We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
347
246
69
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
246
69
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room well equipped gym outdoor pool huge bedroom ac unit the hotel sits upgraded to a suite small kitchen astonishing view booked a standard room fitness center lake lugano surrounding mountains bottle of prosecco a great stay free shuttle close to train station
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Very nice hotel with a beautiful view on the lake and the town. The bus stop is next to the hotel. With the Ticino ticket, we have been able to discover the town free of charge. The restaurant was good and the food delicious. The staff is lovely and make you feel like home.

Only little point : the rooms would need a little refreshment but they are still nice any way.

For sure, we recommand this hotel for your stay in Lugano.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monika8883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest Monika8883,
Thank you for your lovely review and your positive thoughts following your recent stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
We are thrilled to hear that the hotel and the team have exceeded your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you once again and we hope to have pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

On route to Greece we stayed here overnight. Polite and helpful staff. Superb surroundings. Delicious breakfast. Great spa facilities although we didn't have time to enjoy them. Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Theonitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest Theonitsa,
Thank you for taking your time to share your review following your recent stay.
Our team here at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.
On behalf of entire Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I had a shock seeing how big our room was when we walked in.. it had both bath and shower, big living room and hallway. Balcony on the corner had a good view except that huge tree, it should just be cut off, its destroying the lovely view! Pool outside and inside was great, they have a fitness center and saunas. I think we tried everything including the hotel restaurant and the bar. Great meals and service in the evening. But the breakfast was bad.. not a lot of choice of fresh bread and you have to pay extra for an omelette?! More focused on sweets rather than protein and veggies. And the staff wasn't very kind some of the mornings.
Great view but a bit far from the city, walking up takes 20 min, very close to train station.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ana_korsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest ana_korsa,
Thank you for your lovely review and your positive thoughts following your recent stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you once again and we hope to have pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We booked five rooms and three colleagues got a big room with two beds, kitchen, living room and balcony. A colleague and I were not so lucky: we were put into small rooms with old furniture (e.g. with useless built-in radio, see picture) and old smell. And this hotel was by no means booked out.

Furthermore only the light switch next to the entrance door worked. Therefore, if you are in bed you cannot switch off the lights. And when you switch off the neon lights in the bathroom they glow for the rest of the night. Very annoying. At least the rich breakfast makes up for the lousy room.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dino W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Mr. Dino W.,
we thank you and your colleagues for your recent stay at Villa Sassa and your constant interest shown towards our property.
We are sorry to read that you did not appreciate the room allocation.
We tried to give you and your colleagues the same rooms as per corporate contract.
Lastminute we received another booking for one of your colleagues and because of limited availability we did not manage to arrange the same type of room.
Lastly we did also check-in a guest who had booked privately but at last resulted to work for your same company and also here we could not allocate the same room category.
We do inform you that although we are happy to give free upgrades into our suites, it is not always possible, as it depends on our availability.
To conclude we would have much appreciated if we would have received your comment directly at the Hotel instead of online, as we could have solved or clarify it on spot instead.
In the hope to have the chance to welcome you and your colleagues soon back at Villa Sassa,
Best regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The hotel is modern with clean rooms but I had to change elevators twice and memorize a maze of corridors to get to my room. I'm fair skinned and never go into an outside pool without a shirt but I was told I had to undress to go in again by a pool jockey. No use explaining my skin's sun sensitivity nor did I. I'm the paying guest he's the pool cleaner. I found the rest of the staff somewhat condescending also. The views aren't great from the hotel but every room has big balconies with comfortable chairs.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest Swissdiner,
We thank you for your recent stay at our property and for your positive valuation and your feedback.
We are although sorry for the trouble you experienced at the pool, but our employee followed our pool policy which is equal for all our guests.
In the hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon,
Best regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews