We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not equipped for handicapped”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

There were stairs at every entrance. In most places had to climb at least 15 stairs to get to lobby. Once you get to the lobby there is an elevator that goes to dining room and all hotel rooms. The elevator is quite narrow and a wide wheelchair (if it got to the lobby) might have a problem with the wheelchair and an attendant. Our room had a bathtub with very high sides, but another tour member had a walk-in shower - so if you have a problem with ambulation or flexibility you might want to request a room with the walk-in shower. Free wifi in lobby and bar but there was a charge in rooms. Each room had a refrigerator, well stocked with beverages & snacks (for purchase), and a safe. Room had several electrical outlets for recharging cameras. Food at dinner was attractive and tasty and hot with choice of meat or fish for our tour. Service was prompt. Small gym available w/whirlpool at no cost to hotel registrants. Other spa services available - facials massage, etc. Nice deck with windproof glass in some areas for sitting and enjoying the view. Very close to shopping, restaurants, and funicular.

Room Tip: Since we were on a tour, I can't verify the 'value" since it was included in our tour p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermit68_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

many years a regular, I do love the friendliness of the staff and the overall quality! Right downtown, in the middle of St. Moritz, two minutes from Corviglia! Great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolitancary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel in December, specially to learn how to Ski. The hotel staff is good. ITs a European Hotel, so the staff is limited but helpful. The rooms are old fashioned but clean. The breakfast etc is Average based on the over all charges but again nothing to complaint about, the staff is friendly. They had good room service, they even helped us by lending us a DVD player, since we had some kids movies with us. Thank you for that.
The hotel is located in a very nice old town setting. you can shop for the Ski equipment close by, there are restaurants in walkable distance. The Super market CCOP is close by too. Benetton was just opposite us and so was a nice old church.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NStar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel is situated in the semi-pedestrianised area of St Moritz, close to the funicular station for the Corviglia and the buses for the Corvatsch and e surrounding area. Worth using the local transport system if you receive the Engadin card when you check in. We had a corner romm with good views over the town - it was a pity about all the cranes which seem to blight St Mortiz and other Swiss resorts. It was rather noisy at the weekend but fortunately the clock tower only chimed from 8am to 8pm. Room and bathroom were spacious, clean and comfortable; breakfast was very good. Service in reception was also very good.

As a tip - make the most of the Engadin Card and the bus service to the Corvatsch area, and make use of the local supermarket for snacks, water etc, but note that it closes on Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Monopol for a long ski weekend. The service was fantastic! We got an unexpected room upgrade, which is of course a great start. But also otherwise the hotel was super. NIce and cosy breakfast, great Spa, very friendly staff. But the best part of it was yet to come - I had asked the hotel in advance to order a cake for my partner's birthday. They had to order it from an external bakery. And they did! It was delivered in style and with lots of candles during breakfast, really cool. And I was more than surprised when they told me during checkout that the cake was on the house. This is excellent service, and I hope I will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 km away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
323 reviews
0.2 km away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.2 km away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Address: Via Maistra 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: ₹ 20,793 - ₹ 42,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monopol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Swiss Quality
Monopol Swiss Quality St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing