We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chalet Bergheim is Heaven on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property
Completely surrounded by unspoiled nature, make your own footsteps in the pristine snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Completely surrounded by unspoiled nature, make your own footsteps in the pristine snow
Beautiful old chalet built in 1933 in traditional walliser style and renovated in 2014
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Completely surrounded by unspoiled nature, make your own footsteps in the pristine snow
Beautiful old chalet built in 1933 in traditional walliser style and renovated in 2014
In summer, completely surrounded by green. Tonnes of space to relax and enjoy!
With an abundance of charm and fabulous views of the matterhorn
Beautifully renovated interior with luxury but natural and cosy feel
Enjoy a fondue with friends with continuous views of the matterhorn
Plenty of space to eat with a large group of friends
Or on a nice day sit outside on the terrace and soak up the view with some bubbles!
Master bedroom upstairs with own private balcony overlooking the matterhorn
Enjoy a cup of coffee and a croissant on your own private balcony off the master bedroom
Second bedroom on the ground floor with beautiful old wooden cladding
All rooms have brand new luxury Sealy hotel beds for the ultimate nights sleep
Bedroom number 3 upstairs with views over the fields and down the valley, perfect for a family room
With just a touch of Kitsch!
Brand new bathroom with beautiful slate and old wood design,
A large walk in rain shower,
and a whirlpool bath for a long soak after a hard days skiing or hiking!
Despite the renovation, the chalet maintains its old charm
You have your own private path to the chalet, and no neighbors in sight!
In summer the chalet is surrounded by wildflower meadows, with amazing hiking right on the doorstep
Completely surround by green and a large private garden in front of the chalet
Just below the chalet there are fabulous views over the rooftops of Zermatt
After a long day curl up by the open log fire
Try to spot some of our neighbors behind the chalet!
Large private garden in front of the chalet with our own little frog pond
The beautiful slate roof of the lovely Chalet Bergheim
Situated directly on the ski piste from Sunegga, a 20min walk from Zermatt
Near enough to town to benefit from all the restaurants but far enough away for peace and space
Perfect layout for a family or two
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kyle G
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chalet Bergheim is Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of six adults spent the last week of July on vacation at Chalet Bergheim, and I would conservatively describe the experience as spectacular. As parents with adult children, it is nearly impossible to find a location where everyone is excited to get together, but Chalet Bergheim was more than up to the task.

As Americans traveling to Switzerland, let me start by saying that getting to Zermatt (and Chalet Bergheim) is significantly easier than one might imagine. Following a flight to Geneva, we took a comfortable four hour train ride to Zermatt, with a simple change of trains in Visp. Buy your tickets online in advance at www.sbb.ch and get the Swiss Transfer Ticket that allows you to go from your place of entry to your vacation destination. It’s by far the best value.

Once you arrive in Zermatt, hail an electric taxi upon exiting the train station (the taxi stand is conveniently located a few steps from the train). Five minutes and 40 Swiss francs later, you are delivered to the doorstep of Chalet Bergheim. Don’t forget to get a business card from the taxi driver so you can call for a pick up at the end of your stay.

We’ve vacationed in Zermatt previously, and stayed at two exceptional hotels – The Grand Hotel Zermatterhof and the Backstage Hotel Vernissage Zermatt. But staying at the Chalet Bergheim takes the Zermatt experience to a higher level altogether! Chalet Bergheim allows you to take in the charm and beauty of Zermatt while affording you the ability to vacation as a family in your home away from home. Chalet Bergheim is, quite simply, a little piece of heaven. Our group included only adults – young adults from 19 – 25, and parents in their early 50’s – but Chalet Bergheim is well suited to guests of all ages. We are all in pretty good physical shape, so walking to/from Chalet Bergheim was not a problem for us.

Located a short walk above the village of Zermatt, Chalet Bergheim not only affords you the ability to venture into town for dinner, drinks, sightseeing or shopping, but the ability to get away from the crowds and relax in your own world – with an unparalleled view of the Matterhorn. If you don’t want to walk the entire way up to the house, then you can use the elevator that starts in the Sunnegga-Rothorn valley station and drops you – free of charge – in front of the Cervo Mountain Resort/restaurant about 500 yards down the road from Chalet Bergheim. This shortcut eliminates a majority of the uphill walk. Remember, however, that the elevator closes at 6:00 PM.

It goes without saying, but I’ll say it anyway, that Chalet Bergheim is well appointed with everything you would expect from a first-class rental property. The rooms are cozy and newly renovated and the kitchen is stocked with everything you need to get started. The owners have obviously taken great care to create a vacation property that is welcoming to guest of all ages. And yes, the Internet connection was superb – much to the delight of our adult children.

Dining options are plentiful in Zermatt – we especially enjoyed Cervo, located down the road from Chalet Bergheim and Chez Vrony, a superb mountain restaurant, after completing the Five Lakes Walk – but we also took advantage of the kitchen to make breakfast on a daily basis and to put together a few dinners. The owners pre-stock the kitchen with wine and beer (plus coffee and other necessities), but with our large group of adults, we purchased our own supply of alcohol in town! Don’t be deterred by the idea of shopping in town and carrying groceries to Chalet Bergheim. For one big grocery run, we had a taxi bring our haul up to the house, and for daily necessities, we simply carried what we purchased in our backpacks.

If you are visiting Zermatt in the warm weather months, chances are that you are going to be doing a bit of hiking. Chalet Bergheim is an ideal starting point for many hikes – but it is even more inviting when you are exhausted and needing to relax after a long day in the mountains. Sitting outside on the deck or in the reclining two person chair in the yard, favorite beverage in hand, your aches and pains quickly disappear as you enjoy the panoramic mountain views and think about your next destination. You just can’t get this experience in any hotel, and you would be hard pressed to find it in another rental property.

To anyone considering a renting a vacation property in Zermatt – look no further. Chalet Bergheim will be the only place we stay of future visits to Zermatt. The only downside of the experience is you will hate to leave, so take lots of pictures. Will and Amanda, thanks for sharing Chalet Bergheim with our family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The separation from town and the views.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Hi Kyle, many thanks for your fantastic review, it makes all the efforts worthwhile! Ŵe agree that's it a little piece of heaven on earth. Hope to see you again soon. Will & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz578
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Boutique-quality chalet in Zermatt with spectacular views of Matterhorn”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a jewel of a find! After days of hiking up and down the peaks surrounding the Matterhorn, the Chalet Bergheim was an amazing place to relax. Great location with wonderful views and hiking trails at our doorstep. Plenty of space for 5 adults, all that you could ask for in the kitchen facilities, comfortable bedrooms.

We stayed a week, but it was one of those vacations where 7 days seemed so much longer.

I would definitely recommend this spot and have already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Steep walk up from the village at the end of a hiking day!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Hi Elisabeth, many thanks for staying with us at Chalet Bergheim and for the great review! So glad you had a great time. Please come back again. Will & Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay with a beautiful view - however...”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a great stay - the chalet is lovely and it felt like a home from home. Will made it very easy to book and he answered any questions we had very quickly - plus there was a very helpful e-brochure that had all we needed to know.

The chalet has easily the best view of Zermatt and it's very much ski in - however, skiing out, does require you to walk up some steps made of snow, up to the piste. This was super easy for me in snow boarding boots, but less easy for the skiers, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone too frail or young toddlers. I understand there will be a hand rail for next season which would help.
What we weren't told was that to re-build the steps it will cost F80 (around £60) each time. With the snow and windy day or two, we had to re-build the steps a couple of times.

To get up to the chalet during the day, some of the walk is along the piste, which is fine - but there are skiers coming down (although this route is used by many walkers walking up the mountain so it's totally safe). We would all highly recommend walking all the way down the piste to the Cervo lift to get into town (it took us 12 minutes down and 18 minutes up inc. a few stops). Way easier than the steps which are very tiring.
The nights we didn't stay in to cook, we found the walk quite nice to let our food settle.

They also kindly bought us food and supplies to the value of F100 (which we paid for and pre-arranged), although we weren't told about the surprise F100 charge for doing this - which is rather a lot - which would have been better if we were told.

All in all, I would 100% stay there again. It's all very easy, the chalet is lovely, the view is easily the best and it's quite fun having your luggage dropped of and collected by helicopter!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The charge for buying shopping and steps to and from the chalet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Hi Chris, many thanks for your helpful review, glad you had a great time and loved the chalet!

Just to pick up on your two feedback points. Regarding the chf100 cost for the shopping service, this was mentioned in the email where we offered it and in the information pack. Having read again I think there must have been some misunderstanding as you have understood this as the shopping must have a max value of chf100. I will be clearer in future! On the point regarding the steps, we state in the booking conditions that it's the guest responsibility to clear snow during the stay, we have offered the additional clearance as an extra service. As you mention, we will have a handrail installed in the summer which should make it much easier.

Many thanks again and hope to see you again!

Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver L
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location in perfect skiing area”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We went in a group of some friends and really enjoyed it! The location with a spectacular overview of the village to the matterhorn, located next to the piste so you can start and end your skiing day at home, the very lovely Nicki who did her very best to welcome us and make us feel comfortable - nothing to complain about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Hi Oliver, many thanks for your great review! So glad you had a great time, will pass on the comments to Nikki. Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Chalet Bergheim”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Chalet Bergheim is nestled in a beautiful spot in the hills above Zermatt. From the balcony there is an amazing panoramic view of the surrounding mountains - there is nothing quite like having the Matterhorn waiting to welcome you as you drink your coffee every morning!

Inside, the Chalet is tastefully appointed from the lovely cosy sitting room complete with wood burning stove, to the comfortable bedrooms and stylish main bathroom, which features a hot tub from which you get another fantastic view of the Matterhorn!

Very few places in Zermatt will offer this much peace and privacy – you really are in your own little world tucked away on the mountain-side. But it is only a short walk down the road into town. In winter this road would be a ski piste, making the journey even quicker!

We brought our daughter with us (20 months old) and we had no problems managing with her. There was plenty of space for her to play inside and the balcony is enclosed so that she could also play outside.

We had a glorious week at Bergheim enjoying the stunning scenery and often walking directly into the mountains from the chalet. Zermatt is a truly special place and Chalet Bergheim offers a wonderfully unique way to make your stay extra special.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your amazing review! We're so glad you had a fantastic time and look forward to having you stay again in the future. Will and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing