We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have always been impressed by the standard of Best Western Hotels but this one let me down a bit. The staff were as usual very polite and friendly but this hotel is tired and needs a refurb. The room was large but seriously outdated. I don't think it was ver clean either as there were fish moths crawling about. The heating was bad - either too hot then freezing.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Nice hotel, overlooking the lake of Lugano. Parking is available, at a short distance, in a separate garagebuilding. Competent and friendly staff. The city centre is at a walking distance of 10-15 minutes, but the walk is very nice, along the lake. The hotel itself has probably had better days, but the standard remains very good. The same can be said for the restaurant, the setting is a bit less attractive (sort of veranda) but service and food are excellent. Rooms are nice. It is true that the swimming pool is a bit old as well, but it is still possible to have a good and relaxing swim. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

No offence to the staff which was indeed very friendly but the overall experience and the expected services were very disappointing.

Firstly, we paid 300 Euros for a triple sharing room for 3 adults and were expecting a full size extra bed fit for an adult. However, the extra bed given was hardly comfortable for a toddler.

We booked the room through booking.com which was fine but there was no mention of the hotel not being fully functional. When we got here, the receptionist Janka was quiet helpful and friendly. The disappointment was a closed kitchen. The restaurants were not functional and for having traveled for 4 hours you expect something as basic as food! When we asked if we could get some food heated in the kitchen, it wasn't entertained at all, and on being persistent cause of hunger and out of laziness to step out, I was spoken to very rudely.

When we tried to use the phone, we couldn't make any kinda service calls within the hotel so it felt like you were at home and had to open your door and scream for whatever you want.

I would like to mention again that the staff was helpful with whatever they could do in their domain like getting us extra pillows and hot water for tea but the overall experience at this hotel was extremely terrible.

After all this, the least they could do was offer us a discount due to lack of facilities promised, hence, I feel cheated for my money!

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel, atleast this time of the year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank janki28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We went there as we got a very good special rate from the hotel. The hotel is located right on the road which leads along the lake promenade. It is very busy. There is day and night a lot of traffic in front of the hotel.
The hotel staff is very friendly and they do all for us. The lobby is nice and you can use internet for free in the whole house or in the lobby if you did not bring your own computer.
There is a garage available for your car if you need it. Like everywhere it is a bit too expensive but very close to the hotel.
The rooms are very nice and clean (what we expect from every Best Western hotel). Apart the beds you have a little table and two comfortable seats available. Of course there is also a working place with a cable internet connection. The bathroom is well equipped.
We liked very much the breakfast. Unfortunately we are not so big eaters in the morning. But you can get all you like.
pore

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This hotel is located right on the lake and just a couple of minutes walk to the town centre. The hotel has an old world granduer feel about it. Our room was very nice and spacious with TV, air con, large bathroom and lake view.

Food and service were both good.

Free parking was a bonus.

My only negative comment would be the pool area seemed a little tired and in need of some tlc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel International au Lac
1.2 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 km away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
502 reviews
0.6 km away
Park Hotel Principe
Park Hotel Principe
#38 of 45 in Lugano
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac

Address: riva Antonio Caccia 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: ₹ 15,180 - ₹ 23,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Bellevue au Lac, a jewel of the Lugano lake full of tradition and history, is located right on the Lugano lakeside promenade, only a few minutes walk from the historic centre. It offers a superb view over the Lugano bay and the surrounding mountains. New Suites and fully renovated, air-conditioned rooms with balcony and stunning view over the lake. WI-FI Internet connection is available free of charge in the whole building. A heated outdoor swimming pool (24°) with relaxing area and the Bellevue Bar with terrace and lake view will make your holiday just perfect. Moreover Le Gourmet and Il Giardinetto Restaurants offer an excellent local and international Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lugano
Lugano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing