly uncommon, in my experience: Angelina, Leonilde, Norma (Italian name) were just a few of the names I remember. Lastly, I want to recognize the hotel's outstanding concierge. I think he is one of the gems of the profession. I cannot remember his name, but he would be present in the morning when we were planning our day and again in the evening. (During the mid-day he would be out training on his bike. I am impressed that they hotel supported a staff member to pursue one's own work-life balance in this way.) This gentleman directed us to a beautiful walk up to the Caux on day one; another walk from Chardonne to St. Saphorin the next; Diablerettes another. He had a clever, teasing manner that we enjoyed. Also, the food and service (another young women named Julia served us and was wonderful) at the Jazz restaurant was outstanding. We particularly enjoyed the Sweet Potato soup. (We did stop in for a drink at the other bar one evening. Great staff, but the prices were simply too high, 24 SF for a G&T, and felt misleading from the menu. We did not return.) Overall, staying here was a wonderful, life-affirming experience and I hope we will have the opportunity to return to ski, hike, swim and be Swiss again sometime in the near future. If you are considering this as a hotel option, splurge and enjoy!

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Directeur général at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words describing your recent stay with us. Your message has been passed on to all staff concerned. It is of course always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest and the sense of achievement and satisfaction can be felt amongst the staff when they read such kind words.

I derive the most pleasure from your comments regarding the attitude of our staff - something on which we strive to put a lot of emphasis. Thank you also for noticing the many small details we feel contribute to making Le Montreux Palace such a unique destination and experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Michael Smithuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

puts the smile on your face, historic, meticulate from the pool to restaurants to the tre fussy, scurrying staff, everything spacious and elegant, perfectly placed across from the Jazz Center and take a stroll along the glittering lakeside esplanade with views of the Alps set against the blue waters below or a boat ride to the spectacular and fascinating Chillon Castle extraordinare, run like precision Swiss clockwork, you'll have a grand old time but it comes an equally grand price naturally

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank steelydad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Directeur général at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Many thanks for having taken the time to express your feelings following your recent stay at Fairmont Le Montreux Palace. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and it would be a pleasure to welcoming you back to the Swiss Riviera soon.
Kind regards
Michael Smithuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews