We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great relaxing place to Stay in Zermatt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Daniela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Daniela
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place to Stay in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at Easter in 2012.

There are so many positives about this hotel:
- Location halfway between centre of town/ Sunnegga lift, and also within walking distance (15 mins) to Matternhorn Glacier Paradise
- The hotel driver picked us up from the train station on arrival with just 10 minutes notice - really helpful with our bags
- One morning we were a little late for breakfast, but they bought out food to order, and cooked an excellent fresh omlette
- Good size rooms, and comfortable beds, clean, probably modernised within the last 5 years, but hasn't lost any charm
- Very flexible in the small bar at reception - it was no trouble for them to get us a bottle of champagne to enjoy on our sunny balcony after a hard days skiing!
- All the staff are super friendly

Improvement areas? Really nothing serious what would stop me from reccommending this place! The only thing would be to get new shower curtains - we did create a small lake one morning...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    95
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
70
132
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Hotel Daniela is a great place to stay when vacationing in Zermatt.
Here are just some of the many positives,,,
> Very nice, clean, well appointed room with Matterhorn view
> Great Location... near the center of town but in a very quiet location
> Friendly Staff
> Great Breakfast
> Free Wi-Fi
> Directly across the road from 2 Ski Rental shops

We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Room 305... awesome view of the Matterhorn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Daniela the couple of days before Christmas in 2011. It was absolutely fantastic and we were sad to be moving on after such a great time we had and how nicely we were treated at the hotel. We were hoping that all our Swiss accommodation would live up to this, the first hotel of our trip, but if it did we would certainly have been lucky as they were big shoes to fill so to speak.

The rooms were really nice with really comfortable beds. They had little extras like slippers and gown which was nice. The breakfast in the morning was really great with a good choice for all tastes. We also had a couple of extra surprises while we were there (maybe because it was Christmas) of a plate of yummy biscuits (see photo), and also some hot spiced wine when we were waiting in the bar for our taxi to dinner.

The sister hotel (Julen) had a pool/spa available to us and that was just a short walk away, but we didn't end up using it even though it looked really nice when we popped in to take a look.

The view from the hotel is magical, but I guess you could say that from a lot of places in Zermatt because the town and the view of the Matterhorn on a clear day is just so pretty. I've uploaded a photo of the view from our room - we loved it as you can imagine.

A little on the expensive side, but I think that is just Zermatt in the ski season in general. We did look at a few hotel options when we were booking and most were about the same anyway.

Free electric pickup/dropoff service from the train station was great, even though it's not too far away, dragging suitcases through snow is not the easiest thing to do.

All in all, this was a fantastic hotel and the best accommodation of our entire trip over Christmas and New Year in Switzerland and Germany.

Room Tip: View of the Matterhorn would be good! Higher up the better to see around other hotels, but I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xj0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Zermatt has by far been my favorite pit stop in Switzerland, and Daniela was a reason why! Super easy transport from the train station (although it's not that far) by electric taxi, porter brought my things to my room, and a gorgeous and quaint (think lacey drapes and balcony overlooking the mountains!) room and comfy bed to fall into. Robes and slippers, full bathroom amenity goodies (I go crazy for shave kits!) Breakfast and the fresh-squeezed orange juice station was a hit, and got a massage and dipped in the pool at the nearby partner Julen. Wifi was great on the ground floor, not so good on the 2nd, although it was chilly on the ground floor. Not to be worried-- they immediately brought a ground heater and it toasted up very quickly. Hotel is right by bars, bakery, river, superb view of the Matterhorn, rental shop, ATM, and the bus station for the lifts up to the Matterhorn Glacier for a quick day on the mountain. Absolutely loved it.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a very handy hotel and equidistant to most lifts and bars etc. The transfer from Tasch (park at Christophe's in Tasch if you are in a hire car) was really smooth and the staff look after your luggage so we were pleasantly surprised at how easy it all was - as I was expecting the opposite. No Matterhorn views from the balcony and no restaurant is disappointing. Excellent rooms - all with balconies, big beds and good water pressure. Has one of those silly hairdryers so I regret not taking my own. Main issue for me is that Daniela is a sister (poor relation?) to Hotel Julen - which has a fantastic wellness suite and very good restaurant. However for me it was all too tricky (and cold) to walk down the street in a white robe and slippers to use the spa - might work in Summer but not at -4degrees in the dark

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morritzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 km away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.5 km away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniela

Property: Hotel Daniela
Address: Steinmattstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,409 - ₹ 31,358
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniela 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Daniela may be small, but it has a lot to offer. Situated just 10 minutes away from the mountain lifts and the train station in a quiet location, the 24 cozy single, double and family rooms are all equipped with their own bathroom/WC, minibar, telephone, radio, WLAN, cable TV and safe. The bathrooms all have a hairdryer, free cosmetic articles and bathrobes, free of charge. The generous breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day and free coffee, tea and cakes can be taken in front of the fireplace in the lobby throughout the day. Dine Around in the Tradition Julen: Half-board guests can have the best of both worlds and have their evening meal either in the Romantik Hotel Julen, where a 5-course selection menu is served, or at the Hotel Alpenhof, where a 5-course selection menu is served. Those who prefer ,,A la Carte" can enjoy local specialties in the traditional Schaferstube restaurant or they can enjoy delicious dishes at the Restaurant Julen. Wellness Around Tradition Julen: Guests staying at Hotel Daniela have free entry to the Julen SPA in the Romantik Hotel Julen or the Alpenhof SPA in the Wellness Hotel Alpenhof. Every Wednesday during the high season the family run business offers you a free visit to their herd of black nose sheep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ostrovok and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Daniela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniela Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing