We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Cascade

Restaurant Cascade
Ranked #61 of 108 Restaurants in St. Moritz
Price range: US$ 22 - US$ 55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Budapest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice bistro”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Before the smoking ban this was too smokey, since the ban there's nothing not to like.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grantski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great buzz, worth booking”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We turned up without a boooking and it was lucky they had a table as it was rammed. The extensive menu should cater to just about anyone! Great food, beautifully presented, buzzy atmosphere, service was fine. All in all, probably a place not to be missed if you are in St Moritz for a few days. I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“...like a nice Bistrot.....”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My first dinner there yesterday as many other restaurants were overbooked.... Nice atmosphere like a french bistrot. The tartare and the liver were really good, good service and , finally, good value. A nice alternative to the pizzeria of the Chesa Veglia. A place to go back to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best New Year's Eve Dinner”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We couldn't believe the quality and timing of this set-menu dinner on New Year's eve. When they asked us to arrive by 8pm, we thought it was too early. But the food kept coming at a beautiful pace, allowing us to appreciate and savour each phase, and before we knew it, it was midnight! None of the rushed service one often gets in the U.S. where the main course sometimes lands right on top of the appetizer, literally and the waiter scrambles to find roon on the table! We loved it when the chef came out after course 3 or 4 as it gave us a chance to tell him what a terrific job he was doing...how he got the meat cooked just right for so many people being served at once is a mystery. And when he emerged after midnight and dessert in his tux, it was lovely, created a real sense of camaraderie. The place was full of beautiful people, the Ibiza music's volume was at a comfortable v level so the energy was there yet we could talk comfortably. Chapeau bas to Bar Cascade management (but pity about the coat-room disaster that night, which I take is not the norm).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palmito007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.moritz, switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great bistro”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I like the place. the bar is tasteful, great staff, very nice atmosphere ... and the prices are more than fair.

if you don't feel like eating a proper dinner, they serve burgers at the bar ... okay not new york style, but not shabby.

once every couple weeks they turn the place into a wild party location ... and every local has the date marked in the calendar. wild nights are guaranteed.

across from the bar is the restaurant with a wide range of proper cooked dishes ... inspired by French and Italian kitchen with fusion. the tagliata, the sashimi, the spaghetti ... and last but not least the tartar are the dishes I would recommend.

the wine selection includes wine from the owners family wine yard (Spain) ... which is absolutely worth a try.

dessert? white mousse au chocolate (who still does that nowadays) and don't forget to order braulio along with your espresso ... and should you still feel for some action ..... just walk back to the bar. it's that easy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank realdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Cascade also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Restaurant Cascade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing