We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here en route to Tuscany for our honeymoon. My husband had booked us a room with a balcony and the view was simply stunning. On a morning, before the road outside was getting busy, the stillness and tranquility was just incredible. Be aware that you are right in the middle of things so expect a level of noise on an evening. The room itself was fine but dated. It felt like it needed a thorough clean and a lick of paint. Saying that, the views could forgive the room just about anything. Beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    119
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
110
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Location is the only reason to go to this Hotel (if I can call it this way). In front of the lake, two minutes walking distance from every thing you might go to Lugano for, even the Casino is close.
But then you enter the place and you have the clear perception that the last time it had a round of mantainance most of us were not born yet (I'm 42 btw). Everything from the recetion to the breakfast room to single rooms need desperatly manainance, a touch of fresh staff and even personell looks like a movie from the early 70's. Its defenitely overated and thefact that it is in front of the lake doesn't justify its status. I won't go anymore unless I see major works in this place for at least 6 months!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziocut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We spent a weekend with our little son at the Walter. As mentioned on other reviews, the views are really great and the location is perfect for accessing the old town on foot, with all the shops and street cafés!

Since we announced that we were coming with a small child, they prepared a suitable cot and this probably also explained the spacious room with balcony. We did not notice the noise as much as others point out, but is probably a subjective matter...

We found the service to be very forthcoming and kind. Rooms were clean.

I believe that the price does not match with the age of the rooms, I.e the furniture and appliances in room and bath.

Overall, we liked the stay because we were so close to the buzz of the town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had a balcony room on the 1st floor. Since it faces the main street, it was very noisy. The room was bairly three star, the staff was a little rough around the edges. The location was great, the bed and bathroom were fine as well. I would choose a different hotel next time. Lugano is gorgeous and I highly encourage you to get out on the lake!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaybabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Every room has lake view and this is already worth the money. If you spend a bit more, you can even have a balcony (but only balconies on the 4th floor are roofed!).
There are 2 restaurants next to the entrance of the Hotel and shopping options are only 2mins away. Whirlpool (costs 8.-/30mins) and sun seats on the roof top.
Location is perfect, the only "problem" is the noise. As the hotel is next to the main street, it's quite loud, escpecially at the weekend. Windows seem to be old, so even if your window is closed, you can still here people talking on the other side of the road sometimes.

Room Tip: If you book a balcony, ask for a room on the 4th floor where the balconies are roofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christensimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel International au Lac
0.0 km away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
128 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
320 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
247 reviews
0.3 km away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,457 - ₹ 27,335
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing