We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second best-Business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second best-Business hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This was my second visit, and since I was happy with my last visit it was a obvious pick when I quite urgently had to travel to Lausanne,
First, this is not a hotel if you crave luxury and expect only the best. If so, choose Palace Hotel and Spa. Its by far the best Lausanne can offer.
Alpha-Palmiers offers a good location in the midst of Lausanne and only 50 meters from the Train Station( although the hill you have to climb is quite steep and covered in cobblestone. Trust me, take a taxi if you have a lot of luggage)
The hotel is quiet and modern. The cleaning is good, and the rooms are large. The breakfast is adequite.
BUT, the hotel do not have room-service, and the "hotel-restaurant" is not very good.You are much better og trying the restaurant/bar across the street.

So, the hotel is great for a few nights for business or tourism, but not for a full-package romantic getaway or a luxury-traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway, or specify that you want a quiet room. The staff definatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    288
    143
    76
    31
See reviews for
84
122
46
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Alpha-Palmier on our first trip to Lausanne. Its conveniently located very near the Lausanne Gare (Train Station), and it has all the right amenities, however its a bit overpriced and the Rue de Petit-Chene (street) can be difficult to use as its so steep. Also it tends to be a bit busy at night with people hanging out near the gare. There are nicer places in Ouchy near the water.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A steep but short walk up from the train station, but doable. We had a nice room and bath. Excellent breakfast was included in our room rate. Staff was helpful. The hotel was very busy ....primarily business customers. We were on holiday. Free wifi. That makes a hotel high on my list!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed on the courtyard side and so had no problem with noise. Unfortunately, we found the people at the front desk quite snobby and they misquoted us on both room price and on whether breakfast was included. The waitstaff at the restaurant in the morning were frankly unpleasant, and we wound up leaving the restaurant when we discovered that breakfast was not included (the lead waitress walked around with a clipboard checking names as if she were a prison guard). The decor of the place is also odd, with strange green signs, animal-skin chairs in the rooms, a frosted glass wall between the main room and the bathroom (lighting up the main room whenever one of us used the bathroom at night). On the bright side, the location is very close to the main train station and getting around the city is easy by foot and subway from the location.

Room Tip: Courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hudson8Northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Oxfordshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent location for both train station and old town.
Nice welcome by receptionist who spoke English.
Nice clean, quiet, modern room.
Good breakfast.
What more could you want

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicnac49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your positive comment!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.4 km away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 km away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
487 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.8 km away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Property: Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,614 - ₹ 26,636
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing