We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My husband and I have just returned from 4 days in Zermatt and having searched the Internet we decided to book a room in the Hotel Allalin. We certainly made the right decision. The staff made us very welcome and they were all caring and helpful (special mention for Sandra at Reception here). Our room was spacious, everything worked, and the balcony was nicely furnished with two cushioned chairs, a small table, a parasol and, of course, a fantastic view to the Matterhorn. It was a pleasure to sit there with a pre-dinner drink whilst admiring the view.
The wood carving in the Allalin is very special and it's everywhere - ceilings, doors, walls, and even on the lift! It certainly adds to the charm of the place.
The breakfast room is equally charming and is very bright and colourful. Need I add that the breakfasts themselves are delicious!
We would definitely stay in the Allalin on a return trip to Zermatt - it's very well managed and is stylish as well as being cozy and welcoming. A great find.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Allalin for Christmas 2008 and found it an absolutley fabulous hotel with the friendliest and most attentive staff.

The breakfast was always a delight and the drink and afternoon tea each day was something we all looked forward to.

The hotel has such a great friendly vibe and the rooms were clean and very comfoprtable with great facilities. I would never think about staying anywhere else (even if I had a larger budget).

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Wow! We stayed here on our Honeymoon and it was absolutely fantastic! We arrived on the train and a staff member was there to drive us to the hotel. We went inside and were handed a refreshing drink and greeted by the most friendly and helpful staff we had encountered in our entire European trip.

Hotel: The hotel has incredible swiss charm! I loved all of the carved wood on the ceilings and walls. It was incredibly spacious and clean. They also had some great complimentary snacks! They had a tea station, and these little toast things with salmon on top which were delicious. They even had a bowl of fruit with apples, plums etc. They even had a bowl of apples and fresh water in front of our room before we went in.

Rooms: The room was huge! The beds were like sleeping on clouds and the view of the matterhorn was stunning. We walked in set our bags down, slipped on the slippers and fell on the bed. There were wood carvings on the ceiling, wood floors and the bed frame was carved wood as well. I felt like we were staying in a swiss cookoo clock! We even had 2 sinks which was fantastic.

Breakfast: I am a foodie and the breakfast was a foodie's dream! Fantastic scrambled eggs with ham, a number of yogurts and smoothies, fresh baked bread .... the list goes on and on. And the waitress made me feel as though I was family for the day.

Service: I can't say enough about how nice the staff was. They were incredibly helpful, friendly, and as a departing gift we got a loaf of there wonderful bread in a little package. Again a foodies hotel soul mate so to speak. They recommended some fantastic hikes and restaurants as well.

Overall this place was a great stay! This was our splurge hotel of our honeymoon and worth every penny. If you are looking for swiss charm and a staff that makes you feel right at home as one of the locals then this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gschirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed in “Allalin” over the Easter holidays for 3 nights. We have booked the room well in advance, which was confirmed in several friendly emails from the hotel.
The first surprise though was the fact that we got a smoking room- and to our request to change we were advised that in Switzerland, if you don’t explicitly ask for a non-smoking room, you get booked in a smoking one. Change was not possible; and we got an electrical perfume appliance instead. In general, in the hotel’s cosy reception/ fireplace area, guests were smoking constantly, and for us as “spoiled” non-smokers this was really disturbing.
As the rooms with Matterhorn view were not available, we have booked a room to the village side. The hotel is situated directly in front of the cemetery, so all balconies on that side overlook it.
The room had a good size and it was very well cleaned, however the furniture and especially the bath appliances are due for refreshment.
The service at breakfast was the nicest part- the lady mentioned in the below comments was extremely friendly and helpful, and made-up for the overall slightly disappointing experience.
Overall, especially given the price level of the hotel, I could not recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Room is quite old fashioned, but there are great views, the good location and service is top notch!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allalinzerm, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

It was a great honour and a pleasure to have you here as our guest during your holiday stay.

We were particularly delighted that you reported the positive experiences you had during your stay.

It is of course very pleasing for us that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for your kind and encouraging rating. Your feedback is highly motivating and valuable for us and the whole team of staff. We also have pleasure in assuring you of our total attentiveness and service in future, and would be delighted to have you visit us again.

Yours sincerely

SWISS ALPINE HOTEL ALLALIN
Family Taugwalder – Abgottspon & Team
CH-3920 Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#75 of 111 in Zermatt
79 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 111 in Zermatt
344 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#59 of 111 in Zermatt
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Matterhornblick
Hotel Matterhornblick
#82 of 111 in Zermatt
82 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#65 of 111 in Zermatt
223 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#64 of 111 in Zermatt
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel

Address: Kirchstrasse 40, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#39 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#39 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#43 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#49 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#54 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: ₹ 13,392 - ₹ 28,696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR HOLIDAY HOME will enchant you with its stunningly beautiful, unique wood carvings that imbue the whole home with a matchless touch and outstanding style. It is a pleasure of being able to offer you a special atmosphere for you to live in. So much charm and a special ambience await you in the individual rooms. Relax with a healthy sleep, a good breakfast buffet and let time drift by as you sip your afternoon drink in comfort. Afterwards you can switch off, warm up, sweat, recover, enjoy, stay a while and "chill out" in our new ALPINE SPA WELLNESS & SILENCE until the evening! A nightcap at the bar may not be missing the decay of the holiday day! Feel at home in the Zermatt mountains, in a cosy and stylish setting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allalin Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing