We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 299
US$ 267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 302
US$ 249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 462
US$ 416
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 518
US$ 461
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 319
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 503
US$ 442
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 210
US$ 196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 367
US$ 306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
78
96
47
6
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
96
47
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roombunk bedsclose to the train stationno elevatorpalm gardendorm roomsmall kitchentoilet and showerannex buildingpleasant staystaff was very friendly and helpfulreception deskconvenient locationnoise16beddryerlake
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed in the hotel part, in a large room with a large bed for myself. No elevator, so lugged my suitcase up the stairs. Room had a sink. Toilet and shower around the corner, which was always unoccupied and clean. The room was very hot, even with the windows open. No a/c or fan. Noisy location due to the train/bus station.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed in a 2 person room, rather than a hostel room. It was lovely! The bed was so comfy and the room was large. The staff were very friendly, and let us keep our bags in the common room, and our valuable behind the desk, after checking out so we could enjoy our last day without lugging them around. It's very close to the train station too which is great.

We did have to wait for check in as the cleaners were running late, but we didn't mind so much as we just went and spent some time in the pool which was lovely.

The only real downside was that it was so noisy in the morning! Being on the first floor, we were right next to the common room and the reception desk. I was woken up by staff having conversations and guests clattering dishes very early.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristis643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is actually a complex of buildings, so be aware there is some walking involved. We enjoyed the short walk to our car along a path with benches facing the lake. (There was parking at our building, but all spots were taken.) There was a small elevator in our building. Our room was near the train tracks but was surprisingly quiet at night, even with the windows open. We had a lovely view of Lake Lugano and the mountains. The staff was friendly & helpful, both at reception and at the restaurant. When we asked for a tea kettle, the pleasant young woman at the reception desk got us a tray with all the necessities very promptly and with a smile. The bathroom was small, but the shower had excellent water pressure and there were toiletries. Our room had a desk with chairs on both sides, so my daughter and I could enjoy tea together. The restaurant was good. There is also a bar and lounge area. Nice touches: the hooks on the wall to hang our wet raincoats, and the working shutters, so we could have the windows open for air yet feel safe.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

It was a pleasant stay! We were on a round trip and booked 2 beds in the 16bed dorm. There were lockers for your stuff and enough space in the bunk area.
Only negative point was that there are only 2 toilets for 3 dorm rooms. Otherwise we had a lovely stay :)

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

The hotel consists of two buildings in a beautiful palm garden overlooking Lugano. I was staying in a private room in the annex building, which was simple, but nice.
The hotel is located very close to the train station, which is great when you arrive by train, but which has the obvious downside that the constant train traffic will be noisy. My room was overlooking the train tracks (and the city and lake), but still the noise was the only reason not to give this place a top score.
Staff at check-in was extremely friendly and helpful. There is a good sized pool that is shared with the neighbouring hotel. Perfect for a lazy afternoon.
The city is a short 5-10 min walk down the hill. For the way back up you can take the fernicular.
Overall a very nice place. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews