We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swiss excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I can simply sum it up with the following: great location, great food, and great service, with an amazing spa! The conference facility is also great, and the service that comes with it, is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edobrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you so much for your nice review. Your comments make us very happy because we take the wellbeing of our guests to heart. It shows that we attained our objective resp. to make your stay exceptional and unforgettable. We will share your compliments with our team, which will motivate them to continue this way.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back at the Mont Cervin Palace and we are already looking forward to it.

Vernal greetings from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    45
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
110
206
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Москва, Россия
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We've chosen Mont Cervin Palace for our family vacations with our 11 y.o. daughter at the end of March 2012. Upon arrival the horse carrige drove us to the hotel, very nice experience. We were upgraded to the Suite (we have booked Junior Suite), the room was very large (actually there are 2 separate rooms separated by the door, total about 60-70 sqm). We even had our own fireplace and a very nice jacuzzi in our spacious bathroom.

Some hints about the hotel:
1) if you book the ski gear at the Julen Sport (which is around the corner), you don't need to carry the skis/boots to the hotel ski room, they arrange that as the ski rental is connected to the hotel; you could also pay for the rental as a room charge.
2) Breakfast is very nice and rather big, but if you order pancakes or some kind of poached eggs (omelettes, scramblled eggs and fried eggs are offered) you should pay from 12 Chf/portion.
3) Spa and wellness area is really great, with 2 different pools, indoor and outdoor (available for children as well) and spa area with different kind of saunas, hammam and some extra (for adults only, naked zone).
4) Hotel is located about 150 m (5-7 min walk) from the bus stop on the river. But if you care more about your comfort, not about the budget, the taxi is always waiting for you at the exit from the ski room (12 CHF to any Zermatt ski lift or train station).
5) We have tried Grill Le Cervin restaurant for our dinner (we have chosed BB, not HB basis). and it was impressive, with good grill and steak dishes, but rather pricy (about 350 chf for the dinner for 3 (with 1 child, who is not a great eater). The service is good and friendly, the restaurant is nice and with a kind of casual atmosphere. Recommended. The hotel has "Dine Around" system (if you chose HB) which allows you to choose among different restaurants in the hotel and in Zermatt.

Overall, we all very happy with our stay and wish to come back. Thanks for all the hotel team and especially Karin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superski_Ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

We really appreciate your kind annotations about your vacation at the Mont Cervin Palace. Thank you very much for taking your time to describe so nicely the facilities and the service you got during your stay. Our aim to offer an exceptional and thoughtful hospitality seems to have succeeded. We are particularly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and to renew the great experience you had in Zermatt.

Best regards and take care,

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I've just returned from LPC from a two week Easter trip with my boyfriend. We had a wonderful stay.

Pluses:
1. The staff at reception and those looking after you in your rooms are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble, they will book any activity you wish (ski passes, heli-skiing, cinema tickets, lunches in the mountain huts etc), they are wonderfully polite and charming and they always have a smile on their face. A real credit to the hotel and I cannot speak highly enough of them.
2. The rooms are brand new (practically) with great ameneties (TV, mini-bar with free soft drinks refilled daily which is a nice touch, wonderful bathroom) and incredibly clean and comfortable.
3. Location - in the event that you want to be in the centre of town, you couldn't be better placed here. Right next door to the cinema, most of the resataurants and the shops. Near the train station and with a ski bus stop at the end of the road.
4. The spa - is amazing: indoor and outdoor heated pools, wonderful spa area with various saunas, steam rooms, showers, plunge pools etc. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is the Mont Cervin Palace's spa, linked by a short underground walkway. Very convenient.
5. "Dine Around" - if you take the half board option, you have the choice of about 13 bars and restaurants to eat with in the resort, including a Japanese, Italian and Thai. The Japanese and Thai were both excellent (we didn't eat in the Italian in the end) and well worth trying. I would certainly recommend this option.

Minuses: there are not many, but I should mention the handful of negatives we encountered:
1. Location if you want to be close to the slopes. The hotel is not ski-in, ski-out (nor does it promise to be). This is perhaps more of a problem with Zermatt as a resort than this hotel in particular. The lifts/trains to get you from the village to the top of the slopes are long... really long. By the time that you have walked to the ski bus stop, waited for the bus, got off the bus at the other end, waited for the train/cable car and gone up the lifts, it may well be an hour (depending on where you are trying to go) between putting on your boots in the boot room and actually skiing. As mentioned, this hotel is near to the train up the mountain and the ski bus so it is one of the better located hotels in the village, but if getting onto the slopes easily is important to you, think very carefully about your location in Zermatt - especially if you're going in Springtime when you want to be going higher up to ski. We are primarily skiers with apres ski coming in very definitely second, so it was a problem for us that it took as long as it did.
2. The ski shop - "Julen sport". I'm not sure if this is the hotel's own ski shop or one that is simply connected to it (it is connected to the hotel bootroom by sliding doors and guests get 10% off) so the criticism may be a little unfair but both my boyfriend and I felt that the service left a lot to be desired. I am a pretty good skier and knew the skis that I wanted. The shop had several pairs available but I had to lobby quite hard to manage to hire a pair, notwithstanding that we were paying for the top band of skis (which included the ones I wanted to hire). THe ski shop assistant seemed to be of the view that I shouldn't be hiring off piste skis at all. Also, the boots that I was given the first time round were pretty lousy. I was a bit fed up with debating the hire kit with the person looking after my boyfriend and I on Day 1 so I simply went with the lousy (ie old, worn out etc) boots and went back to speak to another assistant first thing on Day 2 to exchange. Finally, nearing the end of my trip, my boyfriend wanted to swap his skis for skis like mine and I wanted longer ones to take on a heli-skiing tour. We were disappointed when the assistant initially proposed giving my skis (which had been skied on for the last 10 days and were in dire need of a service) to my boyfriend rather than getting him a pair of newly serviced skiis. All in all, given that we were paying for the top band of skis (which includes the ability to swap between pairs as you wish), we both felt that the assistants were trying to pull the wool over our eyes most of the time.
3. Capri restaurant - this is the (small) restaurant serving hotel guests breakfast each day. The selection of food on offer is good, however, the restaurant is small (cannot be more than around 15 covers) with the result that if there are large groups there, they certainly make their presence felt! The restaurant offers dinner as well and is supposed to be highly rated. I'm afraid that we were not very impressed. The food was ok (but not as good as we had expected - indeed, the food in the usual half-board restaurant we found was better). However, we were disappointed to find that there was a party of 10 in the restaurant with 3 very young and very loud children (this was the case notwithstanding that we sat down at 8:30). We asked the maitre d' if he could speak to them (they were being very disruptive) but he wouldn't. We were a little put out as we were hotel guests and hadn't seen the party before so we assume that they were not. Only at about 10pm when one of the children literally started dancing around the restaurant and singing loudly did the maitre d' accede to our request and have a word with them. We were put off with the experience as would not, I'm afraid, recommend the restaurant to other guests. We had heard another couple complaining about something similar at breakfast earlier in the week so plainly we aren't the only people that felt this way.
4. Finally, a little irksome that the hotel's default half-board restaurant charges £4 per jug of iced (ie tap!) water which we found odd. This is the case even if you are also drinking wine and other soft drinks (which we were).

All in all, I would recommend the hotel very highly - the pluses certainly outweigh the minuses (but there are some minuses which is why I don't think I can give it the full 5 points unfortunately).

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of the Matterhorn. Also - the higher the better, third floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

First and foremost we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback and for taking the time to tell of your experience with us. We are very happy that you felt well taken care of by our team and of course we will pass on your compliments to the whole staff. We also really appreciate and are very grateful for the complaints or inconveniences you mention in your review. We regret the bad service you had at the ski shop. Normally our guests are very satisfied. Nevertheless we can’t wipe the slate clean, but next time we would be very pleased to offer you our services in our own ski shop at Mont Cervin Palace.

We hope to see and to spoil you again someday, maybe next winter. Until then we wish you a wonderful autumn. Take care!

Best regards from sunny Zermatt.

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Mont Cervin Palace from 01.04.12 - 08.04.12. We were there for skiing holiday with our 7 year old daughter. We booked a junior suite but they kindly upgraded us to a suite. Our room had a sitting room and bedroom which were divided by a sliding door with one bathroom with bath & shower and another with shower cubicle and washbasin only. The room was fairly dated and on the small side. It had a nice balcony with a view of the Matterhorn. We had a lovely stay in the hotel as the staff were kind and service was good. We opted for the dine around amongst 13 restaurants including 3 within the hotel. This covers CHF 85 per person per meal and any extra you need to pay at the end of your stay. Swimming pool and Spa were very good. The hotel is located right next to the shops and restaurants. We would like to come back to stay here probably at their newer quarter, Le Petit Cervin, which is at the back of the main hotel.
Skiing was brilliant and the access to cable car stations/ train station was very easy by taxis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimifAJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for your kind review, for sharing your experience and for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It shows our endeavour to make our guests’ holiday exceptional and an unforgettable success. We are more than happy to share your compliments with the staff and it is great to end the winter season with such positive responses.

We would love to welcome you back to the Mont Cervin Palace or Le Petit Cervin and to spoil you again. In the meantime we wish you all the best and a wonderful springtime.

Warmest regards from the Matterhorn Village

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the Le Petite Cervin and had a wonderful room, decorated with alpine charming furniture.
The view from the balcony is really breath-taking - in the early morning the Matterhorn was glowing in the morning sun - but first of all the staff is wonderful.
We felt at home as soon as we were checked in and this feeling did not change for the whole stay.
Every single person working there was smiling and did help us in any matters we had. The wellness area is perfect after a long skiing day and we had a delicious dinner in the Grill in the Mont Cervin Palace. We hope to be able to come back in future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeilerHotelsZermatt, General Manager at Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member

We hope you had a pleasant return journey and have taken along lovely memories of your stay in the Matterhorn Village. As you describe it in your kind review, you enjoyed your stay with us in the Le Petit Cervin. We are so glad that you felt well taken care of and at home, because that’s our endeavour and it is always a big recognition to receive a positive feedback and to know that we succeeded.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back and to spoil you again. Until then we wish you a great time as well as a wonderful springtime.

Sunny greetings from Zermatt

Karin & Kevin Kunz
Management / Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#20 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 km away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.6 km away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.3 km away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Cervin Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Cervin Palace

Property: Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 31, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#16 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#26 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,518 - ₹ 54,175
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mont Cervin Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International Hotel in six-story traditionally Swiss building located in village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mont Cervin Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Cervin Palace Zermatt
Mont Cervin Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing