We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel, a happy experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Hotel room is well up to the standard of 3 star hotel, clean, quite and convenient, while the cost is reasonable. What impressed us most was the freindly attitude of the hotel desk manager. He provided us all useful informations such as places of interest, city map, discount cupons, etc.. One day we visited Lake Como, and were back to our hotel after 9:45pm. The desk manager met us at the door, and asked if we were okay? By that time the hotel resturant kitchen was closed, and he voluntarily cooked us a hot vegetable soup with fresh bread, which made a tasty quick meal. Our last day in Lugano was very hot, and when we returned hotel, we noticed there was a desk fan in our room. We appreciate very much the friendly attitude and thoughtfulnees of the hotel desk manager.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Hotel Colorado was first class from start to finish. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. When we checked in, the desk clerk/manager was worried that our bed would be too small and gave us keys to our room as well as another with a bigger bed. Our queen bed was just right, so we stayed with our original room. The view from our deck was fabulous. The shower was good sized and delivered plenty of hot water. The complimentary breakfast, while not hot, was plentiful with a good selection. This is a wonderful European hotel. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Lugano.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We travelled with a small group. When we arrived we found our room door wide open and also the windows open, which we thought was strange. We went out into Lugano, closing door and windows and when we came back ,the room smelt of a sewer or toilet smell even though the toilet itself was not smelly. So smelly that we asked to change our room and were told that there were no other rooms available and we would not find anything else in Lugano due to the Locarno film festival. While we looked for another hotel on the internet, our tour guide requested another room. Meanwhile someone was frantically cleaning the carpet leaving the door and windows open again so there had been a previous issue. The moustached "gentleman" on reception told our guide that there was no other room, that we had been in the room all afternoon and had probably therefore made it smelly and then threatened to stop speaking English as she spoke no Italian. The lady on the desk was also most unwelcoming. Eventually they said they had another room which was booked for someone arriving at 11pm that night and they changed our room. That room was fine except the safe was blocked open and still very hot due to no air conditioning so we were so grateful that the weather turned stormy. Bathroom shower rather dangerous, slippy. The breakfast was poor, croissants hard and rolls hard, poor cereal some ham and cheese. I asked for a caffé latte and was brought black coffee and cold milk (unheard of in Ticino or Italy). We stayed there for two days. A third person was more amenable when he realised that the group would not go back there. Sorry to the person arriving at 11pm if the smell remained but they cleaned the room all afternoon so hopefully it was better by then. The hotel is quite a walk from the station and one side is on a busy road but the other is over a quiet car park. This was the worst hotel of the 9 day tour. For some reason the ground floor is also a bike shop. Apparently the pizzeria restaurant is ok but we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Lugano is a lovely place and the hotel is nice and the staff were friendly. I booked my trip on Hotels.com and was charged twice by the hotel for a one night stay. I have tried to get them to rectify this from Australia (where I live) and they have ignored me. Travellor beware.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lachie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Booked the hotel through a tourism(!) conference web site, with a substantial discount. Obviously family-run, with the peculiarities that can add. A nice feature was however that smooth/quiet jazz seemed to be the preferred background sound for hotel lobby as well as restaurant. The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the city centre (where also nearest supermarket is found) down a STEEP hill, also around 10 mins. from central train station. Bus stop (Tassino) right outside.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#15 of 45 in Lugano
459 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
228 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel Besso Lugano
Hotel Besso Lugano
#37 of 45 in Lugano
105 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado Lugano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado Lugano

Address: via Clemente Maraini 19 | Via Adamini 20, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: ₹ 9,002 - ₹ 15,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado Lugano 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in April 2013, Colorado Hotel offers a central, yet quiet location in the centre of Lugano, a 5-minute walk away from the promenade on Lake Lugano and around the corner from the LAC Cultural Centre. Free WiFi is available. The air-conditioned rooms are equipped with cable TV. Toiletries and a hairdryer are provided in the private bathroom. The Colorado's restaurant Tavernetta offers a range of creative dishes. Meals are also served on the terrace. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Museum of Modern Art in the Villa Malpensata, and a 10-minute walk from the train station. The city bus leaving in front of the hotel takes you to the congress centre in 10 minutes. Hotel Colorado is also Business Center. Conference rooms can be configured for 2 to 80 participants and can be configured for your individual needs. Seminar materials: Flip charts, PC and slide projectors, WiFi Internet access. We are passionate about bikes! Hotel Colorado is the perfect stop for your you and your bikes. Maintenance, laundry and parking for your bike available on request. We love love to take care of nice people and we make this our profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Colorado Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing