We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Villa Toscane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Toscane
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Montreux
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Montreux is the glamorous French town of Switzerland with Maserati's and Bentley's galore. That also makes it a slight problem for economical lodging options. The four-star options are limited and the price quite steep comparatively for a simple double room.

From its website Villa Toscane seemed like a great choice but we had no idea what was in store for us. That it is well connected to the entire stretch of happening hangouts is its biggest plus. All communication (check-in / check-out) is done with the five-star Royal Plaza hotel’s reception, which is across the road, though there is an empty reception desk at the entrance of Villa Toscane! The hotel reception staff of the Royal Plaza was very cold and indifferent, though helpful periodically.

You are treated like an outsider and the staff of Royal Plaza treat you as if they are doing you a favour. Breakfast is served at the Royal Plaza lobby and Villa Toscane’s claim of being a four-star didn’t help our breakfast options. They offered only croissants, few fruits / fruit juices & tea/coffee. We have stayed at three, four & five-star hotels in many European cities but this was by far the worst breakfast.

Since Villa Toscane projects itself as one of those lovely Tuscan villas, it had no restaurant. We even tried to request room service to send us a plate and a fork, but the person on the phone kept misunderstanding forks, knives & plates! Till we were so exasperated that we made our dismay clear. It was then that they apologized for being so painful and sent us a selection of pastries. Considering how annoying the experience was, to their credit the pastries were lovely.

The rooms themselves are small though comfortable. Please specify that you don’t want a basement / ground-level room. They have no windows and only tiny ventilators that provide light into the room. You really don’t want to look outside a teeny window to realize you have the view of a car’s wheel cap. If we really were okay staying in a bunker, we surely wouldn’t have wanted to shell out inflated four-star prices.

The experience was definitely not worth the money spent. While Montreux has etched lovely memories in our hearts, Villa Toscane was our worst ever hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank JediKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We made booking by telephone, explained daughter of 15 staying in our room, decided to take 'family' room, beautiful bathroom picture in internet, on arrival very small one room 'suite',no extra bed (was a foldable bed, not big enough for 15 yr child. Got other room, very dirty bathroom, with mold in shower and bath, We did not expect much for 275 chf but this was rediculous

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very nice place to stay for a few nights in this peaceful area. Close to train station and shops and a short stroll to Lake Geneva.
Just a shame there was no view of the lake just the Hotel across the street, which is actually where we needed to check in, which was a little odd..surely for the price of the room only,they could afford a receptionist of their own. Bathroom a bit small for my liking,
Otherwise, clean, tidy and quiet.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on a higher level may give views of the lake?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This place is really unacceptable by normal hotel standards. The room was very small and basic, the window at (very busy) street level and a noisy fan in the room as aircon. As mentioned by others, the bathroom and mainly shower are not very clean and fungus is present in all corners.
All in all, this is a place where you basically get two star comfort at 4 star price!

As a Swiss citizien, I feel ashamed of such poor hotellerie quality being provided in our country which depends so much on tourism.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ueli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

You have to check in just across the street at the parent hotel, but you also get the perks of the parent hotel - complimentary fitness center, newspaper and internet use in the business center. Spa services also available. Friendly front desk staff across the street as well. Plus there is only that one street to cross and you are at the beautiful floral-lined Montreux lakeside walk on Lake Geneva! A recently-renovated art nouveau hotel, our Villa Toscane room was very nice, high-ceilings, large window can be opened, room size small but that is normal for Europe. Comfortable bed and small bathroom, and tv, all clean and neat. Our room was at the back of the building so it was quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_Kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreux hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
0.6 km away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
805 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Eden Palace au Lac
Eden Palace au Lac
#13 of 17 in Montreux
693 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
343 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscane? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscane

Address: Rue du Lac 2 - 8, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreux
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreux
Price Range: ₹ 7,531 - ₹ 12,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Toscane 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Toscane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Toscane Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing