We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Less expensive than others in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Less expensive than others in town”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Hotel Colorado was first class from start to finish. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. When we checked in, the desk clerk/manager was worried that our bed would be too small and gave us keys to our room as well as another with a bigger bed. Our queen bed was just right, so we stayed with our original room. The view from our deck was fabulous. The shower was good sized and delivered plenty of hot water. The complimentary breakfast, while not hot, was plentiful with a good selection. This is a wonderful European hotel. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    45
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
43
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We travelled with a small group. When we arrived we found our room door wide open and also the windows open, which we thought was strange. We went out into Lugano, closing door and windows and when we came back ,the room smelt of a sewer or toilet smell even though the toilet itself was not smelly. So smelly that we asked to change our room and were told that there were no other rooms available and we would not find anything else in Lugano due to the Locarno film festival. While we looked for another hotel on the internet, our tour guide requested another room. Meanwhile someone was frantically cleaning the carpet leaving the door and windows open again so there had been a previous issue. The moustached "gentleman" on reception told our guide that there was no other room, that we had been in the room all afternoon and had probably therefore made it smelly and then threatened to stop speaking English as she spoke no Italian. The lady on the desk was also most unwelcoming. Eventually they said they had another room which was booked for someone arriving at 11pm that night and they changed our room. That room was fine except the safe was blocked open and still very hot due to no air conditioning so we were so grateful that the weather turned stormy. Bathroom shower rather dangerous, slippy. The breakfast was poor, croissants hard and rolls hard, poor cereal some ham and cheese. I asked for a caffé latte and was brought black coffee and cold milk (unheard of in Ticino or Italy). We stayed there for two days. A third person was more amenable when he realised that the group would not go back there. Sorry to the person arriving at 11pm if the smell remained but they cleaned the room all afternoon so hopefully it was better by then. The hotel is quite a walk from the station and one side is on a busy road but the other is over a quiet car park. This was the worst hotel of the 9 day tour. For some reason the ground floor is also a bike shop. Apparently the pizzeria restaurant is ok but we didn't eat there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Lugano is a lovely place and the hotel is nice and the staff were friendly. I booked my trip on Hotels.com and was charged twice by the hotel for a one night stay. I have tried to get them to rectify this from Australia (where I live) and they have ignored me. Travellor beware.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lachie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanø, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Booked the hotel through a tourism(!) conference web site, with a substantial discount. Obviously family-run, with the peculiarities that can add. A nice feature was however that smooth/quiet jazz seemed to be the preferred background sound for hotel lobby as well as restaurant. The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the city centre (where also nearest supermarket is found) down a STEEP hill, also around 10 mins. from central train station. Bus stop (Tassino) right outside.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Stayed here for two nights in September 2009. Staff unhelpful and bordering on rude. Main reception area and lounge shared with a bicycle showroom ! Accommodation very basic. Room safe not working and fan removed from room after first night. Entry to bedroom via shower & toilet. Shower in rooms very dangerous - no shower door , entry from hallway via narrow vertical access , necessitating stepping over low tiled wall into shower unit. My wife stubbed and bruised her foot attempting to get in. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 km away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#33 of 45 in Lugano
284 reviews
0.8 km away
Dischma Hotel
Dischma Hotel
#31 of 45 in Lugano
113 reviews
0.8 km away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#20 of 45 in Lugano
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#16 of 45 in Lugano
416 reviews
0.8 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.2 km away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#13 of 45 in Lugano
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado Lugano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado Lugano

Property: Hotel Colorado Lugano
Address: via Clemente Maraini 19 | Via Adamini 20, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,999 - ₹ 17,198
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado Lugano 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in April 2013, Colorado Hotel offers a central, yet quiet location in the centre of Lugano, a 5-minute walk away from the promenade on Lake Lugano and around the corner from the LAC Cultural Centre. Free WiFi is available. The air-conditioned rooms are equipped with cable TV. Toiletries and a hairdryer are provided in the private bathroom. The Colorado's restaurant Tavernetta offers a range of creative dishes. Meals are also served on the terrace. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Museum of Modern Art in the Villa Malpensata, and a 10-minute walk from the train station. The city bus leaving in front of the hotel takes you to the congress centre in 10 minutes. Hotel Colorado is also Business Center. Conference rooms can be configured for 2 to 80 participants and can be configured for your individual needs. Seminar materials: Flip charts, PC and slide projectors, WiFi Internet access. We are passionate about bikes! Hotel Colorado is the perfect stop for your you and your bikes. Maintenance, laundry and parking for your bike available on request. We love love to take care of nice people and we make this our profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colorado Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing