We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation, excellent food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed here for two nights recently in a very nice but minimally furnished suite. It was however, very musty, particularly the kitchenette. Why a kitchenette we didn't know because there was no cutlery nor plates. There is a view of the lake but it is in the distance, the immediate view being of high rise suburbia. Of special note was our delicious meal in the Restaurant where we chose the 4 course selection at the chef's discretion. It was wonderful. The other night we ate in The Bar where we seemed to be invisible and there appeared to be some preferential treatment to other tables. We had to ask for service however we must say the two pasta meals were delicious as was the tiramsu. Overall a pleasant place to stay but the 25 minute walk uphill was a bit of a pain after a big day!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank arl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest arl59
We thank you very much for your recenst stay at our property and for the time you took to rate our Hotel and services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our Restaurant and service.
Regarding the kitchen in the room, we do inform our guests that with a surcharge we do provide all utensiles for the kitchen.
In seeing forward to welcome you back,
Kind regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Very nice hotel with a beautiful view on the lake and the town. The bus stop is next to the hotel. With the Ticino ticket, we have been able to discover the town free of charge. The restaurant was good and the food delicious. The staff is lovely and make you feel like home.

Only little point : the rooms would need a little refreshment but they are still nice any way.

For sure, we recommand this hotel for your stay in Lugano.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monika8883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest Monika8883,
Thank you for your lovely review and your positive thoughts following your recent stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
We are thrilled to hear that the hotel and the team have exceeded your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you once again and we hope to have pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

On route to Greece we stayed here overnight. Polite and helpful staff. Superb surroundings. Delicious breakfast. Great spa facilities although we didn't have time to enjoy them. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Theonitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest Theonitsa,
Thank you for taking your time to share your review following your recent stay.
Our team here at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.
On behalf of entire Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I had a shock seeing how big our room was when we walked in.. it had both bath and shower, big living room and hallway. Balcony on the corner had a good view except that huge tree, it should just be cut off, its destroying the lovely view! Pool outside and inside was great, they have a fitness center and saunas. I think we tried everything including the hotel restaurant and the bar. Great meals and service in the evening. But the breakfast was bad.. not a lot of choice of fresh bread and you have to pay extra for an omelette?! More focused on sweets rather than protein and veggies. And the staff wasn't very kind some of the mornings.
Great view but a bit far from the city, walking up takes 20 min, very close to train station.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ana_korsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Guest ana_korsa,
Thank you for your lovely review and your positive thoughts following your recent stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you once again and we hope to have pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We booked five rooms and three colleagues got a big room with two beds, kitchen, living room and balcony. A colleague and I were not so lucky: we were put into small rooms with old furniture (e.g. with useless built-in radio, see picture) and old smell. And this hotel was by no means booked out.

Furthermore only the light switch next to the entrance door worked. Therefore, if you are in bed you cannot switch off the lights. And when you switch off the neon lights in the bathroom they glow for the rest of the night. Very annoying. At least the rich breakfast makes up for the lousy room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dino W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Mr. Dino W.,
we thank you and your colleagues for your recent stay at Villa Sassa and your constant interest shown towards our property.
We are sorry to read that you did not appreciate the room allocation.
We tried to give you and your colleagues the same rooms as per corporate contract.
Lastminute we received another booking for one of your colleagues and because of limited availability we did not manage to arrange the same type of room.
Lastly we did also check-in a guest who had booked privately but at last resulted to work for your same company and also here we could not allocate the same room category.
We do inform you that although we are happy to give free upgrades into our suites, it is not always possible, as it depends on our availability.
To conclude we would have much appreciated if we would have received your comment directly at the Hotel instead of online, as we could have solved or clarify it on spot instead.
In the hope to have the chance to welcome you and your colleagues soon back at Villa Sassa,
Best regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
2.3 km away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 44 in Lugano
552 reviews
0.9 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
4.7 km away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
2.7 km away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
2 km away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 44 in Lugano
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: ₹ 14,493 - ₹ 23,439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing